7/22 Buzz PMPS:280, +1:316, +3:172, +4:145, +5:148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20381
Libby suggested an increase if Buzz didn't see action last night, but I'm not sure what defines "action". She definitely saw green, but it wasn't anything to write home about. Thoughts?

WCR: Buzz is fine. Too early to report on any of the Ps except for purring. She always has that one covered.

I'm really discouraged today. I was looking at Buzz's SS from the middle of February, when she was also on 1u, and it was gorgeous. It hasn't been that way since, and it's now almost August. I personally don't feel that Buzz has made any progress. Yes, she gets good numbers off doses for awhile, and her PS numbers are typically lower than some (a lot of?) kitties', but just comparing Buzz to herself based on her own data, we're going nowhere fast. And yes, sometimes you have to go up to come down...but Buzz doesn't come down, she just keeps getting dosecreases. I'm just having one of those days, I guess. :YMSIGH: Thanks for letting me vent!
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461 (seriously?!)

She's never had a dental...I guess by the way that's phrased she maybe should have? :oops:
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461 (seriously?!)

Yuck buzz! You don't want to wear red all day do you? Go on now and change into something better suited for you ... like something blue or green!

I know the day you are describing to well ... we also feel like we are getting no where ... it's ok to have those days ... I can't imagine there is one single person on this board that HASN'T felt that way .. it's normal and it's normal to have to get it off your shoulders ... so that is what we are here for .. vent away ... cry and feel frustrated ... then do as I have been told 100 times over, go and kiss your kitty and be thankful for her because at the end of the day, those kitty kisses and kitty snuggles make all the frustration worth it ...
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461 (seriously?!)

I am very sorry for your frustration and I totally understand it, too. I understand Sienne's question, because I would ask do you think she could have an infection? FYI - Blackie has never had a dental in his life - the vets have always been amazed at his good teeth.

Buzz, I'm going to pick you up early to go to Stu's today. Please bring your blue/green dress so we can all be matching. :mrgreen: Love, Blackie
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438

Devon-
Thanks for the kind words. You're right, I know we have all felt this way (unfortunately; wish no one had to!). I do know that Buzz is happy and healthy, and that is a reason to celebrate. :smile:

Ele-
I've wondered if Buzz never really cleared the infection out of her system from all those months ago. She never seemed to get back on track after that UTI, and I wonder if it completely cleared up. But since she does get good drops for awhile, I decided I was being paranoid. For some reason I have it in my head that if it's an infection, nothing will touch the numbers, at least not majorly. Perhaps I am erroneous in my thinking. Buzz is ready and waiting for Blackie, so they should be up to no good in no time. :lol:
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438

Hey Sarah - I am another one that can share those sentiments - we've had good numbers for a while, then were peddling backwards only to end up with increase after increase. or so it seems when frustration reigns supreme. Greens remain elusive, blues now and then, yellow rules the roost with pinks for spice, reds for frustration. and here we are on yet another increase. i hope this one is the breakthrough that my guy needs. Such a game we play....

might be worth re-checking for an infection? or a dental? Mannie has had two of those in the past year - shesshhhh!

I hope Buzz can drop out of those ugly reds, find some better numbers... in the meantime, send her to Stu's - I hear that there is quite the gathering going on their. I hope the neighbors live far away.
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I'm another one who has been there. Tess even started an OTJ trial (shortest on record :roll: ) and then just started climbing back up the ladder. It will turn around. Dental is a good idea, problem teeth can cause all sorts of other problems.
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438, +6: 301

aHA! Buzz and Shadow were up on the red floor together this morning! Well, it must be quiet up there cause everyone else is down on the NICER floors.
Well Sarah....how about you and I go up on that ledge that we fixed up not so long ago, eh?
It's nice and comfy up there and I think Miriam has left it vacant....meet you up there and we can talk!
drinking11 :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438, +6: 301

I know it's hard to watch your kitty keep getting high numbers when others do well so quickly. I was there with Lucy too. Unfortunately, it seems like former PZI kitties and former OTJ kitties have to work harder to get tightly regulated on Lantus than those who start out with Lantus. Unfair, but we have to deal with it.

Don't feel bad, remember that this is what we expected would happen when we changed the feeding thing around. The idea was to prevent Buzz from dropping too low and earning dose reductions, so we can increase the dose enough to help combat the bounces. She is hitting high 90's on this dose, but she's not dropping too low so you have room to increase the dose. That might help keep the highs from getting so high. I don't think I'm explaining myself very well... Mannie is going through almost the same thing, Michelle is manipulating his feeding to prevent drops, she got his range a little higher, and now she is increasing the dose to try to flatten him out.
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438, +6: 301

Hi Sarah and Buzz! Haven't been by in a while but just wanted to stop by and say hi and offer some support! Sorry to hear that Buzz hasn't been doing so well. Scrabble and I are still rooting hard for you! Maybe a vet visit would be good and get those teeth checked. Hey it took Scrabble 13 and a half years to get a dental but he was glad he did!!!! Hope you are well Sarah!!!!
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438, +6: 301

Next time you have Buzz in for a vet appt., make sure they take a good look at her teeth. There doesn't have to be an infection. Tartar can cause gingivitis which is an inflammation. The result may be that BG is harder to keep under control.

What Libby described is what I'm doing with Gabby.
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438, +6: 301

Sienne, your description that you sent to me was so much more detailed, can you post it here? You explain things better than I do.
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438, +6: 301

Sienne and Gabby said:
Next time you have Buzz in for a vet appt., make sure they take a good look at her teeth. There doesn't have to be an infection. Tartar can cause gingivitis which is an inflammation. The result may be that BG is harder to keep under control.
gingivitis put alex back on insulin after being OTJ for almost 3 years!

What Libby described is what I'm doing with Gabby.
and what i've done with alex... last year and again this year.
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438, +6: 301

Sarah:

I know you are getting frustrated with Buzz’s numbers. If you want to be more aggressive and have the ability to be around and test frequently, one option is to raise the dose and counter low numbers with food. This is an approach Jill has suggested I use with Gabby. I can’t always be as aggressive as I’d like because I work, but I’ve found that Gabby’s numbers are improving.

Basically, you need to adopt the mindset that you do not want Buzz to earn a decrease. In other words, even though you may be raising the dose, you don’t want low greens. Instead, you’re looking to have Buzz spend as much time as possible in the 50 – 80 range so her pancreas can heal. She can earn decreases by spending a week in normal numbers.

The idea is this:
  • Work to gradually increase the dose using the protocol so that you are seeing green in the middle of the cycle and blue pre-shot times.
  • Once the SS looks like I’ve described above, increase until you get green pre-shot numbers too.
  • Pay close attention to where and how Buzz’s numbers drop.
  • When you see a drop coming, intervene with food so Buzz’s numbers do not fall below 50.
  • Whether you use LC, MC, or HC to keep Buzz’s numbers in the 50 - 80 range will depend on how carb sensitive Buzz is, where in the cycle the drop occurs, how fast numbers are dropping, etc.
  • You will need to anticipate how Buzz will react and you may need to test more. For example, there are some days when I’m getting a +1 and a +2 so I can be sure to catch a drop.
This approach takes a big commitment. It also takes a different way of thinking about both dosing and how you use food throughout the cycle.
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438, +6: 301

Sarah, Please dont get upset with the numbers-Moonie & I have been going around & around & around here for a very long time now--Moonie has had some great numbers on some doses, & now again she has gone back into the yellow zone--I dont think any cat here has terrific numbers in the same range all the time..So we increase the dose, feed differently, whatever it takes..Having control some of the time, is for me success.
You have been doing a great job, working so hard..
Sometimes it takes a little longer, sometimes less time, but we all work very hard at regulating these dear ones.
Hope she comes down for you real soon--You are still doing great! HUGS from US!! cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/22 Buzz AMPS: 461, +1: 438, +6: 301

Hi everyone, thank you so much for your great responses. I am definitely ready to increase the dose, along with the feeding plan we've been following. I've got a couple questions but will ask them in tomorrow's condo since it's so late. Thanks again!! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top