7/22 DC AMPS=265 +3=263 +6=254 +9=252 PMPS=256 +4=275

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
I haven't been around a computer for almost a month now.
Since DC had his very low BG on 6/29.
His BG has been all over the place since then, mostly high (yellow & pink).
I've increased his dose a couple times and he is now getting 0.75 units.
The same dose he was on the beginning of April.
He's been eating more lately, I think due to the higher BG.
He's still playful and all p's are in place.
He was constipated for a few days. His daily dose of Lax-a-day was increase to 1/8 tsp 2x daily for 3 days.
The vet says everything is good.
I'm not sure what to do about his dose. He was doing so good until the last reduction.
Should I increase again or hold for a few more days?
It's been downhill since then with the numbers.
Any advice would be appreciated.
 
Re: 7/22 DC AMPS=265 +3=263 QUESTION

Wow, Noreen!!!! What a change. He WAS doing incredible.....he even did well for several cycles on the .1u.

Could he have any infection, dental issue, etc?

You came down the dosing scale nice and slow on his reductions. I think it would be really good to have Jill, Libby, or Sienne look at his SS because he changed so fast from doing awesome to throwing these high numbers.

I'd check out his general health and then let the really experienced eyes look at his SS.

Good luck...thinking of you and hoping you can get him back to those gorgeous blues/greens.
 
Re: 7/22 DC AMPS=265 +3=263 QUESTION

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Wow, Noreen!!!! What a change. He WAS doing incredible.....he even did well for several cycles on the .1u.

Could he have any infection, dental issue, etc?

You came down the dosing scale nice and slow on his reductions. I think it would be really good to have Jill, Libby, or Sienne look at his SS because he changed so fast from doing awesome to throwing these high numbers.

I'd check out his general health and then let the really experienced eyes look at his SS.

Good luck...thinking of you and hoping you can get him back to those gorgeous blues/greens.
The vet said his overall health is good and there are no issues other than the diabetes and occasional constipation.
 
Re: 7/22 DC AMPS=265 +3=263 QUESTION

When was DC's last dental? It's hard to assess teeth with an awake cat!

I'd switch out your insulin if for no other reason than ruling out that the problem isn't with the insulin itself.

Did you change any food? Any chance of contraband?
 
Re: 7/22 DC AMPS=265 +3=263 QUESTION

Sienne and Gabby said:
When was DC's last dental? It's hard to assess teeth with an awake cat!
The vet told me his teeth were good 3 weeks ago.
I'd switch out your insulin if for no other reason than ruling out that the problem isn't with the insulin itself.
The insulin I'm using is only 4 weeks old.
I could go to the pharmacy and get a new one in the morning.

Did you change any food? Any chance of contraband?
I haven't changed food. I still feed Friskies wet food in the same variety of pate flavors.
The last thing that I know of that he shouldn't of eaten was maple BBQ sauce July 2.
 
Re: 7/22 DC AMPS=265 +3=263 QUESTION

If you are using pens instead of vials, I think alot of people change at the 28 day mark. Jill has told me she knows others that use them until they are empty as long as they are stored properly.

I'm with Sienne...I might try switching pens and see if that helps....it's too weird. He was doing great on the .1 and then ....boom.
 
Re: 7/22 DC AMPS=265 +3=263 QUESTION

I too would suspect teeth and/or gums - with some cats, my own included, the least bit of inflammation of the gums (either at or under the gum line) and the BGs climb up.

I would consider 28 day old Lantus old.
 
Re: 7/22 DC AMPS=265 +3=263 QUESTION

i have a little bit different take than some of the others...

imho, the reduction to 0.1u failed. subsequent doses were held too long before initiating another increase. the longer a kitty sits in high numbers, the longer it takes to pull them down. i think this is now a simple case of having to take the dose up before you can bring it back down.

however, if there is anything going on with a kitty... something as simple as a case of gingivitis... numbers can suddenly become wonky.

research has shown open lantus lasts up to 6 months. this is far different than the 28 days we thought to hold true a few very short years ago. please read the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - INFO, PROPER HANDLING, & STORAGE for the latest information regarding the longevity of lantus.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 7/22 DC AMPS=265 +3=263 QUESTION

Jill & Alex said:
i have a little bit different take than some of the others...

imho, the reduction to 0.1u failed. subsequent doses were held too long before initiating another increase. the longer a kitty sits in high numbers, the longer it takes to pull them down. i think this is now a simple case of having to take the dose up before you can bring it back down.

however, if there is anything going on with a kitty... something as simple as a case of gingivitis... numbers can suddenly become wonky.

research has shown open lantus lasts up to 6 months. this is far different than the 28 days we thought to hold true a few very short years ago. please read the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - INFO, PROPER HANDLING, & STORAGE for the latest information regarding the longevity of lantus.

just my thoughts...
I agree with you about staying AT the 0.1u for too long.
We were away from home without computer access and after the 32 BG I was concerned about increasing without support.
8 days @ 0.1u, then 9 days @ 0.5u today is the third day @ 0.75u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top