7/21 Ella PMPS 295+1=309+2=290

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/21 Ella 59 (dosing advice)

she was 153 at +10 ad she woke me up for food so I gave her a wee snack. stalling right now.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella 59 (dosing advice)

I would stall a bit (without feeding), and see if she goes up into the 60s, and then shoot her normal dose, and let her earn her reduction this cycle if that is what she has planned.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella 59 (dosing advice)

and if she keeps coming down? she ususally doesn't go on the rise when I stall. I know stalling acts like a reduction as well.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella 59 (dosing advice)

she is 37 now!!!! half an hour past the last test. Do I give her hc?
 
Re: 7/21 Ella 59 (dosing advice)

I am assuming you will be home to monitor Ella, today, and have plenty of strips and HC, MC, etc.
I would see if she's coming up, and if she hits the 60s, then shoot her normal dose. If you don't feel comfortable with that, then shoot what you feel comfortable with. We don't normally suggest stalling and reducing a dose all in the same cycle.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella 59 (dosing advice)

tpr said:
she is 37 now!!!! half an hour past the last test. Do I give her hc?
Oh, I do have to starting using the "quote" function, now. You just type faster than I do.

Yes, give her some HC, and she just earned the reduction. You can bring her BG up and then give her the new dose.
Please test again in 30 minutes after eating, and post the number.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

Hi Dyana:)

Just read the sticky on how to handle low numbers. It says if she is in 40 or dropping give 1-2 tsp lc and then re-test. I make sure she's on the rise before shooting right or do I just give her hc and shoot the dosecrease right now?
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

tpr said:
Hi Dyana:)

Just read the sticky on how to handle low numbers. It says if she is in 40 or dropping give 1-2 tsp lc and then re-test. I make sure she's on the rise before shooting right or do I just give her hc and shoot the dosecrease right now?

You could give her LC, but since she's in the 30s and dropping, I would give her some HC, just a bit (like a tablespoon), and see if you can get her up into the 70s, or so. I would shoot the new dose, when she gets into the 70s. Lets see what the next test is. I'll go make some ~O) and stay with you.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

I gave her 2 tsp of the lc. if I give her hc than i would be shooting a food spike, no?
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

I'm just saying shoot at the 70s now, as opposed to saying shoot if she gets into the 60s before, because she didn't have food on board before, and now she'll be food influenced.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

tpr said:
I gave her 2 tsp of the lc. if I give her hc than i would be shooting a food spike, no?
She's going to have a food spike to a degree anyway, as she just ate some food.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

Sorry Dyana, I have a massive migraine so I'm not functioning so well at the moment. Can you please clarify: If I give her hc and she goes into the 70's , I should shoot her new dose? Or am I waiting to see if she goes into the 70's with the lc and stalling?

I'm so nauseous and head is pounding.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

she doesn't spike so high on lc but yes you're right:)

edited to add: just tested her and she is at 39.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

tpr said:
Sorry Dyana, I have a massive migraine so I'm not functioning so well at the moment. Can you please clarify: If I give her hc and she goes into the 70's , I should shoot her new dose? Or am I waiting to see if she goes into the 70's with the lc and stalling?

I'm so nauseous and head is pounding.
I'm sorry. I'm only coffee deprived. I hope you feel better.

Look at your ss on the PM cycle of July 11th. I think it was Greg that was shooting. You want to try to get a nice green cycle like that. I would give her her new reduced shot as soon as it is safe to do so, but you will have to keep testing. Are you up for testing, okay? I think if she gets to 70 or above, on the food, whether it's LC or HC, then you should shoot the dose. When is the next test?
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

just tested her and she is 39. more lc? i am home to monitor.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39(dosing advice)

ok. should i give her more lc or just go to the hc?
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

I would give her a little HC, myself, but that's up to you. You don't want her to get too full, as you may have to feed her often through this cycle, little bits at a time. Is she eating okay, this morning, so far?
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39(dosing advice)

Hi Jane,

Yes, I will be giving her the dose reduction. Just waiting to give it when she's on the rise.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39(dosing advice)

she is starving but i will have to syringe the hc as she hates it. that's why i was thinking more lc as she will eat it on her own and it doesn't spike her too much.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +12=59+12.5=37!!! (dosing advice)

Dyana said:
I would give her a little HC, myself, but that's up to you. You don't want her to get too full, as you may have to feed her often through this cycle, little bits at a time. Is she eating okay, this morning, so far?

I'd give a teaspoon of HC or even just the gravy, since that's where the carbs are. Good eye on that 11th July cycle, Dyana. Just reviewing Ella's SS. Where's your profile, Tamara? I can't find it.

Jane
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39(dosing advice)

tpr said:
she is starving but i will have to syringe the hc as she hates it. that's why i was thinking more lc as she will eat it on her own and it doesn't spike her too much.

If you want to avoid the stress of syringe-feeding you could add a drop of karo to half a teaspoon or so of LC food and see if she eats it, perhaps?
Dyana is right to ask for a re-test - that would be ten minutes from now, k?

Jane
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39(dosing advice)

I don't have a profile :oops:

what would you like to know..I have time :-D

I just doled her out 2 tsp of lc and will re-test in 15. If she drops I will give her hc. How abot that? She hates the gravy too:( Either way I have to syringe it.
She reacts pretty well to hc and karo so I know I can bring her up and she was stable at the last test.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39(dosing advice)

tpr said:
I don't have a profile :oops:

what would you like to know..I have time :-D

I just doled her out 2 tsp of lc and will re-test in 15. If she drops I will give her hc. How abot that? She hates the gravy too:( Either way I have to syringe it.
She reacts pretty well to hc and karo so I know I can bring her up and she was stable at the last test.

Naughty, not having a profile :mrgreen: Please consider posting one, ok? It will help tremendously when one wants to get a reminder of Ella's background and so on. It's easy to set up: Setting up an FDMB Profile

Coming up on test time now. If you're there watching Ella, and you're confident to do so, I think you're doing fine on feeding decisions so far. Let's see where we are next test.
Jane
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39(dosing advice)

You're off for the summer, right? So, your shot time is pretty flexible? I just want to know how much "play time" you have in your shot schedule.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39(dosing advice)

yes, i'm off :-D i'm like an elastic band right now but the migraine is taking a toll i must say.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39(dosing advice)

tpr said:
+13=43. More lc?

If she doesn't seem very full yet, then considering she's not dropping anymore and there's a tiny tiny rise, you might be ok giving a bit more LC. Since she won't take HC voluntarily, you'd advoid extra stress giving her something she'll eat on her own. Either way, I'd retest in 15-20 minutes.

Is there any HC she *will* eat?
And will you try to set up a profile pleeease :mrgreen:

Jane
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

How about a touch of lc with a drop of honey on it?
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

I can add a bit of karo to her food but i'm worried that when she rises, I will be shooting a food spike. I guess the lc will spike her as well. lantus sure does last long in her system. we've seen this before:)

Jane, i will make her up a profile. I feed her wellness 4% at ps,+1,+2 and she sometimes gets a snack at +6 when I'm on holidays or +9.5 when I'm working.
She was dx with pancreatitis in decmemebr and has been diabetic ever since. No other health issues. Joined FDMB in March:) There's the short form profile:)
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

Dyana said:
How about a touch of lc with a drop of honey on it?

:smile: Great minds think alike, and whatnot, Dyana!

tpr said:
I guess the lc will spike her as well. lantus sure does last long in her system. we've seen this before:) Jane, i will make her up a profile. I feed her wellness 4% at ps,+1,+2 and she sometimes gets a snack at +6 when I'm on holidays or +9.5 when I'm working. She was dx with pancreatitis in decmemebr and has been diabetic ever since. No other health issues. Joined FDMB in March:) There's the short form profile:)

Great, Tamara, thanks!
So you'll re-test and re-post like you just did, yes?

Jane
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

yes she's eating lc now. we are in a good position for feeding her as this is her normal feeding shecdule. we are 1.20 past her regular shot time. after she eats this round (2 tsp) i will re-test. jane, she doesn't like any hc or mc. she doesn't even like soft food. she was/is a dry addict.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

Come on, Ella, up ya go.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

ok, she's 50 now. sorry dyana, in retrospect, i should i have just given her hc and shot her when she got to 70. now we're totally off schedule. can i shoot her now and give her mc? there is no way she will be able to wait unitl 8:30am to eat tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

How about, give her some MC, and test again in 20 minutes? She's rising, but I would feel more comfortable if she was a little higher, although the Lantus will take about 2 hours before onset, in most cats (which Ella is not).

If you end up shooting at 9:00am (are you in EST?, I forget), you can give her PM shot a little early depending upon her numbers tonight. And how about getting up at +8 (5:00am?) tomorrow morning, and feeding her then? Maybe, then she won't be so hungry for the late AMPS tomorrow morning. You can keep adjusting your shot schedule back in 15 minute increments, or by a max of 30 minutes per day, unless you get a number over 300 tonight, and can shoot 1 hour early, or something. Sorry, if that's confusing.

Come on up, Ella! Be a good girl.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

tpr said:
ok, she's 50 now. sorry dyana, in retrospect, i should i have just given her hc and shot her when she got to 70. now we're totally off schedule. can i shoot her now and give her mc? there is no way she will be able to wait unitl 8:30am to eat tomorrow.

Since she's not really risen that much yet, I'd be hesitant to shoot the full "regular reduced" dose (which would be 1.0u according to your SS, if I'm seeing it right). Maybe you could shave a bit more than that off the dose. But then I'm a confirmed BCS. Dyana, thoughts?

Jane
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

no , it's not confusing. will give her a bit of mc now. either way this rise in numbers is food influenced a bit. she's gotten 4 tsp since 7:ooish.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

Jack & Jane said:
Since she's not really risen that much yet, I'd be hesitant to shoot the full "regular reduced" dose (which would be 1.0u according to your SS, if I'm seeing it right). Maybe you could shave a bit more than that off the dose. But then I'm a confirmed BCS. Dyana, thoughts?

Jane

I think wait another 15 minutes and see where she's at. I'm more of a BCS and not stall when possible person, but she couldn't have shot that 37 this morning. Hopefully, she'll get up a bit. The long stall, along with the newly reduced dose, I think would be a reduction enough. She'll just have to keep testing for a few hours, or maybe more, during the day.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

I think wait another 15 minutes and see where she's at. I'm more of a BCS and not stall when possible person said:
I'm looking at the SS. Current dose is 1.25u, reduced from 0.5u on the 15th, yes? Or did I miss another reduction? If not, newly reduced dose is 1.0u, yes? Just to make sure I'm on the same page :smile:
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

she is now 66 and i'm going to shoot. i just managed to get in a tsp on mc gravy into her 5 min ago so she will get an added kick in a half hour or so.

brb to answer questions:) THANK YOU Dyana & Jane:)
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

Jack & Jane said:
I'm looking at the SS. Current dose is 1.25u, reduced from 0.5u on the 15th, yes? Or did I miss another reduction? If not, newly reduced dose is 1.0u, yes? Just to make sure I'm on the same page :smile:
Yes, she was 1.50 and reduced to 1.25 on the 15th, so new dose is 1.00 unit. I see a 59 on that ss... time to shoot?
What do you think, Jane?
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

that was old..it's 66. gonna shoot now. i pulled insulin in syringe half hour ago, still good? or pull new? was not in fridge.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

tpr said:
she is now 66 and i'm going to shoot. i just managed to get in a tsp on mc gravy into her 5 min ago so she will get an added kick in a half hour or so.

brb to answer questions:) THANK YOU Dyana & Jane:)
Yay!
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

tpr said:
that was old..it's 66. gonna shoot now. i pulled insulin in syringe half hour ago, still good? or pull new? was not in fridge.
Just do a new dose. It's only 1 unit you're wasting.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

Dyana said:
Jack & Jane said:
I'm looking at the SS. Current dose is 1.25u, reduced from 0.5u on the 15th, yes? Or did I miss another reduction? If not, newly reduced dose is 1.0u, yes? Just to make sure I'm on the same page :smile:
Yes, she was 1.50 and reduced to 1.25 on the 15th, so new dose is 1.00 unit. I see a 59 on that ss... time to shoot?
What do you think, Jane?

Yup, I'd shoot, too. Not sure what you mean by the "59 on the SS", Dyana? Edited to add: You mean the pre-shot on 18th of March?
Jane
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

ok..shot the 1u. She has bouncy face going on so I have a feeling I know where this is heading. If it does happen, I guess I can shoot earlier,right?

I think Dyana was referring to the number I put in my ss for amps this morning. I put it in at 7:00am as I thought I was going to shoot it but forgot to erase it.

Thank you so much for staying with me :-D In retrospect, would it have been better to give her the hc right away and then shoot her when she got in a safer range? Is what we saw in Ella this morning a double dip or was is just a super late nadir? She does tend to dip/dive at the end of her cycles.
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

how do i update my ss? where do I put it my +12 and 13?
 
Re: 7/21 Ella +11:45=59+12:15=37 +12:45=39 +13=43(dosing adv

Ah okay. I didn't see your SS early this morning. Remember to update now. And speaking of updating: I would put the excess BG test results in the Remarks-section and add an asterisk or maybe put it in bold to have it noticed a bit. I'd wait on the decision regarding tonight's shot - again I'm not sure there but I'll give it some thought as I'm sure others will.

I'm not sure about the double-dip vs. very late nadir question... I will have another look at your SS and try to do some comparative interpreting :-) I'm glad you came through this cycle so well and you're very welcome for the company and input. Anytime.
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top