7/21, Susie, 251 AMPS, 259 @+1, 240 @+2, 144 @+4.2

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-45-1-5-48-2-58-2-5-60-3.250089/#post-2821400

Another drama-filled morning. Mom asked me to take her to the ER at 6:15. Severe arthritis in the neck had kept her up all night and she was in a lot of pain. Dropped her off. They don't want me in there and I don't want to be in there. Will pick her up and try to work this around my appt. for Susie to get blood and urinalysis this morning.

Too bad that Susie is getting her blood work on a morning that she is bouncing. I'll go ahead and print the last week or so of her test scores so the vet can see that she is doing pretty well.

@FrostD praying for Mr. Kitty. Hope his tummy settles down.
 
Morning Summer, So sorry about your mom, I hope they can give her something to ease the pain. Good luck at the vet visit today.
I hope you all can have a better rest of the day and no more drams ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Summer, So sorry about your mom, I hope they can give her something to ease the pain. Good luck at the vet visit today.
I hope you all can have a better rest of the day and no more drams ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Diane. It has been a bit of a drama-filled week. Tyler is looking better with fewer blues. :D Hope he is eating and acting like he feels good!
 
Sorry your mom is in so much pain. I hope she can get some relief soon. I hope Susie's vetty visit goes well. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Summer. Hope your mom is doing okay. Hope emergency can help the pain. Good luck at the vet. I am guessing your vet is okay with TR or SLGS. Last time I took Dolly to her cat only vet of 8 years and let her see Dolly’s numbers she demanded that I take Dolly off insulin immediately. I have’t gone back. She said I was playing with fire. Anyway, I hope her labs come out perfect. Hope you and Susie have a great day. Thank you again for your kind offers yesterday. :):cat:
 
Good morning Summer. Hope your mom is doing okay. Hope emergency can help the pain. Good luck at the vet. I am guessing your vet is okay with TR or SLGS. Last time I took Dolly to her cat only vet of 8 years and let her see Dolly’s numbers she demanded that I take Dolly off insulin immediately. I have’t gone back. She said I was playing with fire. Anyway, I hope her labs come out perfect. Hope you and Susie have a great day. Thank you again for your kind offers yesterday. :):cat:
My vet isn't a big supporter of "safe" numbers. Told me many weeks ago that he would be happy to see her in the 200s. The other vet, first one that diagnosed her, said the low 100s are good numbers for a cat. I think a lot of times vets are more concerned that we will not be able to handle the lower numbers and throw cats into hypoglycemia so they play it on the safe side. Anytime, I can do anything for you just ask. Even if that means mailing you something from Florida. I will get Susie's labs back tomorrow. I am concerned. She always has some results that are too high or too low.
 
Thanks, Carla. Serious muscle spasms from a fall where she hit the front of her face and the back of her head 3 weeks ago. They gave her some meds that should help. I'll get Susie's results tomorrow.
So glad you got your mom help, Summer. Sounds like awful pain she was in. Kudos for also getting Susie in to her doctor too:bighug:
Hoping Susies' liver values look better; relax when you can;)
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-45-1-5-48-2-58-2-5-60-3.250089/#post-2821400

Another drama-filled morning. Mom asked me to take her to the ER at 6:15. Severe arthritis in the neck had kept her up all night and she was in a lot of pain. Dropped her off. They don't want me in there and I don't want to be in there. Will pick her up and try to work this around my appt. for Susie to get blood and urinalysis this morning.

Too bad that Susie is getting her blood work on a morning that she is bouncing. I'll go ahead and print the last week or so of her test scores so the vet can see that she is doing pretty well.

@FrostD praying for Mr. Kitty. Hope his tummy settles down.

Not horrible bouncing though! And she came down into the 100's already. That's great. Shooter bounced up to 426 this morning. Hopefully he'll settle quickly.
 
Not horrible bouncing though! And she came down into the 100's already. That's great. Shooter bounced up to 426 this morning. Hopefully he'll settle quickly.
Just give your little Shooter some time. That was a big bounce this morning but things should get better! I am happy that Susie didn't hang on too long with the yellow bounce. I am seeing numbers I like for regulation. I just don't think I am cut out for remission. I don't want to be up all night "playing with fire". Have a great evening, Heather.
 
I had an eventful morning as well. Got up 5:15 as usual to feed the feral cats. Car wouldn’t start. Took hubby’s truck. Got back home… pushed car out of garage to jumpstart it…. Left if running in the driveway to wait until Advance Auto Parts opened at 7:30. Had to take three kittens to vet today for Rabies and second FVRCP shot at 9:30. Battery was bad…. Bought new one and they installed it. Got home to make myself look decent and then back out again with kittens. We made it to the vet on time so all was well.
I am so sorry that your mother has been having so much pain. That fall sounds nasty. How did you know when to pick her up?

And you still got Susie to the vet on time! I hope the liver values will all be good this time.
 
I had an eventful morning as well. Got up 5:15 as usual to feed the feral cats. Car wouldn’t start. Took hubby’s truck. Got back home… pushed car out of garage to jumpstart it…. Left if running in the driveway to wait until Advance Auto Parts opened at 7:30. Had to take three kittens to vet today for Rabies and second FVRCP shot at 9:30. Battery was bad…. Bought new one and they installed it. Got home to make myself look decent and then back out again with kittens. We made it to the vet on time so all was well.
I am so sorry that your mother has been having so much pain. That fall sounds nasty. How did you know when to pick her up?

And you still got Susie to the vet on time! I hope the liver values will all be good this time.
I'm sorry you had a drama-filled morning too. Who needs coffee when these things happen so early. You are lucky you got the new battery installed and were able to get to the vet in time. How far away is your vet?

I told Mom, when I dropped her at the ER around 6:30, that I would be taking Susie in at 8:40 for the labs so that hopefully my vet visit wouldn't conflict with her time to come home. I knew it would be a quick visit just to get the blood and urine. I left to take Susie in and when I came home I had a message on my phone that Mom was ready to come home. I quickly gave Susie her +3 breakfast and was back out the door to get Mom. Mom knew about my vet appointment. She was just grateful to have someone take her to the ER. Life always seems to throw us curve balls from time to time.

I love that you are taking care of these kittens. Do you have a hard time finding them homes? If it was me, I would probably struggle with giving any of them up. I really, really want a kitten but am finding, in my older age and now being on SSN, that I can no longer afford the vet bills involved with a senior dog, another dog and of course, Susie. I always wanted to surround myself with cats and dogs but just can't do it anymore. Especially since my husband is gone and I have no support. I may never get another dog again but I will always want a cat in my life. Hope you are well and that tomorrow will be less stressful. Bless you for getting up at 5:15 to feed the ferals. Maybe, one of these kittens will be your next "beloved Darcy" should you decide to keep him or her.
 
Last edited:
Thank you, Diane. It has been a bit of a drama-filled week. Tyler is looking better with fewer blues. :D Hope he is eating and acting like he feels good!
Hi Summer , yes he's back to all his green numbers, those blue numbers were because he was sick. I have was afraid he would fall out of remission.
Now I'm probably testing him more than I have to :p
He's eating fine :cat:
I'm glad they gave mom something for the muscle spasms, I hope she feels better
I see Susie came down to nice blue numbers


@Summer and Susie
 
Last edited:
Hi Summer , yes he's back to all his green numbers, those blue numbers were because he was sick. I have was afraid he would fall out of remission.
Now I'm probably testing him more than I have to :p
He's eating fine :cat:
I'm glad they gave mom something for the muscle spasms, I hope she feels better
I see Susie came down to nice blue numbers


@Summer and Susie
I'm so glad to hear that Tyler is doing better. I understand your concern and your extra testing. He has been doing so well for so long that this must have been a real issue of concern for you. Fingers crossed and prayers said for your boy, Tyler, always!
 
Feeling really overwhelmed today. Living with my 90-year-old Mom who has no portion of her body that doesn't hurt like hell at one point or the other. She also has dementia and doesn't remember how to properly take her medicine. Scary. My oldest dog, the love of my life, also has dementia (yes, dogs do get dementia) and she just "clings" to me all day and I struggle to get her to go outside at night to "relieve" herself. My youngest dog, who is the life of the party, is obstinent and can be disobedient. And then there is Susie, who I adore, but also requires so much attention at times with her diabetes. I know a lot of folks have their own problems. Just want you to know that I am right there with you and I sympathize with what life throws at all of us.
 
I hope she stays nice and flat for you tonight, you need a break!

I understand feeling stretched thin...it seems that sometimes these things just keep piling on. But we push through and do what needs done! Hope your mom feels better, and Susie gets a good report :bighug:
 
Feeling really overwhelmed today. Living with my 90-year-old Mom who has no portion of her body that doesn't hurt like hell at one point or the other. She also has dementia and doesn't remember how to properly take her medicine. Scary. My oldest dog, the love of my life, also has dementia (yes, dogs do get dementia) and she just "clings" to me all day and I struggle to get her to go outside at night to "relieve" herself. My youngest dog, who is the life of the party, is obstinent and can be disobedient. And then there is Susie, who I adore, but also requires so much attention at times with her diabetes. I know a lot of folks have their own problems. Just want you to know that I am right there with you and I sympathize with what life throws at all of us.
I keep staring at this post. I feel you. I'd give anything to rid the world of dementia. It's so common in my family that if I live long enough, I bet I get it too. Like you, I also had a darling dog who got dementia; she would walk in circles until I stopped her.
I empathize with you Summer. Being a continual caretaker is rough. Just don't leave yourself out of the caretaking:bighug::bighug::bighug:Hope you have gone to sleep, or will soon;)
 
Back
Top