7/20 Skooter PMPS 247 +2 206 +4 143 +5 132

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Another Eventful Condo Yesterday

PMPS - 218
+2 - 146
+3 - 91
+3.5 - 89
+4 - 105
+5 - 101
+6 - 98
+6.5 - 87
+7 - 115


I woke up to the site of Skooter with a mouse in his mouth and while I am glad he is starting to feel better.....GROSS!

I did put out his last frozen food last night and he is beyond not impressed....even once I took the water out, so I think the princess-y attitude (yes, I know he is a boy), will require me to get a auto feeder much sooner than I had wanted to. Oh well.....I need him to eat.....


I sure hope he allows me to go out for a few hours to go grocery shopping....last night was no fun without any chocolate! I also need to get new jeans as after I got home from being out and about and finishing errands, I went to change my pants and there was a rather large whole in the back of my jeans. I sure hope whoever got to see that show enjoyed it. How did I not notice the breeze?!?!

It looks like he cleared his bounce fairly quickly....I am not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing, but I guess we shall see...since I am within the first hour, I am thinking I will run out and treat myself to a quick breakfast....


Wishing one and all in LL a happy Sunday and safe surfing to all the kitties
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215

A little bit of a rise at +1, that's OK, Skooter, but time to head back down. Better he catches the mouse than having the mouse runnign around... :lol: Quickly clearing bounces is a good thing, hopefully that means he is thinking about not bouncing at all. Paws crossed! You are stylin', Molly, with a hole in your jeans. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215 +3 87

Dear Lord....is he trying to work himself another reducie?!?!?!?

A drop if 128 mg/dL in two hours?!

He certainly took your advice Liz! Should I be going for a +3.5 at this point to see how much more he falls? I am also guessing it might be a good idea to give him a few teaspoons of LC food?
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215 +3 87

Yes, I'd give him some food to try to get him to surf. And don't forget his Mr. Greenie! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215 +3 87

I think I was just so surprised by his significant drop, I forgot all about Mr. Greenie!!!

I am a few minutes away from the +3.5....once I have done that I will give him 2 teaspoons of LC and retest in 30 minutes....I might have to see if any of my family members would be willing to go pick me up some more food as I didn't realize how low I was getting......

I have some 3 oz cans of beef, duck and rabbit....I believe someone said not to give the rabbit, which is fine, but not sure if I want to be introducing new proteins just yet.....
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215+3 87 +3.5 87+4 96 +5 112 +8

LOVING these numbers.....I just hope he doesn't decide to crash tomorrow whilst I am at work :sad:

I "treated" myself to NCIS seasons 5 and 6....why I don't just get all of them at once, I have no idea, but oh well lolol....

Skooter is using his little bed more often, which is nice to see as well


confused_cat STUPID QUESTION TIME confused_cat

So I have been trying to read as many condos as possible and spreadsheets so I can learn what I can. I even try to answer people's questions in my head, before reading the more experienced people's response to see if my answers match yours. (They are starting to more and more, go me!)

Recently, I have seen an increase in people talking about expressing anal glands. I have never done that with Skooter, is this something that is more common when on wet food? Should I be bringing him in to have his gland expressed?
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215+3 87 +3.5 87+4 96 +5 112 +8

On the stupid question (which we don't believe in...no question is stupid)

Only if he's showing signs he needs it. Most of the time, as a cat poops, it "expresses" the anal glands at the same time. Sometime infection can get in there and cause problems or for any number of reasons, things aren't working the way they're supposed to so the glands start to get fuller and fuller making the cat uncomfortable. (lots of times you'll see "butt scooting" when they're trying to express them on their own)

Congrats on Mr. Greenie visiting again too!!
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215+3 87 +3.5 87+4 96 +5 112 +8

Yes, I was excited for a visit for second cycle in a row....A NEW RECORD lol

I am going to be bringing him into the vet to weigh him this week, so then I can get a scale and have a comparison so I don't freak out if the weights are too off.

He hasn't shown any signs of issues with the anal glands, so I think I am a-ok. I just wanted to make sure that it wasn't something I should be looking at more closely now that he is on the wet food. I know that wet food is best, but I am guessing there may be some drawbacks or things I should be looking for now that he is on wet food vs the dry food. And of course, once he gets moved to a raw diet, I am sure there will be even more to learn lol
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215+3 87 +3.5 87+4 96 +5 112 +8

Thanks for stopping by my condo. Skooters numbers looked pretty good today. A drop of 93 point per hour is a lot! looks like you were able to bring him back up nicely though.

One thing I do now if Rocky's BG goes down by too much in one hour, like by 40 points or more, is I fed him a smaller amount of HC at that first number that is too low. I do this because I can give him less food so that way he doesn't gain so much weight from being fed many, many, spoonfuls of LC to bring his BG back up. The one thing I have to keep in mind though for Rocky is that the HC doesn't pump his BG number up immediately. It would be about the same BG at the next reading whether I fed him LC, MC, or HS. For Rocky, I know now that if I give too much of the HC I'm going to see a much, much higher number, (usually in the 300s), a few hours after giving him that food.

Also, there are a couple of reasons for cat butt scooting. ( I know that Skooter is not doing that.) A cat will do the butt scoot when they are dehydrated and they are having a very difficult time getting a rock hard piece of poop out of their anus. I've seen this many times. It has nothing to do with expressing the anal sack. It means that the cat needs more fluids if it's getting sub-qs, or it needs more water in it's diet. I always add 1 or 2 tablespoons of water to all of my cat's wet food. And, if it's a strictly indoor cat and it is not treated monthly for fleas, the cat is likely to have fleas which means it also has worms. If the cat has worms it will also sometimes do the butt scoot.
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215+3 87 +3.5 87+4 96 +5 112 +8

confused_cat
QUESTION TIME AGAIN​
confused_cat


Greetings.....

So once again, I have been looking through the forums and just read a thread that scared the living crap out of me of a cat going hypo and still getting their insulin. I do know NOT to shoot at the low number this cat was shot at, however, a MC food was mentioned. I did not want to interrupt that thread to ask the question due to the emergency nature of the situation (which by the way, I am not sure how you all manage to do this all the time --- you are amazing!!!)

I realized I do not have any medium carb food in my arsenal. I think I remember it being mentioned before, but with all the information that comes fast and furious, I can't remember. What would be a MC food to get and do I want to try and stay with the same protein I am using for the LC food? I did get the same protein (chicken) for the HC food, but I would like to get some MC food as well. I am assuming the MC food is used in place of the HC food sometimes so 1. the cat does not fill up on the food as quickly and 2. so the rise is more steady and maybe they will not slide back down again?

Thanks again for the answers!!!
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215+3 87 +3.5 87+4 96 +5 112 +8

HA! Sorry Tina I hadn't read your message before posting....

Are there specific brands that are considered MC?
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215+3 87 +3.5 87+4 96 +5 112 +8

Have you seen the chart by Dr. Lisa Pierson at catinfo.org? Amazing web page and she's done an amazing job of compiling the protein, fat, carbohydrate and phosphorus content of just about every brand and flavor of cat food. Here is the food chart. You can also just add a drop or two of karo or honey to LC food to make MC food. We found that switching to HC food for Zener made it hard to go back to MC. He won't eat LC food, except on rare occasions. By the way, it took about a year to convince Zener that wet food was what he had to eat. I'm glad Skooter was quicker. :lol: :lol:
Liz
ETA: I can't remember the exact percentages for LC, MC and HC. Seems like MC is about 8-15% carbs...
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215+3 87 +3.5 87+4 96 +5 112 +8

you can look at the http://www.catinfo.org site food lists and choose a food in the 10-15% range. most people here mean that when they refer to medium carb.

you might/might not need it. it depends on how carb sensitive a cat is. another option is to mix low carb food with either karo syrup or high carb food to get a medium carb.

sometimes it can be very helpful to write the carb % on the can lid when you buy it so later, you don't feed the wrong one by mistake.

good for you for reading other people's condos. that's how you learn. keep asking questions - and thanks for using the ? icon. actually, one of my kittens is a butt scooter and i didn't know all that Chris and Tina mentioned above. he makes me insane doing it - he'll even scoot on chairs. :shock: good thing no one that comes to my house will ever read that! :o

for you, i'd read the "becoming data ready" section of the "shooting and handling low numbers" sticky that has a yellow star and is at the top of this page. Most experienced people will shoot most numbers over 50 at preshot, assuming the cat isn't ill and is eating normally. If you get a low preshot number, post here and ask for advice on how to proceed. don't feed skooter while you're waiting.

the person on main health realized what a mistake it was to shoot the 25 - i'm sure it won't ever happen again. fortunately it looks like the cat is bouncing a bit and hopefully it's going to be a non-event, although sometimes the next cycles are where the consequence of the excessive insulin will show up.
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter AMPS 173 +1 215+3 87 +3.5 87+4 96 +5 112 +8

I was getting nervous the more I read through each one, I would be at the ER vet and most likely getting a speeding ticket as I would have to go right by a police station to get there! I get the money side of it and that must really suck..... UGH!

Skooter seems to be pretty carb sensitive, but I just don't think I have enough info yet to confirm that....unless by reading his spreadsheet you all can say that :)

I have Windows 8 and to say I am not computer savvy is an understatement, so Windows 8 and I are not really getting along as far as viewing stuff lol....

I am hoping to get over to my sister's house this week, where they still have a Windows version I understand and print out all the info I need. I have a laminator at home (oh how I love to do my crafting) and was planning to laminate a lot of the information for myself and making copies and laminating them for Skooter's travel bag that I am ordering/putting together. I am getting a thermal tote to house his insulin, IBD med and food and then a bag that will have his needles, syringes, hypo kit as well. I plan to put laminated copies of how to tell if they are having a hypo, as well as some other information for anyone who is taking care of him.

My sister and her hubby are his primary care takers when I need a cat sitter. They are comfy giving him insulin, but not with home testing -- at least not yet -- which I completely understand. But I want to have tools readily available to them in case they need it. I will also be supplying my FDMB user name, password and what forum to go to if they want/need to get advice from you all. I do not have any trips planned as of yet, but I like to be as prepared as possible.
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter PMPS 247

AMPS 173
+1 215
+3 87
+3.5 87
+4 96
+5 112
+8 168


Hrmph to his 247, but considering at this point I have no idea what that REALLY means, since it is yellow, I shall take it!
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter PMPS 247

Means he's probably bouncing a bit from those greens earlier today!

His body is still very new to "normal" numbers, so anytime you go there, you're likely to see a bounce for awhile
 
Re: 7/20 Skooter PMPS 247 +2 206 +4 143

He sure did listen....hoping he is surfing nicely around the +5 mark so I can go to sleep......
 
Looks like Skooter gave you a pretty blue permission slip to go to bed. He is looking great lately.

I love how eager you are to learn all you can. This whole thing can be pretty overwhelming, and I still feel sometimes like it's above my pay grade, but there are so many great resources here! Skooter is very lucky to have you for his bean. Hope you get a good night's sleep tonight and have a great day tomorrow.
 
Thanks :)

I feel like knowledge is just as important "tool" as is his insulin, syringes, low carb food, etc. So I try to absorb and learn all I can. Also, one day, I would like to be able to give back like all of you have done for me. The more condos and spreadsheets I read the better armed I shall be.

Plus I don't like to "lose" so I plan on Skooter maintaining very well with his diabetes :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top