Amanda and a Loudogg
Member Since 2017
July 16, 2019 Condo - Vet visit with Bella
Good morning everyone!
Lou is still on the 2.0u dose, but giving every indication that he may be earning himself a reduction any day now. He had gone 4.5 days with all green BGs. I'm annoyed with myself for breaking that streak by testing at +3 last night (BG 134) when I had seen him finish his preshot meal a half an hour before. Oh well. Can't really be too upset when he came down beautifully. He's never earned a reduction that way, but that isn't to say it isn't possible someday.
We still haven't started Bella on the Denamarin for her increased ALT value. My research indicates the best way to give her the med is to pill her. I can only imagine what a beast she'll be, so I've been putting it off like a weeny. That and the dosing an hour before feeding/BG check is throwing me off (always too early and too late when I think about it). I've gotten myself a 10mL syringe from work to give her some water afterwards. I can pick up some pill pockets, but I think I need to see how she does with the pilling first. I've told myself I'm absolutely going to do it tonight, no chickening out.
I hope you all are having a wonderful weekend so far. I went to my sister and brother-in-law's 10-year anniversary party yesterday, and it was an amazing feeling to get away from Lou for a few hours and not worry about how he's doing. It was pretty liberating, as silly as that may sound.
I hope you all have a fantastic Sunday and your kitties surf safely!


Good morning everyone!
Lou is still on the 2.0u dose, but giving every indication that he may be earning himself a reduction any day now. He had gone 4.5 days with all green BGs. I'm annoyed with myself for breaking that streak by testing at +3 last night (BG 134) when I had seen him finish his preshot meal a half an hour before. Oh well. Can't really be too upset when he came down beautifully. He's never earned a reduction that way, but that isn't to say it isn't possible someday.
We still haven't started Bella on the Denamarin for her increased ALT value. My research indicates the best way to give her the med is to pill her. I can only imagine what a beast she'll be, so I've been putting it off like a weeny. That and the dosing an hour before feeding/BG check is throwing me off (always too early and too late when I think about it). I've gotten myself a 10mL syringe from work to give her some water afterwards. I can pick up some pill pockets, but I think I need to see how she does with the pilling first. I've told myself I'm absolutely going to do it tonight, no chickening out.
I hope you all are having a wonderful weekend so far. I went to my sister and brother-in-law's 10-year anniversary party yesterday, and it was an amazing feeling to get away from Lou for a few hours and not worry about how he's doing. It was pretty liberating, as silly as that may sound.
I hope you all have a fantastic Sunday and your kitties surf safely!




