7/22/2013 Ozy AMPS 291

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100331

Yesterday was a wild but good day. Ozy has had readings mostly in the 300's since his diagnosis. Then yesterday he started at 351 and then the readings began dropping. By last night he turned blue! The drop was so sudden it scared me but he is doing well.

Today he is back up, barely under 300. I think I should have upped the dose by .25 units but I didn't. What should I do? Give him a booster of .25? Wait until tonight and raise the dose then? Raise it tomorrow?

I am so grateful for the support and information I am getting here.
 
Thanks, Sienne.

Another question. His glucose shot up to almost 300 again today. So, is that a rebound? Should I reduce the insulin (see below)?, keep it the same, or raise it? I feel like I am playing poker and I am not good at it.

I read this in the glossary:
REBOUND: This is a term to describe the process in which the body reacts to low blood sugar or a rapid drop in blood sugar. When the body perceives a fast or low drop in glucose, it protects itself by releasing natural glucagons which raise the blood sugar. When this occurs, we call it somogyi or somogyi rebound, and this rebound or high blood glucose can last up to 72 hours. Treatment is to decrease the insulin dosage by 25-50%.
 
Take a look at the date on the glossary! What you're seeing is a bounce. Because Ozy dropped into numbers he's not used to spending time in, his liver and pancreas released a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones. This is a normal response given that your cat's body is reacting to these better numbers as though they are dangerous. In essence, Ozy's liver panicked.

As for chronic Somogyi rebound, I'm going to climb on my soapbox. About 2.5 years ago, Marje asked a similar question based on what a vet told her. Here's my response.
Sienne and Gabby said:
The topic of Somogyi came up some time before you joined the Board. Both Jill and I did a lot of lit searching. I have access to both a medical and veterinary library system. For a theory that has so many people convinced that it is a factor in human as well as in feline diabetes, there is an amazingly small amount of research on the topic. The earliest paper by Michael Somogyi, is from the 1930s and was not published in a widely recognized medical journal (i.e., it was in the Weekly Bulletin of the St. Louis Medical Society). Note that this was a report based on 5 human subjects and urine glucose, not blood glucose was measured. More recent reports note that Somogyi's observations have not been reliably reproduced under controlled conditions.

Gale said:
Although some patients had a very rapid fluctuation from hypoglycaemia to hyperglycaemia, we found no evidence that changes in counterregulatory hormone levels were responsible.The preceding interval of hypoglycemia was often prolonged, which implied defective homeostasis, and the difference between the patients with apparent rebound and those without could not be explained in terms of circulating levels of cortisol, growth hormone, or glucagon. Other workers have noted very variable changes in growth-hormone and cortisol levels after acute hypoglycsemia in unstable diabetics. We did not measure catecholamines and cannot rule out the possibility that they were partly responsible for the difference between our groups. However, the evidence presented here suggests that free insulin is the major factor involved.
The bold is mine. It points out that there is no evidence for what the vet is suggesting about "stress" hormones (i.e., cortisol).

In addition to the dearth of empirical research, there is even less that pertains to cats and none that addresses Somogyi phenomenon in the use of Lantus. Given that the presence of Somogyi is believed to be associated with doses that are raised in too large of an increment, it is surprising that this IM vet would not be an enthusiastic supporter of the Queensland/Rand tight regulation protocol. (FYI - there is another TR protocol and the vet may have assumed this was the one you were referring to.)

This is a link to info on Chronic Somogyi Rebound on Wiki. I would draw your attention to the section on Controversy:
Although this theory is well known among clinicians and individuals with diabetes, there is little scientific evidence to support it. Clinical studies indicate that a high fasting glucose in the morning is more likely because the insulin given on the previous evening fails to last long enough.[5] Recent studies using continuous glucose monitoring show that a high glucose in the morning is not preceded by a low glucose during the night.[6] Furthermore, many individuals with hypoglycemic episodes during the night fail to wake due to a failure of release of epinephrine during nocturnal hypoglycemia.[7] Thus, Somogyi's theory is not assured and may be refuted.
This information pertains to humans, not cats. However, the phenomenon was based on humans and extrapolated to felines so I'm going to presume the issues with the paucity as well as quality of the research are the same.
So, fundamentally there is no compelling research evidence that is based on blood glucose measurements of cats, let alone cats whose diabetes is being treated with Lantus that would support the existence of Somogyi rebound.
 
Well, we gave him 2.25 units tonight.

Thanks for the response. Bounce and Somogyi sound the same to me... what am I missing as to the difference? The body fights the drop in glucose. The difference seems to be in what you do in response....

There must be some nuance I am missing, or even major point. I've learned a lot but many things are still hazy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top