7/21 FCC AMPS 142, +2 103, +5 90

I have 100 strips for this meter left. It's been having battery problems and I'm just trying to think of any difference between what is happening now vs even a few days ago.

This problem is new. I would say two or three days? I do know I always test the same ear and I used to alternate, but he seems to really dislike me doing the left one so I figure I should stick to the right.

I though the problem was that he wouldn't sit for you to test and/or it take several attempts to poke/get blood? Are you saying the problem is not that but the meter? Sorry, I am a little confused.

I alternate ears as well as the edges - inner and outer. So I go, Right Outer, Left Outer, Right Inner, Left Inner.
 
Maybe his ears are a bit sore. I put Vaseline on Chloe's sometimes when I feel like I've been a bit rough on her.

No other symptoms you've noticed? Chloe stopped hanging out on my lap recently and then sleeping under furniture. Eating, drinking, litterbox all looked normal, but it turns out she had a UTI. She wasn't peeing more often, but definitely in larger amounts. And I didn't notice her drinking more because I had been adding more water to her food.

I hope he comes around soon :(

I will put some Vaseline on this morning. I will also try and pay extra attention to his peeing. Since I switched him to his new litter it's difficult to judge quantity. Which I know is not a good thing. He was purring again this morning, but stopped just now. Hopefully it comes back.

I though the problem was that he wouldn't sit for you to test and/or it take several attempts to poke/get blood? Are you saying the problem is not that but the meter? Sorry, I am a little confuse

Yes. The problem is he won't sit still and last night just straight up wouldn't allow it. In terms of the meter I was just trying to think of anything I could change that might make a difference. I apologize for confusing things.

I used to alternate, but he would turn around and make it clear he didn't want me to touch his left one. Maybe I'll force the issue a couple times and see if that changes.

I'm still not sure what I should do this morning.
 
So he sat for two tries and then refused. I can't blame him. I didn't get enough blood the first time (I think it was too far on the outside). I let him go and game him freeze dried chicken. Then the batteries diedon the second time (changed last night) and he would have none of it. I honestly think if I can leave him be for today he will let me do it tonight or at least for all of tomorrow. I thought maybe give him one unit one more time, feed and try for a PMPS and decide based on that? Maybe try the PMPS half an hour early too?
 
I am going to bite the bullet and get a drugstore meter today and order the bravo a bit later after this has all settled down.
 
I didn't get enough blood the first time (I think it was too far on the outside).
Sometimes you have to "milk" the ear to get make the blood drop bigger. I don't know how to describe that :-) Kind of massage the blood out.

I thought maybe give him one unit one more time, feed and try for a PMPS and decide based on that? Maybe try the PMPS half an hour early too?
Yeah, give him 1U and stick to LC. I don't think you need higher carbs on this dose.

I am going to bite the bullet and get a drugstore meter today and order the bravo a bit later after this has all settled down.
Do you think just new batteries for the meter would solve the problem?
 
Sometimes you have to "milk" the ear to get make the blood drop bigger. I don't know how to describe that :) Kind of massage the blood out.

I've tried milking, but he has never let me do that. Sometimes I can get away with folding it. He's always disliked his ears being touched so it's no surprise he's finicky. I don't understand how I am getting it wrong so often when it was fine before. I believe I have probably created this problem by having issues whilst doing so many tests during the day.
Yeah, give him 1U and stick to LC. I don't think you need higher carbs on this dose

I've done that and will start a new thread tonight or later in the day if I manage to get him then.

Do you think just new batteries for the meter would solve the problem?

I don't see how because it isn't that I can't get the reading from the stick, but that the batteries have died a couple of times during the whole process. It leads me to believe there is something wrong with the meter because I have changed the batteries probably three times in the last two weeks. Once they only lasted 24 hours and I wasn't having these issues of not getting back readings. There can only be so many faulty batteries.

I'm wondering if the extra beeping has made him sensitive?

At this point I'll do anything I can to get him back on track. I was just so happy to see those numbers recently and I'm sure they are going to be bouncing around for awhile now. I will move to SLGS if I have to, but I want to try everything I can to stay on TR.

Thank you.
 
Check your meter manual if you can turn the sound off! Chloe HATED the beeping - which I can’t blame her because their ears are so much more sensitive than ours. That was one of the first settings I looked for.
 
Just catching up. I had the sound off on my meters as well. I didn’t know what else to suggest. Maybe see which meter other Canadians are using. It seems like the newer ones require more blood than tge older ones which is sad. :bighug:
 
Back
Top