7-20 Zed Rollercoaster

Bree&ZeddyBoy

Member Since 2020
Hello all,

Could you take a look at Zed's spreadsheet? We seem to be on some kind of roller coaster from blue to black lately. Ideas of what is going on? NDW? Are these all bounces? Insulin too high at 3.25? No other changes to diet, etc. Appreciate it! @Marje and Gracie
 
I don’t think the insulin is too high. You are seeing a bounce from tge green bg which started to clear. Then a bounce from hitting blue.
 
Good to see you, Bree.

You know the thoughts I’m about to offer are simply observations :)

In all the time I’ve been here, I’ve never seen a cat’s BG rise from 24 to 415 in 15 minutes even with massive amounts of syrup and even HC food. I know you tested twice but those two tests just do not fit and a 24 on an AT is truly a number I would expect to see some hypo symptoms. How did Zed act? I’m assuming the code on the AT was correct?

Also, he popped up into black but you raised the dose instead of dropping it, and he still didn’t drop back into green. BTW, if you get numbers below 50, unless you positively know it was a bad test, you absolutely should reduce the dose for safety. Don’t let what looks like bounces cause you to increase the dose. Better to be safe because the dose can always go back up. No one wants to rush to the ER during the pandemic, of all times.

You’ve been doing a great job of testing but one rule I always had with Gracie was I did not stop testing until she was flat when I got a fast dropping BG like the night of 7/18 with Zed. As Elise said, he is now bouncing and we don’t really know how low he went.

One thing to watch him for to see if he does it is if he signals a bounce clearing by a “high before the break”. This means he starts a bounce, as he did yesterday, and he looks like he might clear it but then the BG shoots way up. This could be a sign he’s about to clear the bounce. I’m not saying the 512 this morning constitutes the high before the break because he’s actually been quite flat since the 451 yesterday. But be aware that this occurs.

I would give him a full six cycles after the 171 on 7/18 and see what he does before you think about any increase. If you see any more blue numbers, you’ll want to hold at least ten cycles before increasing.
 
Good to see you, Bree.

You know the thoughts I’m about to offer are simply observations :)

In all the time I’ve been here, I’ve never seen a cat’s BG rise from 24 to 415 in 15 minutes even with massive amounts of syrup and even HC food. I know you tested twice but those two tests just do not fit and a 24 on an AT is truly a number I would expect to see some hypo symptoms. How did Zed act? I’m assuming the code on the AT was correct?

Also, he popped up into black but you raised the dose instead of dropping it, and he still didn’t drop back into green. BTW, if you get numbers below 50, unless you positively know it was a bad test, you absolutely should reduce the dose for safety. Don’t let what looks like bounces cause you to increase the dose. Better to be safe because the dose can always go back up. No one wants to rush to the ER during the pandemic, of all times.

You’ve been doing a great job of testing but one rule I always had with Gracie was I did not stop testing until she was flat when I got a fast dropping BG like the night of 7/18 with Zed. As Elise said, he is now bouncing and we don’t really know how low he went.

One thing to watch him for to see if he does it is if he signals a bounce clearing by a “high before the break”. This means he starts a bounce, as he did yesterday, and he looks like he might clear it but then the BG shoots way up. This could be a sign he’s about to clear the bounce. I’m not saying the 512 this morning constitutes the high before the break because he’s actually been quite flat since the 451 yesterday. But be aware that this occurs.

I would give him a full six cycles after the 171 on 7/18 and see what he does before you think about any increase. If you see any more blue numbers, you’ll want to hold at least ten cycles before increasing.


This is so helpful @Marje and Gracie . When I got the low readings on the AT, he was acting totally normal. Code was accurate, tested with control solution and even tested myself to make sure. It was so odd and not what it seems other experience in a true hypo situation. With the 171 the other night, I will take that advice to keep testing if I see something like that again. Makes total sense. He is hanging in the 300-400's. We are coming up to our 10th cycle this evening. Should I continue to hold it since he had that drop in this period?

Hope you are doing well - I appreciate your additional info via convo. Work has been completely bonkers and I was buried over the weekend.
 
This is so helpful @Marje and Gracie . When I got the low readings on the AT, he was acting totally normal. Code was accurate, tested with control solution and even tested myself to make sure. It was so odd and not what it seems other experience in a true hypo situation. With the 171 the other night, I will take that advice to keep testing if I see something like that again. Makes total sense. He is hanging in the 300-400's. We are coming up to our 10th cycle this evening. Should I continue to hold it since he had that drop in this period?

Hope you are doing well - I appreciate your additional info via convo. Work has been completely bonkers and I was buried over the weekend.
If you don’t see any BGs below 200 (and I mean more than just a quick dip below 200 and then back up), I’d increase the dose by 0.25u to 3.5u tomorrow morning but not before. You want to be sure he has six cycles to clear a bounce before you increase. Some cats take less but some need the entire six cycles.

Those AT numbers are odd. Of course, it wouldn’t tell you anything reliable if you tested yourself as it is a pet meter :p:woot:

And it’s time to start a new condo. Thank you and paws crossed.
 
If you don’t see any BGs below 200 (and I mean more than just a quick dip below 200 and then back up), I’d increase the dose by 0.25u to 3.5u tomorrow morning but not before. You want to be sure he has six cycles to clear a bounce before you increase. Some cats take less but some need the entire six cycles.

Those AT numbers are odd. Of course, it wouldn’t tell you anything reliable if you tested yourself as it is a pet meter :p:woot:

And it’s time to start a new condo. Thank you and paws crossed.

I will start a new convo, but just wanted to say thanks for the dosing advice. I test myself on the alphatrak with his code every time I open strips to get a baseline for some kind of comparison should something like this happen. I know I am not a cat, contrary to popular belief.:cat::cat::cat:
 
I will start a new convo, but just wanted to say thanks for the dosing advice. I test myself on the alphatrak with his code every time I open strips to get a baseline for some kind of comparison should something like this happen. I know I am not a cat, contrary to popular belief.:cat::cat::cat:
Thank you and you’re welcome. I think all us cat lovers were probably cats in some previous life.
 
Back
Top