Margaret and Pearl (GA)
Member Since 2020
Good afternoon all!
I have a question about inverted cycles.
Pearl was starting to experience inverted cycles on 0.25U, starting at about Cycle 10 in the PM cycle (unusual for her, she is typically in normal numbers and then I reduce her after 14 cycles). After cycle 14 in normal numbers, I dropped her to 0.125U yesterday (0.125U = 2 drops with my calipers/calculations).
It seems to me her inverted cycles are getting more dramatic. By that I mean, she is green at PS and then goes up into blue for most of the cycle when the insulin should be at its strongest, then drops back down to green for the next PS.
So, question: if the inverted cycles continue, what do I do? Intuitively, it doesn't seem reasonable to wait the entire 14 cycles before dropping her again (or is that the thing to do??). And we only have the drop dose left to go. So...if the inverted cycles keep on, do I go immediately down to a drop, or just move to try her OTJ?
This is an odd one for me. Of course, I would check back in before making a decision, but am wondering what the protocol is for this situation. I've done some searching in the forum, but still don't quite know what to think.
7/19 post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-19-pearl-pmps-115-3-25-92-pred-day-reduce-tomorrow.250050/
Thank you!!
I have a question about inverted cycles.
Pearl was starting to experience inverted cycles on 0.25U, starting at about Cycle 10 in the PM cycle (unusual for her, she is typically in normal numbers and then I reduce her after 14 cycles). After cycle 14 in normal numbers, I dropped her to 0.125U yesterday (0.125U = 2 drops with my calipers/calculations).
It seems to me her inverted cycles are getting more dramatic. By that I mean, she is green at PS and then goes up into blue for most of the cycle when the insulin should be at its strongest, then drops back down to green for the next PS.
So, question: if the inverted cycles continue, what do I do? Intuitively, it doesn't seem reasonable to wait the entire 14 cycles before dropping her again (or is that the thing to do??). And we only have the drop dose left to go. So...if the inverted cycles keep on, do I go immediately down to a drop, or just move to try her OTJ?
This is an odd one for me. Of course, I would check back in before making a decision, but am wondering what the protocol is for this situation. I've done some searching in the forum, but still don't quite know what to think.
7/19 post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-19-pearl-pmps-115-3-25-92-pred-day-reduce-tomorrow.250050/
Thank you!!
Last edited:

