7/21- Lucky- Not too sure what's going on

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
His PMPS was 350. I did a +5 check and it was 276. +7.5 was 290.

Those are pretty high numbers for where he was at in the cycle. Wonder what's going on? He was doing so well! Could I give him his AM shot earlier since we are off schedule anyway, or no? He just seems to keep climbing :sad:

He seems like he feels okay. He purred while I was checking him this morning and came to me to be petted.
 
You are changing the dose too frequently I think. Try to hold the dose for a day or two longer before switching. I'm glad you lowered the dose because it looked like he might be getting too much insulin, but I'd try to hold him at this dose for a while before making another change. The problem is the frequent dose changes make it hard to sort things out. He's bounced here and there, or had a weird pattern one day, but then you change the dose and it is tough to figure out why because then there is a new pattern to deal with.Give his body time to adapt to the dose before changing again. The pattern you saw last night could mean too little insulin, but he hasn't exhibited it long enough to tell. It could also be a bounce even though his blues were not really all that low in the AM. Sometimes when the patterns go all wacky it is a good idea to lower and just start again. See how he does on the 0.9U for another few days and if the pattern isn't good you can make changes then.

Maybe some of the other experts will see something here I don't, but that's my suggestion.
 
I know you hate seeing those numbers after all the good low numbers, but I do not think you should shoot early. First, there is a lot of data to be gained for furture reference to see where he goes. Plus, depending on the type of curve you get it can tell you a lot about your dose.

If he was to come down toward the end of the cycle, and that does happen, that would be an inverse curve suggesting too much insulin was possibly given. If he continues to climb, then you might can determine your dose was short.

It appears evident that Lucky has some long duration on PZI at times, due to the extended periods you have been able to go between shots. Prozinc sometimes doesn't poop out for 12 hours, I would hate for you to shoot early and still have some insulin in his system---can be very risky.

Wait it out and get your data---he will be okay!
 
I'll hold out till +11.5, I'm just afraid he's going to be deep in the reds by then :sad:

I'm hoping .9 is enough because 1 was too much....can't really go anywhere from there!
 
Remember that shooting early is a DOSE INCREASE. Even a half hour makes a difference. While PZI is flexible, you don't want to get into the habit of making these types of changes frequently, as it can lead to bouncing, especially if insulin is still on board. Please wait until the full 12 hours before you shoot, okay? Reds or not, you need to let the bounce clear. Don't panic even if he's in the red. If you do need to get back on schedule, try making changes in 15 min. increments over several days if you can.
 
I don't know that I see a bounce here. You are talking about an increase of only around 150 points over a couple of hours. If he zoomed up within an hour all the way to reds when you don't normally see reds, then I'd call that a bounce.

You seem to be hovering the doses around 1u-1.5u which isn't that much of a change really. Most of your changes are several days in between, and when they are not, it is in reaction to a high preshot, which is kosher to do with PZI. Looks to me like you are lacking duration here imo. I have been toying with the idea, and bouncing it off of others, of suggesting TID early on for some people because of how well it works for just about everyone that tries it. What do you think? Does your schedule allow for TID dosing? You would take your total daily dose and divide by three instead of by two to get your dose for each 8 hour cycle.
 
I'm 4 hours off schedule since I couldn't shoot because of the PMPS on the 21st. I had to shoot his AMPS this afternoon at the same time as last night but that's only because I couldn't get home in time to do it. Tomorrow I will decrease time by 15 mins then.

Kelly & Oscar said:
You seem to be hovering the doses around 1u-1.5u which isn't that much of a change really. Most of your changes are several days in between, and when they are not, it is in reaction to a high preshot, which is kosher to do with PZI.

Yes, all dose changes were in reaction to a PS # and ran by at least one person here on the boards beforehand.

Looks to me like you are lacking duration here imo. I have been toying with the idea, and bouncing it off of others, of suggesting TID early on for some people because of how well it works for just about everyone that tries it. What do you think? Does your schedule allow for TID dosing? You would take your total daily dose and divide by three instead of by two to get your dose for each 8 hour cycle.

I'm not sure I could do the TID. I've got a 1 yr old and an 8 yr old who is autistic who has a lot of appointments and school is getting ready to start back. I just don't know if it would be doable for our family (mainly me because I'm the one taking care of Lucky 100%) So with doing TID, you would be giving insulin every 8 hours? If I did try TID, it would have to be around the middle of August when things calm down here a bit and my son is back in school. I'll keep it in mind and read on it some more!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top