7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 +1.5/165 +4/187

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
yesterday condo [urlhttp://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75319#p815257][/url]

I'm still not getting it...insulin keeps going up, up, up and BG's are the same??? At what dose do I stop? 3u seems like a lot to me.
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215

Hi Jen,

3u isn't really an extra high amount. Racci is now taking 3u and was taking 5u when she ate dry food. It all depends on what their needs are, what they eat, how their individual body makes insulin. Does he eat a lo carb wet food? How about snacks? Do you feed only twice a day or several small meals? A lot of us have found several small meals best because it allows their pancreas & liver to work more efficiently.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215

It's not an unusual dose. A lot of cats go up this high or more before you reack the magic dose. If there is an infection or other problem it can keep BGs up/ How are his teeth?
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215

I guess I just get nervous because I know when we get re homing cats that are on 4/5/6/7/8/11 units we always say the cat is on "so much".

He is on low carb 4% wet Friskies with some stella & chewys (which Sienne estimated is 13%) mixed in. He definitely has an IBD issue. Waiting on UTI results. Ordered a probiotic (proviable) hopefully that will help. He eats all day. He is ravenous. I think that has a lot to do with digestive issues, not absorbing what he needs from food, never feeling full. He poops more than he eats. The amounts can be measured in cup sizes. It's always liquid poo :( The stella & chewy's firms it up but it's impossible for him to stay away from the friskies. I think once the IBD issue is better controlled we might see a difference in his BG's. As far as I know his teeth are fine.
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211

I think I've been shooting air. It's so hard to explain, I have 2 pens and 1 is weird that is "sucks' the plunger back in. I just realized tonight that there is nothing in it. I was switching back and forth between pens so now I don't know what Tidus has been getting. His PMPS was 211 and I'm afraid to shoot 3u.

I'm sorry I didn't post this in the condo. We can post there too I just wanted to get your attention. I noticed it was happening and at first didn't think anything of it and continued to use it, thinking it was because of the big air bubble in the pen. THis is the pen that i first used with him and it was left with him at my vets office while he was there for 3 days. It was in the refrigerator (not freezer) from what I know.
I used the other pen thinking this one may have been bad but I didn't write down when I did that (yes, I am already yelling at myself) So tonight I went to use the original and something made me think to push the insulin out and when I did there was nothing. That is why the plunger is getting sucked in, there is no insulin coming out into the syringe. It happened several times but I don't know if there was insulin or not.

I PM"D this to Marje to get her attention and posted here to show what was going on per her advice.

What dose should I give TIdus?
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 Wrong Dose?

Hey Jenn

I dont think you need the 911. Do you have any idea when you last used a good pen? I'm just wondering if you should shoot 2.75u because he was doing well on that so he must have been getting some insulin. You can go back up if you need to.
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 Wrong Dose?

I was thinking the same. I was going to shoot 2.75u if I didn't get anyone here. I really can't remember now that I can't think clearly.
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 Wrong Dose?

Just be sure you monitor him closely....like I said, he did well on it. Give him six cycles and if he's not coming down into blue/green, take him back up to 3u.
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 Wrong Dose?

ok. I shot 2.75 and will monitor closer. thanks. Another learning day!
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 Wrong Dose?

You're welcome. Could you take the "wrong dose" out of the subject line now, please? That way others won't jump in worrying that you are waiting to shoot.

Thanks Jenn!!
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 Wrong Dose?

I've had pens where the same thing happened. Flick the pen -- my guess is there's a bubble that's stuck down by the gasket. If you can get the bubble to move, you should be able to use the pen. If not, I'd call your pharmacy and tell them it's a defective pen. Just don't tell them you're using it for your cat.

Even if the negative pressure pulls the plunger back, you should still be able to tell if there's insulin in the syringe. What happens when you adjust the dose? You should be expelling several drops of insulin.
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 Wrong Dose?

Sienne, what do you mean by
What happens when you adjust the dose? You should be expelling several drops of insulin.
.

Tonight for some reason I went just past the 3 unit mark and I went to "push" the little bit of insulin out to get to the 3u mark and nothing came out. When I pushed more I realized there was nothing at all. I "think" there was insulin some of the other times, but I can't be sure.
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 Wrong Dose?

If on night other than tonight, when you went to push some of the excess insulin out of the syringe, you should have seen insulin coming out. If, like tonight, nothing came out, then there was a problem. If you can't be sure, I don't know what to say.
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 Wrong Dose?

Am I supposed to be pushing insulin out of the syringe each time? I don't usually unless I fill past the line I need to be at. I thought if there is no air bubble/not a big one you didn't have to do that/push some out?
 
Re: 7/20 Tidus AMPS 215 +8.5/134 PMPS 211 Wrong Dose?

Generally, you want to over draw the amount you want and then "dial in" the actual dose. I twist the plunger to get the accurate dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top