7/20 Joplin PMPS: 330 :-/

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherylockholmes

Member Since 2013
Feeling really discouraged. It seems the higher I go with the insulin, the higher his numbers appear to stay. I don't get it. Is it possible that Lantus doesn't work for every cat? Are there cats that just never become regulated and will have numbers in the 300's for the rest of their lives despite getting insulin? It seems that there is no logical pattern in his numbers since I've started. Is this common? Any thoughts are appreciated. Am I just being inpatient? How long does it usually take to get a cat under control with this? :YMSIGH:
 
Forgot to add, he's still peeing everywhere he wants to all over my house and is up to eating THREE 5.5 oz. cans of food per day while simultaneously LOSING weight. Could something else be going on BESIDES Diabetes?!
 
It can take longer than 5 weeks for a cat's numbers to come down. If you look at lots of spreadsheets you'll see lots of variations.

If you're concerned, I'd talk to your vet. It's not uncommon for a cat that's not regulated to lose weight. The glucose is floating around in the blood vs. getting into the cells. I would encourage you to increase Joplin's dose every 3 days. Holding the dose for longer periods may make it harder to get the numbers to come down.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
It can take longer than 5 weeks for a cat's numbers to come down. If you look at lots of spreadsheets you'll see lots of variations.

If you're concerned, I'd talk to your vet. It's not uncommon for a cat that's not regulated to lose weight. The glucose is floating around in the blood vs. getting into the cells. I would encourage you to increase Joplin's dose every 3 days. Holding the dose for longer periods may make it harder to get the numbers to come down.

Thank you....I will try that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top