7/20 Max AMPS 121 +3 70 +4 59 +4.5 74 +5.5 68 PMPS 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollymayb

Member Since 2010
G'mornin'

Today's another late day, so I'll be getting in an extra reading this AM, and DH will come home to do the PMPS. Thanks to all who answered my questions yesterday. That makes a lot of sense.

Morning is EVIL. ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) I needs me a quad-grande soy latte.

Yesterday

AMPS 121 (fed 3.25 oz 1% wf)
+3 70 (fed 2 oz 4% wf)
+4 59 (fed 1 Tbs HC wf)
+4.5 74
+5.5 68 (fed 1.5 oz wf)
PMPS 115

Hasta Luego,
Holly
 
Re: 7/20 Max AMPS 121 +3 70

70 @ +3... should I test every hour? I've just given him some ff which is a little higher than what he usually gets. I'm home until +5.5.

Thanks,
Holly
 
Re: 7/20 Max AMPS 121 +3 70

70 is a good number, tho I suppose it could be a little low for a +3...all depends on the cat. If you can get a +4, that would be a good idea. As always, post it once you have it, and hopefully the right eyes will be watching if you need help! :-D
 
Re: 7/20 Max AMPS 121 +3 70 +4 59 dosecrease?

OK, we're at 59 on +4 after food. Should I feed a little HC wet food? If I don't hear back pretty soon, I think I will, and test again at +6. Also, with his #s dipping this low, should we decrease his dose?
 
Re: 7/20 Max AMPS 121 +3 70 +4 59

a little dab of HC on top, and re-test at +4.5 to be safe.

You want him to surf and not have a big drop or rise.

Wait for feedback on dose, or check back before PMPS
 
Re: 7/20 Max AMPS 121 +3 70 +4 59

I dunno about the dose... I worry so much about what will happen when nobody's at home- and that is 75% of the time during the day. It's just Tuesdays and the odd Monday that I'm home like this, and it's lucky that I checked. He was brooding in the laundry room, and didn't come out when I gave Leo a snack, which is a pretty good indicator that he's not feeling great.

When I leave out food, it gets eaten immediately, so not much help for the middle of the day, and we don't have a timed feeder. Have been thinking of one, but on days like today, it's likely that Max wouldn't come out to eat. I'm just so frightened that I might come home, and Max will have Hypo'd...

Jill, I know you're one of the most knowledgeable people on here, but for our peace of mind, do you think we could reduce the dose? Alternately, should I feed more food at AM & PM? Or other suggestions?

As always, Thank-you all. I don't know what we would have done without you lovely ladies (& ocational gentlemen), and furry friends.
 
Re: 7/20 Max AMPS 121 +3 70 +4 59

hollymayb said:
I dunno about the dose... I worry so much about what will happen when nobody's at home- and that is 75% of the time during the day. It's just Tuesdays and the odd Monday that I'm home like this, and it's lucky that I checked. He was brooding in the laundry room, and didn't come out when I gave Leo a snack, which is a pretty good indicator that he's not feeling great.
max's body probably isn't used to what it feels like to be in normal numbers. i noticed that with alex the first time she was on insulin. she seemed to feel "better" when she was in the 100s rather than double digits... which kind of makes sense because high numbers were her "normal" for quite awhile. once i was able to lower her range and keep her there, she became used to being in the 50 - 80 range and loved it! when she rose to anything higher than that she didn't seem to feel good any more. imho, our kitties bodies go through an adjustment period.

When I leave out food, it gets eaten immediately, so not much help for the middle of the day, and we don't have a timed feeder. Have been thinking of one, but on days like today, it's likely that Max wouldn't come out to eat. I'm just so frightened that I might come home, and Max will have Hypo'd...
you're not alone. we've all shared that kind of fear. using a timed feeder has eased the minds of most of our caregivers.

how about trying an experiment on the days you are home monitoring? as max is going low, put food out for him to observe if he'll feed his own curve. most kitties will. for the most part, alex will come to get me when her numbers are dropping. knowing if he'll feed his own curve will make you feel better about the days when you're unable to be there.

Jill, I know you're one of the most knowledgeable people on here, but for our peace of mind, do you think we could reduce the dose? Alternately, should I feed more food at AM & PM? Or other suggestions?
lol! i wouldn't say most knowledgeable, but i've been hanging around for awhile now!

ultimately, all dose decisions are yours to make. however, max is a newly diagnosed kitty who is responding exceptionally well. keeping him in normal numbers overall combined with a lc wet diet is his best chance at going OTJ. this is day 9 on the current dose. there are no indications max has dropped too low on it. the dose is looking good. incorporating the use of a timed feeder may make you feel better.

what is your current feeding schedule?

As always, Thank-you all. I don't know what we would have done without you lovely ladies (& ocational gentlemen), and furry friends.
fdmb is quite the place! a day doesn't go by without learning something new!
 
Re: 7/20 Max AMPS 121 +3 70 +4 59 +4.5 74 +5.5 68

Gotta go to work now, so I've fed a bit more LC food.

Just wanted to point out that Max has been on this dose for 18 days now, but was lowered to 1.0 for 2 days (3 cycles) while at the kitty hotel.

Our feeding schedual is 1/2 can (=3.25 oz) right after his AM & PM shots, as well as a snack (usually about 1 oz) before work (could be 9am, could be 12pm), and before bed (usually about 11pm)

Gotta run!
 
Re: 7/20 Max AMPS 121 +3 70 +4 59 +4.5 74 +5.5 68

yes, i saw the reduction taken for the kitty hotel. he sure has been doing well!

others may have different experiences, but i've found consistency in dose, feeding schedule, and amounts fed (even food fed) make it a whole lot easier to bring numbers down and keep them down. would a timed feeder be something you would be interested in? it could help since your schedule fluctuates.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top