7/21 Eddie AMPS 99, +2.5/37, +6/64, +10/84, PMPS 156, +6/164

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 6/28 Condo

TODAY: AMPS 99, +2.5/37 :shock:, +3/45, +3.5/67, +4/38 :o, +4.5/51, +5/45, +5.5/45, +6/60, +6.5/52, +7/64, +7.5/65, +8/62, +8.5/58, +9/59, +10/84, +11/102, PMPS/156, +1/274, +2/251, +4/190, +5/196, +6/164, +7/155

Hi LL! I haven't posted an Eddie condo since the end of June. I've been popping in to see how the LL crowd has been doing, but there hasn't been a whole lot to report on the Eddie front. My intention was to start posting his condos again when he started to gain some ground. That came a little sooner than I anticipated. :mrgreen:

The last time I posted, we were struggling to make any headway with Eddie's numbers. You might remember Eddie had started to rapidly go down the dosing scale at the end of May/early June, then he started bouncing more and more. We started coming back up the dosing scale (fairly quickly), and got new insulin. Between fresh juice and more juice, Eddie started seeing better cycles more consistently at 2.5u. I pulled up the patience pants and held on to 2.5u for about 20 cycles or so to really let Eddie settle in and then bit the bullet and increased to 2.75u to try to flatten the bounces more and hopefully get some better duration. Since then, Eddie has really seemed to like 2.75u. He's been having lots of good cycles without nadirs that are too low (generally), and with a lot less bouncing. He's spending much more time under renal threshold and in normal numbers. He's had 12 shots at 2.75u including this morning's shot.

I had decided that we would use the more aggressive 3 below 50 rule for reductions. He previously hit 41 on this dose a few days ago. Eddie had an awesome flat green cycle last night, and a nice preshot this AM. In hindsight, I might have been able to prevent the CPCPC this morning, had I been able to drag myself out of bed a little earlier to get a +1 and a +2 rather than waiting until my out the door test at +2.5. Eddie's never dropped this low this early in the cycle on me before. I didn't see this one coming. Usually his drops come off a dropping green pre-shot or when he's bounce clearing. Or, maybe I would have come home to find him in the 20's. Either way, I had to call in to work this morning. Unfortunately, boss is not impressed today. I did run to the office to grab some things that have to be prepared for this afternoon. I REALLY somehow have to get back to work by 11:30. I warned DH that I may need him to trade off with me at lunch time.

A couple observations lately on Eddie's patterns -- he often doesn't seem to be getting much (if any) food bump at pre-shot time. He seems to actually be dropping pretty often by +2 these days. I'm not sure if that means his pancreas is helping out more these days or what. Another thing I'm seeing pretty frequently is what looks like a double dip. For example, last night his +8 was 128, so I figured he'd be up quite a bit higher this morning. I suppose it could also be little mini-bounces that are clearing by the end of the cycle.

Clinically, Eddie's doing great! He's been more playful of late, which has been the last thing to come back. :-D

I think I should be fine handling Eddie's numbers this AM, although I'm surprised that it's taking a bit more effort than usual to get him to come up and stay there.

:?: On dose...I'm assuming that the 30's this morning warrant an automatic reduction. Should I take the full quarter unit reduction to 2.5 or should I shave? I was so disappointed by losing ground so rapidly last time we started reducing, I really want to avoid doing that all over again if at all possible (within safety reason of course).

Any observations or input is greatly appreciated! :-D
 
Re: 7/21 Eddie AMPS 99, +2.5/37 - update/dose question

It's not recommended that you shave the dose with numbers below 40 -- especially with a kitty that's within the first year of diagnosis. I'd strongly encourage you to take the full 0.25u reduction.

Just as an FYI, since this looked like one of the first times you shot a green pre-shot number, it's good to consider getting those early tests in.
 
Re: 7/21 Eddie AMPS 99, +2.5/37 - update/dose question

Thanks Sienne.

Given that he's not coming up and staying up real easily this morning, I'm thinking that I definitely need to take the full quarter unit.

I have shot a lot of green pre-shots - back in May - but Eddie's just starting recently to look really good again. :smile: Guess he's got a different game plan in mind this time around. :shock:
 
Re: 7/21 Eddie AMPS 99, +2.5/37 - update/dose question

Hi Jen. I just had the same thing happen. I hated to take the reduction as Max was just starting to look better. Same kind of thing, I missed the quick drop. So far he has bounced rebounded and bounced again. I hope you have a better response. Still I would take the full reduction as it is just to risky not to do it, JMHO.
 
Re: 7/21 Eddie AMPS 99, +2.5/37 - update/dose question

Hi Elise!

I'm not sure I could have stopped a drop like this even if I had caught a +1/+2. After a ton of MC, HC, and even karo, at +8, Eddie's still amazingly just surfing right along in the 60's. I totally expected a bounce by now (anti-jinx) and that I'd be at work by now. :-| This one really caught me by surprise. I sure hope he can hold the reduction.
 
Re: 7/21 Eddie AMPS 99, +2.5/37, +9/59 - update/dose questio

Me too. Fingers and paws crossed. The fact that he hasn't bounced "I think" is a good thing.
 
Re: 7/21 Eddie AMPS 99, +2.5/37, +11/102 - update/dose quest

with a number in the 30's, i'd also take the full 0.25u reduction.

nice to see you and Eddie, Jen! and look how great Eddie's doing! woot!
 
Re: 7/21 Eddie AMPS 99, +2.5/37, +6/64, PMPS 156

Hi Julie! Nice to see you again, too! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

I did manage to sneak into work for about two hours this afternoon to try to earn back a little good will. Ugh. People who don't live in this world don't understand this dance. Everyone in my office knows about Eddie's FD and they have some idea that I follow a really intensive protocol for his disease. Beyond that, they definitely don't get it. My boss is horribly allergic to cats, so I can't bring Eddie in, unfortunately. I can work from home to some extent, and thankfully I had nothing on the calendar I had to be there for in person. DH came home a little early to take over test duties for the afternoon. Eddie amazingly stayed green through +10. At PMPS, he's up to 156, so it looks like the bounce has finally started. Hopefully, he'll clear it quickly, but not too quickly.
 
Re: 7/21 Eddie AMPS 99, +2.5/37, +6/64, +10/84, PMPS 156

It's nice to see that Eddie is doing so well. Congrats on the reducie. I hope the new dose works for Eddie.
 
Re: 7/21 Eddie AMPS 99, +2.5/37, +6/64, +10/84, PMPS 156

my brother in law was the King of Helpful Comments about punkin. My personal favorite was that he didn't understand why we would do this because "there are 100 more just like him at the pound." :shock:

well, my mother-in-law is right up there too - at least 5 times since punkin died last year she has said to me how great it is that we don't have to be home by 7pm to take care of punkin. :evil: that would be how great for HER, not for me, of course.

i could write a book about my in-laws. *sigh* I married a saint, but his family is in a special category all their own . . . .

very few people understand why we would follow TR for our cats. they just don't get it. but i feel sorry for them because it's the closest relationship any of us will ever have with a pet.

it's a good thing you can mostly work from home and just show up for a couple of hours for "goodwill." :lol:

i hope eddie doesn't bounce too high!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top