7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, PMPS 115, +2 109, +3 87, +4 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klaree and Ollie

Member Since 2010
AMPS - 261 :(
+4 - 233 :(
+6 - 219 :(
+9 - 152 :) - Who-hoo! Blue!!!
PMPS - 115

He ate an entire half a can of Wellness....I hope that keeps him from dipping too sharp. I gave the full 2.25 dose. I will be up all night checking on him :)....I hope I am rewarded with good numbers!!

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261

His numbers are actually really good for just starting out. Preshots are nearly always higher because the insulin is wearing off. He went down into green last night and he isn't used to going that low, the liver can produce sugars to prevent the body fro going hypo. In a diabetic cat this can happen even if the low isn't near a dangerous level. The liver "panics" when levels of BG get lower than what it has been for a long time. We call this LTS (Liver Training School), gradually Ollie's body will start to recognize these levels as normal and stop reacting.

Quite frankly, it wasn't that bad a bounce. Now if we can just figure out how to train us beans from panicking. :lol:
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +4 233

Thanks Ann!

I didn't know the liver panicked when numbers got RELATIVELY low, I thought it would only panic when the numbers were dangerous low. It's all coming together.... I'm bummed about the +4 233 reading :( but the prudent thing to do would be to hold this dose for at least a few more days before trying an increase?

Yes....I am a bit of a panicker myself....

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +4 233, +6 219 - Question...

Confused about when to increase dose... The protocol says to wait 3-5 days. Is that 3-5 days from the initial day of the particular dose or 3-5 days once kitty is has high numbers (in the 200's)? The first couple of days at 2.25 Ollie had a good reaction, lots of blue and green. Today is all yellow so far...should I wait wait 2 more days (for the 5 day minimum since starting 2.25) or increase sooner?

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +4 233, +6 219 - Question

I think you need to wait a little longer to let this dose settle. You had 2 cycles where you were not giving the full 2.25u and it will take a bit to get the shed back up to where it needs to be. In addition, it looks like you are getting a good response to this dose. Ann is right -- you may be seeing a small bounce from the greens into the yellows. I'd be curious to see how Ollie's numbers look tonight.
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +4 233, +6 219 - Question

Roger that....I'll keep posting and learning to quell my anxiety........

Thanks!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +4 233, +6 219, +9 152, PMPS 115

AMPS - 261 :(
+4 - 233 :(
+6 - 219 :(
+9 - 152 :) - Who-hoo! Blue!!!
PMPS - 115

He ate an entire half a can of Wellness....I hope that keeps him from dipping too sharp. I gave the full 2.25 dose. I will be up all night checking on him :)....I hope I am rewarded with good numbers!!

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +4 233, +6 219, +9 152, PMPS 115

Could you get a +1 and/or a +2? This is the lowest pre-shot number you've had and you should have a good idea of where the cycle is going because you might be up late tonight!!

Do you have strips and HC food (like FF or Friskies with gravy) in the house in case you need them?
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +4 233, +6 219, +9 152, PMPS 115

wow, look at Ollie go! I agree with Sienne, a +1 would be a good idea.
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +4 233, +6 219, +9 152, PMPS 115

Sienne and Gabby said:
Could you get a +1 and/or a +2? This is the lowest pre-shot number you've had and you should have a good idea of where the cycle is going because you might be up late tonight!!

Do you have strips and HC food (like FF or Friskies with gravy) in the house in case you need them?



agrees too!
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +4 233, +6 219, +9 152, PMPS 115

Hi everyone! +2 PM is 109. Don't worry, I'm prepared for a Hypo event with HC Food and Corn Syrup and more than happy to stay up all night with my boy. Thanks so much for your invaluable advice and support.

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +9 152, PMPS 115, +2 109, +3 87

Ollie PM +3 = 87...at what number do I give HC food? He at about 1/2 Can Wellness Chicken at PM +3. I've been puree-ing the food with 1/2 can water and he eats it much better.

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/21 - Ollie AMPS 261, +9 152, PMPS 115, +2 109, +3 87

+ 4 - 115...going back up, probably from the food he ate at +3.

Klaree and Ollie
 
Hi

looks like Ollie had a good evening, and no HC was needed.
Just to answer this quickly, usually the 50's and below you'll want to add a little HC/gravy and retest numbers after 15 minutes (in the 40's) and 30 minutes (in the 50's) Until you see a slight rise (about two tests) and he is surfing.
Depending on how Ollie reacts to low numbers - and do post updates when that happens - you'll see how HC, MC and LC affects him as you go along.

Always get a before bedtime check, and you can add a bit of HC to keep him from coming down again while you sleep.
80's is perfectly safe and a good range to be in. You did great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top