Taishi_Ci
Member Since 2021
Update @ +3: Taishi had about 1/2 can of Fancy Feast as his "2nd breakfast/morning snack". My husband tried to give him his BG "poke" for the first time and, after failing twice, I stepped in to get the blood. His BG was down to 338 (yay!). We have 7 cats and have kept Taishi isolated to his own "diabetes suite" (lol) since diagnosis so we can monitor food, water, and urine, so he is spending most of his time napping under the bed.
Original Post: Here we go. I *think* I gave Taishi his insulin correctly this morning. The 1U is such a tiny amount on the syringe, it almost seems like nothing. We did not schedule a "tech appointment" at the vet to learn to inject (it was going to be an additional $100 on top of the $500 we just spent to have him diagnosed) so I learned to load/inject based on the resources provided here (videos, photos, written directions, etc). Taishi had no reaction to the injection and it was over in a fraction of a second, which is why I find myself doubting whether or not I actually did it correctly.
We are aiming for the Tight Regulation method, so will be testing his BG throughout the day. We are lucky that he's very easy to test. He never has any reaction to the ear prick
Cross your fingers and send us good vibes! I'm very nervous going into all this.
~ Jessie
Original Post: Here we go. I *think* I gave Taishi his insulin correctly this morning. The 1U is such a tiny amount on the syringe, it almost seems like nothing. We did not schedule a "tech appointment" at the vet to learn to inject (it was going to be an additional $100 on top of the $500 we just spent to have him diagnosed) so I learned to load/inject based on the resources provided here (videos, photos, written directions, etc). Taishi had no reaction to the injection and it was over in a fraction of a second, which is why I find myself doubting whether or not I actually did it correctly.
We are aiming for the Tight Regulation method, so will be testing his BG throughout the day. We are lucky that he's very easy to test. He never has any reaction to the ear prick
Cross your fingers and send us good vibes! I'm very nervous going into all this.
~ Jessie
Last edited: