7/20 Heart Mid-Vacation Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

dodgingwrenches

Member Since 2010
I'm back home for two nights and one day, and glad to see my mom testing before shooting while I'm away (no spot check though). Check out his SS. I had my mom give him HC food last night since his PMPS was 90. He had gotten two units. This morning, he was at 140 AMPS, and my mom gave him 1 unit only because she didn't want to worry. This evening, his PMPS was 79, so I gave him 0.5 only. At +4 he was at 49. Not sure what dose he "really" got because of the shed. I'm sure some was depleted with the reduced dose this morning from two units down to one. And now he got even less and still dropped below 50. He got some HC food now. I'll see how it goes tomorrow. This dose drops are pretty steep though! Don't get me wrong, I'm THRILLED with his progress, but I don't want him to hypo while we're away Wednesday to Sunday again (NJ and MD, here we come!). Does it happen that some kitties so rapidly go down in dose? I mean, if anyone should do it, it should be Heart. He's still young (six years old) and otherwise was always healthy. This is HC light food induced diabetes (he was skinny, but my other two are chubby)
 
Heart is doing great! Yes, they do sometimes go down rapidly with their dose. Look at my Tom's chart.
Changing food makes a huge difference!
 
Just wondering.....is Heart eating like he usually does?
Sometimes when the bean's are away they don't eat as much which could also be the reason for the lower bg.
You were right to reduce the dose especially without any spot checks.
Have a good time on your vacation. :mrgreen:
 
these numbers sound great! If heart can do it, he needs to whip my mocha into gear as she was only 5.5 when diagnosed .. and she is otherwise healthy too .. she just needs that peer pressure working on her ... have a great vacation!
 
AMPS this morning was 86, so I only gave a 0.5u shot again.

They are fine without their momma, and eat. The see their grandparents every day, so they are used to them (we share a duplex, and while my husband and I are at work during the day, they go upstairs to visit the grandparents). They did miss me though! My husband came inside first while I was clearing out the car. He didn't see a single cat. I walk in, all three come to greet me. He was so jealous :mrgreen:
 
Heart definitely ate too much last night. Too much plastic bag. Had to help him poop it out by pulling three inches of plastic out of his butt. I feel so sick. But now HE'S the one sulking at ME! As if I wanted any part in this??

And I hear someone in the plastic again. Oh lordy...
 
From what you're seeing, I'd really encourage you to reduce Heart's dose when your folks are petsitting. If no one is getting spot checks and with these green numbers, for safety's sake, I'd drop the dose. It's what I do routinely when I have a petsitter caring for Gabby. I'd probably drop the dose to 1.0u or 1.5u. See what others have to say but I really think it's best to have the numbers run a little higher if no one is getting spot checks.
 
yes, please drop the dose considerably since no mid-cycle spot checks will be done while you're gone for the next 5 days. better to run him in higher numbers than low. you'll be able to get him back on track quickly when you get back. things are changing with heart and they're changing fast!

about the ingested piece of plastic bag... any chance you can get him in for an x-ray to make sure all the plastic has passed before you leave again?
things like that can turn into medical emergencies in a blink of an eye.
 
Checking in on Heart from afar :)
He seems to have decided that he really does like green, doesn't he?!
 
If you check my spreadsheet, you'll see that I did drop the dose considerably, and dropped it further when I left town. A week ago he was a 3.25 and he is now at 0.5. I'm just wondering whether such large dose decreases are common because the spreadsheets I've seen so far had much more gradual decreases.

Having two ferrets, I'm an expert in intestinal blockages ha ha! I know the signs to look for, and he's definitely doing great right now, so you don't need to worry about that! :) I'm still cleaning up "skid marks" on the hardwood floors though lol
 
Well, in your case, and EBID (every bean is different) you are away and under certain circumstances, others suggest to lower dose, due to the lack of spot checks while you are away.

I would definately take Sienne's and Jill's suggestion to heart (no pun intended) :lol:
 
dodgingwrenches said:
If you check my spreadsheet, you'll see that I did drop the dose considerably, and dropped it further when I left town. A week ago he was a 3.25 and he is now at 0.5. I'm just wondering whether such large dose decreases are common because the spreadsheets I've seen so far had much more gradual decreases.
yes, i checked your ss before posting and did see the dose was dropped to 0.5u last night.
no, these kinds of decreases are not common. although, every once in awhile we'll see a kitty race down the dosing scale. it remains to be seen if heart will be able to maintain normal numbers on the reduced dose. since the dosing is cumulative with lantus, we're still seeing some leftover shed action at work. fingers crossed!

Having two ferrets, I'm an expert in intestinal blockages ha ha! I know the signs to look for, and he's definitely doing great right now, so you don't need to worry about that! :) I'm still cleaning up "skid marks" on the hardwood floors though lol
happy to hear he's doing well! be sure to let your mom know what the signs are before you leave again...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top