7/21 Stache AMPS 159 +2 158 +3 127

Stache

Member Since 2023
I don't know what to do, here. Drop his dose? Skip it?

20230721_074556.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20230721_074556.jpg
    20230721_074556.jpg
    26.4 KB · Views: 183
Some cats nadir at shot time. Some do a double dip. It’s a safe number to shoot if you can monitor. I don’t know which method you are following but if over 150 even with SLGS it’s safe to shoot. The Libre sometimes reads low. Can you check with an ear prick?

Please remove the 911. Change it to a question mark. The 911 is if hypo or in immediate danger. Please link previous post for continuity.
 
I see you are following TR according to your ss. If correct please add it to your signature.

Did you stall? Did you feed? Can you scan again?
 
Some cats nadir at shot time. Some do a double dip. It’s a safe number to shoot if you can monitor. I don’t know which method you are following but if over 150 even with SLGS it’s safe to shoot. The Libre sometimes reads low. Can you check with an ear prick?


But a drop of 100 would put him at 50. He's eating a half hour late. I was thinking about a 2.25u shot. I'd rather give too little, then too much.
 
Marje says no more than a half hour variance for meal/shot time. He seems to be taking his time eating, not normal. Still, no shot.
 
He's breaking a bounce, see how he dropped down from 400 overnight. That can mean later nadirs.

There is no reason to assume a drop of 100. With Lantus, a lower preshot typically meana a lot flatter cycle. Even if he did drop to 50, that is still safe, though on the edge. Besides which, he hasn't gone below 130 on this dose, so not likely he'd dive down to 50. Remember, we changes doses based on how low the dose takes the cat, not the preshots. With the L insulins, you do have to get used to shooting lower, which is quite different from Vetsulin.

I would give 2.5 unit. Due to the nature of the depot, a 2.25 units shot wouldn't impact this cycle very much.

I suspect Stache needs an increase, not a decrease.
 
You can shoot while his head is in the bowl. Lantus typically takes a couple hours to onset, so you have time to get food into him.
 
Should I try to give a 0.25u shot? He got 2.25 nearly an hour late. He's at 179 but that's like +10 minutes.
 
I stumbled upon this page some time ago:
5 Steps to Regulating Your Diabetic Cat
I know it's old but I really like how focused, and concise it is. And, it's all on one page! Even the title is motivating.

1) Are the ranges in Step 3 here, still correct for SLGS? I assume that the dose increment here, is out of date. My understanding is that now we use 0.25u steps, not 0.5. 2) Have I got this correct? 3) Are those ranges in Step 3 correct for TR, as well?
 
He's breaking a bounce, see how he dropped down from 400 overnight. That can mean later nadirs.

There is no reason to assume a drop of 100. With Lantus, a lower preshot typically meana a lot flatter cycle. Even if he did drop to 50, that is still safe, though on the edge. Besides which, he hasn't gone below 130 on this dose, so not likely he'd dive down to 50. Remember, we changes doses based on how low the dose takes the cat, not the preshots. With the L insulins, you do have to get used to shooting lower, which is quite different from Vetsulin.

I would give 2.5 unit. Due to the nature of the depot, a 2.25 units shot wouldn't impact this cycle very much.

I suspect Stache needs an increase, not a decrease.


I forgot to thank you for this. Thank you so much!
 
I agree with Wendy that he will probably need a dose increase to 2.75u but I’d be sure I have six cycles of data before I increased the dose because you don’t know what his BG did when the meter wasn’t working. I thought you were doing TR. The advice I just gave is if you are doing TR.
 
Thank you for the replies. I had reread over the dosing methods and was preparing a reply of my own when the time came for a reading. This time however the meter read "Sensor Ended". That's just over twenty-four hours into its intended fourteen day run.

I was preparing to take on blood testing. Now, I have no grace period to learn it and no way to get BG's until I do. So much for the Freestyle Libre 2.

I'll have to look around and find the instructions on taking a blood test. Stache doesn't care much for shots and has been getting into a bad mood just with the sensor protocol. I'm not looking forward to this one.

Apparently, folks here don't use the spring loaded lance device. They prefer doing it by hand? Is there a preferred lance gauge? There will be no dose increase until I can reliably blood test.

Coincidentally, we are moving by the end of the month. New Home is a half hour away so that drive is the only main thing Stache will have to put up with. I however, will not be quite as available as usual.

He has been drinking noticeably less and he's testing negative for ketones. I'm looking forward to seeing more potential out of the whole process. I am beginning to wonder however, how that's going to look.
 
Last edited:
Apparently, folks here don't use the spring loaded lance device.
It's personal preference. Some people use the lancing device, some people free hand. Some cats don't like the sound of the click, so free hand works. Those without steady hands may choose to use the lancing device.
I'll have to look around and find the instructions on taking a blood test.
Check out this post: Hometesting Links and Tips - includes numerous links, instructions, pictures, & videos
 
I'll have to look around and find the instructions on taking a blood test. Stache doesn't care much for shots and has been getting into a bad mood just with the sensor protocol. I'm not looking forward to this one.

Apparently, folks here don't use the spring loaded lance device. They prefer doing it by hand? Is there a preferred lance gauge? There will be no dose increase until I can reliably blood test.

Hi Pete, here’s a link to a recent post on the Health & Main forum with lots of tips on home testing through ear pricks for a caregiver, of a recently diagnosed diabetic cat, who’s finding it difficult to test.
 
Thank you for the replies. I had reread over the dosing methods and was preparing a reply of my own when the time came for a reading. This time however the meter read "Sensor Ended". That's just over twenty-four hours into its intended fourteen day run.

I was preparing to take on blood testing. Now, I have no grace period to learn it and no way to get BG's until I do. So much for the Freestyle Libre 2.

I'll have to look around and find the instructions on taking a blood test. Stache doesn't care much for shots and has been getting into a bad mood just with the sensor protocol. I'm not looking forward to this one.

Apparently, folks here don't use the spring loaded lance device. They prefer doing it by hand? Is there a preferred lance gauge? There will be no dose increase until I can reliably blood test.

Coincidentally, we are moving by the end of the month. New Home is a half hour away so that drive is the only main thing Stache will have to put up with. I however, will not be quite as available as usual.

He has been drinking noticeably less and he's testing negative for ketones. I'm looking forward to seeing more potential out of the whole process. I am beginning to wonder however, how that's going to look.
It just takes time and patience…and a bit of courage to learn to hometest but I’ve only seen one cat here who was absolutely not a willing participant but he eventually became one. We can always share that video but best to set you up for success. Many, many cats here have testing spots and will go there for a test and a treat. Small, freeze dried treats help.
 
Back
Top