7/20 Henry WC. AMPS 400+ +3 261 +6 145 +9 122 PMPS 400+

John & Henry

Member Since 2022
previous: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...400-3-387-6-386-9-400-pmps-436-ket-1-7.265962

Hi everyone,

Sorry I haven't posted sooner. Thank you to @Diane Tyler's Mom & others for keeping me on task -- it means a lot to know others care so much about Henry too. I saw her message last night and updated my spreadsheet, but was too tired to make a post afterwards. Things have been hectic around here lately and honestly the libre makes me kinda lazy about updating the SS since I know all the data is saved and I can just enter it all later (I try to shoot for at least daily, but I did go 2 days recently... sorry.)

Henry has been doing pretty well. His BG ran pretty high for about 5 cycles and his ketones got kind of high at 1.7 for a few days, despite giving subQ fluids during that time in an effort to bring them down. I was pleased to see that they're down to 0.3 tonight and BG has been doing better, but lots of quick bouncing. Going up in the 300s for a couple hours and then quickly coming back down to the 100s and sub-100s, just to repeat the cycle. Would it make sense to feed him some MC when the BG starts to get under say 125 in an effort to avoid bouncing?

Other than that, he's eating his enzymed foods pretty well. At least 6 cans of FF per day, some days more. He really wasn't caring for the Ziwi peak anymore now that he's figured out he can hold out for the FF.

Henry wants to say something:
20220720_231518.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20220720_231518.jpg
    20220720_231518.jpg
    29.8 KB · Views: 179
Hi John Thanks for the update, I'm happy to hear he's eating well and the ketones came down. It's great to see all those greens . That sweet precious face of his!
I think about him everyday John. Don't worry about updating his SS everyday , I was just getting nervous :p Have a nice day John and give Henry lots of kisses for me :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Hi John and I'm happy to see a Henry update too.

Feeding MC to prevent greens is not the way to reduce bouncing. Getting him to spend more time in same greens is how his body will get used to it, and stop bouncing as much.

What guidelines are you currently using about when to use R?
 
What guidelines are you currently using about when to use R?

.1uR >275 .25uR > 325

I had a really rough day today personally and health wise. Took Henry to the vet to get his libre replaced (a day later than it should have been) and got more subQ fluids thank God. He was acting weird today/tonight and just checked and his ketones are 2.7! Highest in almost a month. Gave some fluids. Paws crossed they come down. It's very worrying to me. Say a prayer for him (and me) if your into that. Tomorrow is probably going to be just as challenging as today for me and I won't be able to help him much :(

Vet was very concerned he hadn't gained more weight and wants to get him on budisdone (sorry I don't know how the spell it. The steroid for IBD)
 
John the last update for ketones I can see on the SS is 0.3 at +8 today. Was the 2.7 after that?.
Have you given sub Qfluids today?
I’m sorry you are having a difficult time personally as well. That is tough.
 
John the last update for ketones I can see on the SS is 0.3 at +8 today. Was the 2.7 after that?.
Have you given sub Qfluids today?
I’m sorry you are having a difficult time personally as well. That is tough.
I haven't been able to update the SS in about 36 hours now. That 2.7 was from about 8 hours ago. I gave fluids immediately after that. They must have helped since we're down to 1.6 this morning. Hopefully I'll be able to update the SS this evening. Thank you for the replies Bron and Jan
 
John I'm sorry you're having a rough time personally and health wise. I hope things get better for you and Henry. I'm saying prayers for both of you. You both have to catch a break . Hang in there John you're an amazing dad to Henry . Life can really suck at times I know :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm relieved to hear those ketones have come down. Once you've gotten a chance to update the spreadsheet, let us know, and maybe we can suggest something on the insulin dose. Only when you are well enough of course. Take care.
Vet was very concerned he hadn't gained more weight and wants to get him on budisdone (sorry I don't know how the spell it. The steroid for IBD)
It's spelled budesonide. Typically prednisolone is the steroid of choice for either IBD or small cell lymphoma. But since budesonide is locally acting on primarily the GI system, it is a choice often given to cats who are diabetic or whose heart cannot take pred (like my girl Neko). It's action is not as even as pred, but I can vouch that it can help GI inflammation and Neko felt better within a few days of starting it. Budesonide is less likely than prednisolone to impact blood sugars. It didn't for Neko, but I've seen some for whom it has. If so, you just increase the insulin dose to compensate.

The only down side to starting a steroid is that if at some point Henry is well enough to get a biopsy or endoscopy, he'll have to stop the steroid for a few weeks before hand, as the steroid can mask the problem.
 
Back
Top