billy
Member Since 2012
Hi guys!
My cat was diagnosed as diabetic just under two weeks ago. I started on the vets recommended protocol but after a lot of reading (mostly here) I'm wondering about switching to the tight regulation protocol. He's 8 years old and about 11-12 lbs. Diet was wet food (not as low carb as the Fancy Feast Classic), switched to Fancy Feast Classic (mostly Turkey & Giblets). Here's the first 6 days of treatment.
07/16
AMPS - 450 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot
+6 (232)
PMPS - 194 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot
+6 (310)
AMPS - none - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot
PMPS - 408 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot
AMPS - 396 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
PMPS - 356 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
AMPS - 381 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
PMPS - 350 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
AMPS - 381 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
PMPS - 350 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
AMPS - none - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
PMPS - 389 - Fed meal - 1.50U Lantus shot (+12)
+6 (327)
AMPS - 414 - Fed meal - 1.50U Lantus shot (+12)
+2 (412)
+4 (382)
+6 (348)
+8 (404)
PMPS - 460 - Fed Meal - 1.50U Lantus shot (+12)
Yesterday was when we went to 1.50U. We're going to do a curve today (7/21). Our Vet didn't instruct us to take BG readings until after 2 weeks but we wanted to keep an eye on it. The fact it's stayed pretty high is worrying. The fact it did well the first day then has stayed high could that be a somogyi rebound? At this point I'm not sure if we could be raising or decreasing the dosage. How soon should we consider a change to PZI?
Based on my reading, my first step should be to do a curve to get more data. I'm just not sure if these numbers mean he's not responding, it's too much insulin, not enough insulin, or it just takes time to regulate? Overall he's in good spirits, just a little lethargic (which is what led us to take him to the vet). Thanks for any insight you can offer!
Edit: Uploaded a picture, he's not too pleased about all this ear pricking.
My cat was diagnosed as diabetic just under two weeks ago. I started on the vets recommended protocol but after a lot of reading (mostly here) I'm wondering about switching to the tight regulation protocol. He's 8 years old and about 11-12 lbs. Diet was wet food (not as low carb as the Fancy Feast Classic), switched to Fancy Feast Classic (mostly Turkey & Giblets). Here's the first 6 days of treatment.
07/16
AMPS - 450 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot
+6 (232)
PMPS - 194 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot
+6 (310)
AMPS - none - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot
PMPS - 408 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot
AMPS - 396 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
PMPS - 356 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
AMPS - 381 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
PMPS - 350 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
AMPS - 381 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
PMPS - 350 - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
AMPS - none - Fed meal - 1.00U Lantus shot (+12)
PMPS - 389 - Fed meal - 1.50U Lantus shot (+12)
+6 (327)
AMPS - 414 - Fed meal - 1.50U Lantus shot (+12)
+2 (412)
+4 (382)
+6 (348)
+8 (404)
PMPS - 460 - Fed Meal - 1.50U Lantus shot (+12)
Yesterday was when we went to 1.50U. We're going to do a curve today (7/21). Our Vet didn't instruct us to take BG readings until after 2 weeks but we wanted to keep an eye on it. The fact it's stayed pretty high is worrying. The fact it did well the first day then has stayed high could that be a somogyi rebound? At this point I'm not sure if we could be raising or decreasing the dosage. How soon should we consider a change to PZI?
Based on my reading, my first step should be to do a curve to get more data. I'm just not sure if these numbers mean he's not responding, it's too much insulin, not enough insulin, or it just takes time to regulate? Overall he's in good spirits, just a little lethargic (which is what led us to take him to the vet). Thanks for any insight you can offer!
Edit: Uploaded a picture, he's not too pleased about all this ear pricking.