7/20 Rocky PMPS 62 +1 57 +3.5 32 +5 41 +7 48 +8 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Rocky's BG started to slowly come down last night at PMPS +8. Of course, I did shoot his 94 this morning, and we stayed steady with the skinny 1.50u dose of insulin. I fed him 1/4 can of Wellness Core 8% carbs for his first meal. I think he'll be Ok at least until +2, I need to get BTB right away.

I still have a really bad migraine from yesterday afternoon and I can't take enough charcoal, Benedryl, and Fiorinal, to get rid of it. "Just say no to hummus," as apparently, I am very allergic to chick peas. I ate gobs of hummus with Luke's Rice Chips early yesterday afternoon. I'm sure paying for doing that now. Ughh.

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122031&p=1269442#p1269442

Yesterday's SS
AMBG +12 51 +13 63 + 15 83 +18 125 + 21 150
PMPS 166 +2 132 + 4 105 +6 123 +7.5 122
 
Re: 7/20/2014 Rocky AMPS 94 +1 90 +4 56 +6 87

Thank you Julie and Amy for stopping by. :-D Yes, Rocky has had a great start to his day. I'm so happy that this trend is continuing. My migraine is decreasing, little by little too, but I continue to need the triple whammy of charcoal capsules, ES Benedryl, and Fiorinal, otherwise it will turn around and get worse, again. I went back to bed after Rocky's +1 test with a heating roll around my shoulders and a lavender filled one across my eyes. Both of them seemed to help me, a lot. Also, I'm doing my best to reduce the amount of activities I do today. Not going to push myself to the limit..
 
Re: 7/20/2014 Rocky AMPS 94 +1 90 +4 56 +6 87

Sorry to hear about your migraine, I get them as well and it seems nothing helps them.

Just wanted to stop by and say thanks, by looking at your numbers from shooting in the green zone, makes me a little less nervous to do it when Skooter has a lower (double digit) preshot number.
 
Re: 7/20/2014 Rocky AMPS 94 +1 90 +4 56 +6 87 +8 70

Molly, I wanted to tell you that Rocky's numbers also look a little bit wonky, concerning where he is high and low for the day, because I am still giving him probably just a tad bit more insulin than he needs so that I can keep him in green and blue numbers. I manage this right now by monitoring when he needs to have a little bit higher carb foods. This method works a bit easier for me, in managing Rocky's diabetes.

For example, at AMPS + 4 today he was at 56. I know that he definitely would have gone lower than this in the next hour had I not fed him about (2) tablespoons of an 18% carb food. it bumped his BG up to 87 in two hours. When he was at 87, I then fed him 1/4 can of Artemis, and he only ate about 1/2 of it, so his number dropped back down to 70. I just took the half that he didn't finish and sprinkled it with some Forta Flora and he ate the rest of it. He may go a bit lower now, or a bit higher. If his number goes lower still, I am going to feed him about 1/8 can of a really high HC- like 33%, so that his number will be high enough to give him his PM shot.

This is what has been working best for me for nearly one month now, so this is how I am continuing to manage Rocky's diabetes.
 
Re: 7/20/2014 Rocky AMPS 94 +1 90 +4 56 +6 87 +8 70 +9.5 63

I'm probably going to skip Rocky's PM shot tonight. If his BG remains at 63 or goes higher in the next two hours, I'll give him his shot. He has already eaten the equivalent of 5.5 oz of food, and I'm not going to feed him anymore food this late in his AM cycle. If he goes lower still in this AM cycle, It will be much easier for me to manage his nighttime numbers with a skipped shot, rather than shooting him at 50 and then working to keep his BG elevated.

The other thing is, I've been asked by 3 different rescue groups to trap a colony of 8 to 12 cats, plus four of their kittens, this week before the colony caretakers home is demolished. If I stall for one hour it will put his shot time at 7:30am in the morning, the time I absolutely must be at the SPCA with the cats to have them spayed/neutered. So, delaying the shot is not going to work, for me.
 
Re: 7/20 Rocky AMPS 94 +4 56 +8 70 +9.5 63- may skip PM shot

Beautiful green numbers for Rocky today. You're doing a great job, Tina.

Sending healing vines for your migraine.
 
Re: 7/20 Rocky PMPS 62 +1 57

Thanks Tricia.. the migraine persists, but at least I know even another cause for it's length- lower barometric pressure. We had lots of clouds covering the entire sky here today, and a little bit of rain. It looks like it might stay this way for a few days. It definitely won't be enough rain to help with California's drought though.
 
Re: 7/20 Rocky PMPS 62 +1 57

Well, if it's the weather that's causing your migraine, it will be gone soon. It's supposed to be in the hundreds later this week! :sad: We're in SoCA right now, so I didn't know it was cloudy at home. I hope it stays "cool"a few more days - I really hate the heat. We're headed back up tomorrow.

Sending more healing vines for your head. Hope Rocky gets on his surfboard and stays safe for you so you can get some sleep! :mrgreen:
 
I should have stuck with my gut.. I shouldn't have given Rocky that PM shot tonight when his BG was only at 62. I just had this feeling that he was still headed lower, even 12 hours after his PM shot.. and I was right.

Tomorrow I'll reduce his dose to a fat 1.25u. (It's working better for Rocky to reduce his insulin dose in very tiny amounts.) If his BG isn't up to 100 by his AM shot time, morning, I may skip his morning shot. I haven't decided yet. If he's 100 or higher, I'll definitely give him his AM shot.

Tricia, thank goodness it looks like we won't get up 100°F until this Friday. The sky outside was this lovely fire-pink red across all of the clouds tonight when I went to check on the ferals. It barely sprinkled outside and there was a cool breeze. Gosh darn it though, I still have the headache. But I did just spend 3 hours cleaning up all of the litter boxes and sweeping the floor in the foster room. I'm exhausted.
 
Congratulations on the dosecrease. :) I wish I could see the numbers on the spreadsheet, though. :mrgreen:

You're doing a good job, with Rocky.
 
Hi Dyana, I know that you meant a "reducie," hehe... Thanks!

I apologize for not having the SS complete. There are some missing days in July because I didn't write the dates on a few of the sheets where I wrote the notes. It means I have to fill in the blanks from the FIRST day that I started writing them on paper in my kitchen, rather than work backwards from today.

It's really hard for me with a migraine to sit at the computer for too long, it seems to make the pain worse and the page is pretty blurry.

I promise I'll get to it as soon as I can.. In the meantime, later today I will post all of Rocky's numbers from July 20, 2014 PM cycle. I tested him for nearly every 1/2 hour after PMPS +3. Thankfully, his ears actually look really good!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top