? 7/21 Post DKA Millie AMPS 383, +6 150, +8 90. Not use to greens, input would be wonderful!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Active Member
Post DKA Millie seems to finally be responding to her current dose after two bouts of DKA and lots of (literally) ups and downs. I am not use to low numbers and not really familiar with how to deal/cope. After my anxiety (and confusion) it seems that following much of the advice given here has helped my girl. Now to continue to stabilize her and who knows, maybe even remission!

Please note I was away this week and a vet tech took care of her so data is limited, and one morning the tech forgot to write in the info. I have not had an opportunity to look through all of Millie's emergency/hospital records and to search for her BG and insulin numbers and record them on her SS. If I have an opportunity, I will.



http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...pmps-101-to-shoot-or-not.180844/#post-2002854
 
Beautiful number and that said, I know when you aren't use to seeing them, that they can be daunting. With the way the cycle played out, she is likely to bounce up at PMBG's as she is just not used to being in nice healing numbers.

With a cat who has had DKA, getting enough insulin in her is very important. As long as she is eating well, I would be shooting anything over 68 and getting a +1 test and if it is the same or lower than the pre shot, it could be an active cycle and some steering would be necessary. She needs to get used to being in blues and greens

How about if you get a +11 today to see where she is and if she isn't going upwards and you are concerned with shooting you could post and get some assistance for the PMBG dose.
 
Beautiful number and that said, I know when you aren't use to seeing them, that they can be daunting. With the way the cycle played out, she is likely to bounce up at PMBG's as she is just not used to being in nice healing numbers.

With a cat who has had DKA, getting enough insulin in her is very important. As long as she is eating well, I would be shooting anything over 68 and getting a +1 test and if it is the same or lower than the pre shot, it could be an active cycle and some steering would be necessary. She needs to get used to being in blues and greens

How about if you get a +11 today to see where she is and if she isn't going upwards and you are concerned with shooting you could post and get some assistance for the PMBG dose.
That sound like a great idea. We are heading out with out of town family but should be back in time to do a +11.

Thanks!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top