7/22 Bob PMPS=82 Carb calculation??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning LL! Happy Monday! Had a bit of a rough weekend, but very happy to see some blue and green as the primary color on Bob's ss. Thanks to EVERYONE who helped and stopped by with encouragement - couldn't have done it without you. I might have ended up balled up in the corner sucking my thumb. :shock:

Bob did good last night. His blues were a little higher than previous night. Was that yellow considered a bounce? is the yellow this morning considered a bounce? I'm just very happy to see yellow and not red or pink. He wasn't too interested in his duck & chicken again this am although he did eat a little. I did not give any dry food last night although I wanted to just to feel safe. I'll be heading home about 10:30 to check on him.

Happy OTJ to Purrcee and happy almost OTJ to Scamper. Thoughts & prayers for Jupiter, the two DKA kitties on the health board and all other kitties who need it.

I hope everyone has a great day!! :-D
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213 Had a good night...

Bob is having some very good numbers!! I think that if the yellow is a bounce, Bob is clearing the bounce in record time.
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213 Had a good night...

I might have ended up balled up in the corner sucking my thumb. :shock:
Tastes like chicken. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a good day at work. Loving those lower blues and yellow numbers on Bob's SS. You're making some good progress.

Bob, that Duck and Chicken is yummy. Duck tastes like chicken. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Maybe you want to try chewing on your mommabeans thumb? I heard it tastes like chicken. ;-)
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57 gotta go back to work???

Oh Lordy! Here we go. Bob is at 57. All his food was gone and I fed him some BFF tuna & tilapia and he ate a decent amt. I have to go back to work In 15 min. What should I do?
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25 UGH!!!!

Wow, dropping like a rock. I have him 1/2 can of ff seafood with gravy. He's acting ok but I'm not going to leave til he's on his way back up...
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40 UGH!!!

Sienne-I gave him the whole can of ff high carb. He's moving up now. Should he be ok for me to leave?
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40 UGH!!!

47. Waiting to do another one. Yesterday he started going up at noon and stayed up...
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40 UGH!!!

If it were me, I wouldn't leave on a 47. I'd want to see Bob in the high end of the 50s at least. It can take more than 15 min for HC to get into the blood stream.

Just to state the obvious, you can reduce Bob's dose tonight.
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40 UGH!!!

Woo hoo! Another reduction. Go Bob! I won't leave till he's ilon the way up. He ate a decent amount of low carb before I gave him the high carb. Doesn't that raise the BG a little?
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40, +4.75=75

Wow! The high carb did the trick. Much higher than yesterday when I gave him high carb. Hope it dont mess him up....
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40, +4.75=75

Wow, Bob!! Your little guy is on a mission Dara!! Congrats on the reduction! He is keeping you busy!!

Jane
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40, +4.75=75

Thanks Jane! We are excited!!!!

Sienne-is the canned carb as bad as dry? Will it mess up what we are trying to do? Yesterday after his Hi carb, he went up really slowly. Today he practically doubled his BG in 45 minutes. :-|
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40, +4.75=75

The high carb wet will not mess him up. ;-)
The boost in BG from wet HC food doesn't stick around for hours and hours. It did just what you wanted it to do - raised him up to 70 or so.
If his numbers are higher later, it will be because of a "bounce" caused by the drop to 40, but not because he ate a bit of high carb food.
You handled this really well, and he reacted just like we hope they'll react :-D
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40, +4.75=75

Thanks Carl! I can't tell you how excited I am that he's eating canned food I really thought it was never going to happen! Only thing that sucks is I'm going to have to come home every day and do this until he gets evened out or something... Oh well, it will be worth it if I can get him OTJ!! By the way, your Bob looks like my Hector! :smile:
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40, +4.75=75

Glad you got better numbers today and all is well :smile: l
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40, +4.75=75

By the way, your Bob looks like my Hector!
I just looked at Hector's pics in your profile. Very handsome boy! He resembles Bob's sister Lillian (GA) even more. She had white markings on her face very similar to Hector's. The big difference between Bob and Hector though is at the other end. Bob didn't come with a tail :lol:
 
Re: 7/22 Bob AMPS=213, +4=57, +4.25=40, +4.75=75

Awww....poor Bob, no tail. that's ok, sometimes I think hector has no brains, he's such a goofball, but we love him anyway.

I took a look at your pictures and I just love them! I like birds and nature and all that...I live on a small lake and get to see all the birds and the big o'l gator swim by every night. It's wonderful. If I didn't have that, I may have to move right back to Pittsburgh because Florida is B-O-R-I-N-G!! :-D
 
Re: 7/22 Bob PMPS=82 NEED DOSING HELP???

Well, we earned a reduction today, but I'm scared to give bob insulin at this number. Maybe I have done it at this #. I need to check the ss. What does one usually do in this situation?
 
Re: 7/22 Bob PMPS=82 NEED DOSING HELP???

Do you want to try waiting 20-30 minutes without feeting, retest and make sure he's rising? If so, you should be OK to shoot the reduced dose.

ETA: You shot a 83 two night ago
 
Re: 7/22 Bob PMPS=82 NEED DOSING HELP???

Thanks Wendy! I knew it was something like that. He was 83 at +5 today but it was from feeding high carb food. Do u think once that wore off, he went back down and is now rising again?
 
Re: 7/22 Bob PMPS=82

They are! Yay! After 15 min he was at 101. I went ahead and gave him 3.75 units. I'm so glad I stayed on the board and listened to u guys. I was ready to just feed him dry and deal with giving him insulin forever. I can't believe what a difference the food is making!!
 
Re: 7/22 Bob PMPS=82

another reduction bob!!

This is how this is supposed to work!!! weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

it took enough time though right? what is going on....all of a sudden it just WORKS!

Congrats Dara!!

Wow, what a couple of days 'eh? :roll:

you have been doing a super job keeping Bob safe.....

I will be watching his numbers tonight......

I hope both our Boys don't plummet too far this evening....oh boy!!

~kelly
 
Does anyone know the new carb content on the new merrick foods? Or could someone tell me how to figure it? Am I supposed to use the dry matter percentages? I have the link to the carb calculator but I only use what's on the can and the moisture and fiber are "max" so I'm not sure if I'm supposed to consider that in the calculation? Also, is 12% considered MC? I bought some thanksgiving dinner style and the old carb content is 12%. DOH!
 
A member contacted Merrick for the "as fed" numbers. Merrick informed them that they were still getting the complete nutritional analysis completed and won't have the information for a while. Sorry!
 
You can't plug the guaranteed values into the carb calculator. We will have to wait until they finish the nutritional tests so we can get the as-feds.

Congrats on the reducie!!!!
 
Hi Dara, Congrats on the reducie :mrgreen: Bob is doing so good dancing_cat and definitely keeping you on your toes :lol: nailbite_smile
I love all your pics. What cuties cat_pet_icon And what do you mean Floridas boring :lol: :lol: try Port Richey :lol: :lol:
Hope Bob lets you get some rest tonight I-)
 
Thanks guys! I'm trying to find some food for Mr. Picky Pants and I'm not sure what are the best to buy. I know he love the Weruva paw lickin chicken but I found out it's made in Thailand!!!! I just want a good quality food made in the USA! why is that so hard to find?? Anyway, the Merrick (made in the USA - yay!) thanksgiving day food is 12% carbs, but it is shredded. You think that's too high for Bob?

Pam & Hoot said:
Hi Dara, Congrats on the reducie Bob is doing so good and definitely keeping you on your toes
I love all your pics. What cuties And what do you mean Floridas boring try Port Richey
Hope Bob lets you get some rest tonight

Hi Pam! Port Richey is probably nice (never been there - on the coast right?). I live in Central Fl!!! With all the hillbillies! :lol: All there is to do is go to Olive Garden! Thanks for the compliment on the cuties. That they are, but very misbehavin' cuties!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top