7/21 Max AMPS 333 PMPS 332+2.5=272+4.5=169

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122079
Now that he gets his insulin a half hour early he is waking up an hour earlier meowing for food. I ignored him as he got lots of fd turkey at +7 last night. He is too fat and I don't know how to stop this trend. I have tried to cut back in his food the past week and he showed he GAINED a couple of ounces. Lack of movement does that I guess.

He ate his baby food this morning because the cell advance wasn't in it. I don't know how I will get that into him.

Max was mostly yellow yesterday. Then last night he finally barely hit green. I am so confused about him. The night before he hit 53 so I thought perhaps he was back on track. But if he was bouncing and cleared why is he back to 333 this morning? Should I increase tonight? I didn't get an increase threat from Marje or Julie yesterday so I'm the one threatening. Are you reading Max?

I'm sending vines to all the kitties and beans in need and their loved ones. It seems like there are so many right now.
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 IncreaseTonight?

If he just got a 53 two nights ago, I would not do an increase tonight. I would wait a couple more days and see how he does on this dose.
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 IncreaseTonight?

Okay. I just don't understand why he is so inconsistent. He was doing so well for several days and since then is back to being all over the place. I did recheck those numbers the night before with my backup meter and they are right. Thanks, Dyana.
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 IncreaseTonight?

I think my max is taking some dives almost as bad as Gracies. Thus, they are both bouncing in the a.m.

I hate to keep referring to Gracie but we've talked about how similar the two seem to be. If you look at her SS, I was tempted to raise her dose almost every day when she was on 0.35u because she was so inconsistent. But she kept giving me reasons to hold it and then she started looking pretty good on it. She's doing the same on the new dose...all over the place.

Max is looking better on this dose and so I'd give it a few more cycles and see what he does. While cats don't "settle into" a reduction like they do an increase, I feel there is some kind of adjustment. I speculate Gracies dives might be attributable to the depot from 0.35u so we will see now that she's likely past that. I'm not sure about Max (sorry) but he is well enough past his reduction that the greens you are seeing are the current dose :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 IncreaseTonight?

Thank you, Marje. It's fine to refer to Gracie as he does seem to follow her patterns, except that this would only be the second time he has held a reduction. I'm sure if I look again at her older ss I will see she was the same way. I may find he needs to switch to lev as well but I'm not sure if the timing of it would be as good for me.

I keep hearing my vet's voice in the background saying the one thing I can do is not let him gain weight. I don't know how to stop or change that trend. I wonder how much it is contributing to his failure to go down in insulin.
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 IncreaseTonight?

Weight could be contributing to the variability in Max's numbers. How old is his insulin? There have been a few times when Gabby has produced very inconsistent numbers and I've had a bad pen or her insulin was old.

One thing you could try is altering your feeding cycle. Spread out the meals more and even try a snack as late as +8 and see if that helps to keep Max's appetite under better control. Using a bit of cooked chicken or turkey or freeze dried chicken are low in calories so that might also be a way to give a bit of food that isn't heavy on carbs.

Is the cell advance a powder? If so, you could put it in a gelcap if Max is relatively easy to pill.
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 +2=335

The cell advance is a powder and comes in gel caps but they are big!! I use size 4 for his BP med and could use a 3 and add powder to it but he would likely need about 4 of them. I haven't yet given him more than l cap a day and for his weight he needs to work up to 1 1/2 to see if it will help him with his inflammation and diabetes.

The insulin is not old, 59 days today and it's a vial and was working too well. I think the weight is a factor as well as maybe arthritis. He seems to get super hungry 2-2 1/2 hours before his morning shot. I was hoping moving his shots up 1/2 hour would help but he just started meowing earlier last night or should I say this morning. I tried giving him fd turkey at +7 last night but it didn't help. He's starving right now. So far he as already eaten 1/2 a can of ff classic with 2 pieces of stella and chewy's, a tablespoon of baby food, and 4 pieces fd turkey and he is at his dish meowing for more. Once he settles down he won't beg for food the rest of the day.
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 +2=365+4=311+6=334

Flat stinky pink day! Double yuck!! :YMSIGH: :dizcat :-Q
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 +2=365+4=311+6=334

you've gotten lots of good advice - the only thing i'd add is his weight is important. you might have to put on some heart armor when he cries for food. I've got kids and i became pretty impervious to Punkin's begging for food. It's not that they're not hungry, but in weighing out what is important, the scale tips for the weight to hold steady at a healthy amount.

sorry i didn't stop by yesterday - i was monitoring the cat in main health that overdosed and trying to get things done at home. :-D

i'd wait for this bounce to clear and see how low he gets to then. if you need to increase, i'd just go to halfway between 2.25 and 2.5u.
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 +2=365+4=311+6=334

I've been making an effort to feed Max less and was hoping he had lost a few ounces but he was actually a couple MORE. I'm cutting back in cat food and gave more FD but clearly I can't do that either. I'm going to start weighing him daily before he eats in the morning. He just doesn't get any exercise and sleeps a lot. I know the weight loss needs to be slow to prevent hepatic lipidosis. We started going south when he was needing to he fed to prevent hypos. For awhile when that happens should I give him a very small amount of good with karo instead of JC or mc food if he gets to low 50's? I let him cry from whatever time he wakes up in the morning until his pre-shot .

I was kidding about not getting threats from you or Marje. You didn't need to drop back in here yesterday as I was in holding mode. I hope that kitty is okay. Thanks Julie.
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 +2=365+4=311+6=334

Hi Elise, I have no advice for you but I can totally relate, Tiger insists on wearing the pink tutu today and that is with a dose increase. All we can do is have patience until it clears! Hugs!
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 PMPS 332

This is Max's first all pink day since February. I'm going to try and go with the flow. I'm most worried now about getting him to lose weight. I really don't feed him that much but I guess his metabolism is very low and that without any exercise makes for a fat cat.

As for the BG I am going to try to just report and do as directed and try real hard not to get excited with good numbers or down with the bad ones since this is something I can't control.

Ruth, I bet Tiger's problem is related to the thyroid and once that is adjusted things will fall into place. I'm hoping that is the case.
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 PMPS 332

have you ever tried walking Max? i got a harness and leash for punkin and he loved to go out, although it wasn't like he was jogging! it takes some getting used to, but he perked up when we headed out. Cats only eat about 200 calories a day, so it wouldn't take much movement to use up some of that. even moving his food around - make him follow you around the house while you're holding the dish! hehehe poor guy. none of us like to have to exercise that much. it does make the cells more receptive to insulin, though, so it might bring down his high numbers.
 
Re: 7/21 Max AMPS 333 PMPS 332

My scaredy cat wouldn't do well outside but I will make him walk around the house more for his food and treats. That's a good idea, Julie. :lol: I've tried getting him to play with the couple of toys he used to bat around without luck. He will bat at the ones on sticks but won't walk after them like he used to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top