? 7/22/24 WATSON please look at spreadsheet AMPS 394 Libre/339 Meter

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
Time slipped away and I think yesterday was seven days on Watson‘s reduced dose. I am thinking that tonight I should increase by .25 again is that correct? Watson is still suffering from Diarrhea, he went to the vet on Friday and got an antibiotic and had a rectal exam. Everything looked fine and no temperature. If, by tomorrow. He is not doing better. They want to do bloodwork and I x-ray.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-spreadsheet-amps-400-libre-386-meter.292179/
 
What antibiotic did he get? How long will he be on it? My vet won’t give any antibiotics until he sees there’s an infection as you need the correct one. Are you giving a good probiotic? I can’t recall. It may be the food is not agreeing with him. What would they X-ray? Was he having diarrhea before you started YA? I’ve read of cats here having diarrhea from it.
I think he’s bouncing from the lower bg on 7/20 and would hold the dose. He has had two days with nadirs in the range you want when following SLGS. I would see if it happens again after the bounce clears and if not you could increase.
 
@tiffmaxee probiotic is florastor and Antibiotic is metronidazole. The antibiotic is supposed to be taken .75 mL twice a day for 10 days
He has been eating the same food since April when I joined the group and he has just had the diarrhea since July 6. They seem to think an x-ray would show if he had some type of blockage. One of my other cats is going in for their yearly vaccinations tomorrow, so I guess I will make Watson an appointment for ASAP for the blood work at least the x-ray. He potted today while I was upstairs, so I couldn’t tell whether it was liquid or not
 
I would not think there’s a blockage if he has diarrhea. It could be IBD though. I would try S Boulardi and a really good probiotic like Visbiome. I have used metronidazole years ago and my vet told me when it starts working my cat might get constipated which is normal and to stop it then. When Chai was having diarrhea he had me give her a novel protein and she was given S boulardii rather than metronidazole. Bloodwork is a good idea I think and perhaps send out a fecal sample but maybe see if metronidazole works first since you started it. I hope the diarrhea resolves quickly.
 
BTW what vaccines are you giving yearly? Most are every 3 years.

@tiffmaxee

The vet says Pooch is due for a one year rabies and a distemper combo booster.
The Florastor
upload_2024-7-22_16-42-13.png

I think this is what you’re recommending
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-22_16-42-13.png
    upload_2024-7-22_16-42-13.png
    146.7 KB · Views: 140
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee

The vet says Pooch is due for a one year rabies and a distemper combo booster.
The Florastor View attachment 70618
I think this is what you’re recommending
Yes. It’s the same.
@tiffmaxee

The vet says Pooch is due for a one year rabies and a distemper combo booster.
The Florastor View attachment 70618
I think this is what you’re recommending
There’s a 3 year rabies mist use. It’s not required where I live. The other one has been given no more than every 3 years for at least 15 years. Vets where I live won’t give annuals.
 
Back
Top