7/20 Darwin: AMPS=86, +2=86, +4=118, +6=147, +9=284, PMPS=311, +2=330 - photo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tasha & Darwin

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

I appreciate all the help last night, he did well overnight, but I was a zombie and didn't post everything to his SS (with how my work day was yesterday, I should have expected a LONG night, lol)

...looks like he's come down again a bit this morning. I'm guessing NS this morning, and reduction tonight if he comes back up?
 
Excitement last night! I would stall, don't feed and retest in like 20-30 minutes :)
For sure! A little happy birthday surprise from Darwin for me :p I'll just test again in a few...I'm cautiously optimistic about a reduction to 0.5u!
 
30 min later: 91...

ETA: Not sure it's worth stalling - I don't know how comfortable I am giving a shot at these numbers, but I am off today, and can test any time he needs it...
 
Last edited:
I hope a more experienced member replies but I would think they'd (more experienced members) want you to still try and give 0.5U (probably full dose of 0.75U but I'm not comfortable telling you that :smuggrin:) today since you'll be home and able to test. And based on his SS he is likely going up and will end up on the beach later without any insulin. Of course you hold the syringe! :)
 
+20 more min
I hope a more experienced member replies but I would think they'd (more experienced members) want you to still try and give 0.5U (probably full dose of 0.75U but I'm not comfortable telling you that :smuggrin:) today since you'll be home and able to test. And based on his SS he is likely going up and will end up on the beach later without any insulin. Of course you hold the syringe! :)

I am home, so I can check him. I just tested again (20 min later, so almost an hour since first test) = 83. I think someone already recommended a reduction to 0.5 after last night. I've never given his shot this late, but I think I can catch up (would be almost an hour late at this point)...
 
I know I've read a delayed shot, within the hour, can also act like another reduction so if you decide to go ahead with 0.5U today you can move PM shot by 15 minutes. So if you're usual shot time is 07:00 and it's 07:45 (Arizona Time), you would move PM shot time to 19:30 and then 07:15 tomorrow morning. :) And probably test at +2 today to see what he's up to :smuggrin:
 
I know I've read a delayed shot, within the hour, can also act like another reduction so if you decide to go ahead with 0.5U today you can move PM shot by 15 minutes. So if you're usual shot time is 07:00 and it's 07:45 (Arizona Time), you would move PM shot time to 19:30 and then 07:15 tomorrow morning. :) And probably test at +2 today to see what he's up to :smuggrin:

Maybe I'll give that a go then. It is right at 7:50 (AZ time now), and he's looking very forward to breakfast. As long as I do that, I can make 7:15 work tomorrow (I work at 7:30, but only 3 min drive). I'll probably get a little paranoid, so at least +2 check :smuggrin:

Thanks!!
 
Ok. I didn't get a chance to check in. With SLGS, if the BG is under 90, it's an automatic skip. With TR, that number is 50. Keep an eye on Darwin so he stays safe. :bighug: I'm glad you're home today! I hope 0.5u is a good dose so you don't lose any sleep tonight! :)
 
+4=118...yay!

Ok. I didn't get a chance to check in. With SLGS, if the BG is under 90, it's an automatic skip. With TR, that number is 50. Keep an eye on Darwin so he stays safe. :bighug: I'm glad you're home today! I hope 0.5u is a good dose so you don't lose any sleep tonight! :)

Yeah. I just really feel like I'm skipping so many shots - is that ok? Obviously, I'd rather be safe. I'm wondering if it might be good to start attempting to do TR? Most days testing him often is not a problem (and I have no issue with waking up at night to test), but a few work days I can only do +4 and +6 (roughly), so I'm just not sure.
 
+4=118...yay!



Yeah. I just really feel like I'm skipping so many shots - is that ok? Obviously, I'd rather be safe. I'm wondering if it might be good to start attempting to do TR? Most days testing him often is not a problem (and I have no issue with waking up at night to test), but a few work days I can only do +4 and +6 (roughly), so I'm just not sure.
You haven't found a dose that is low enough to allow you to do it twice a day.

I work full time and I did TR. I did a +10 during the day then I could do +2 at night and whatever was necessary after that then test more often on my days off. TR needs at least 4 tests, 2 per cycle. The more you test, the better. TR requires no dry food, though.
 
+6=147

You haven't found a dose that is low enough to allow you to do it twice a day.
Right. I know, just need to be more patient...haha!

I work full time and I did TR. I did a +10 during the day then I could do +2 at night and whatever was necessary after that then test more often on my days off. TR needs at least 4 tests, 2 per cycle. The more you test, the better. TR requires no dry food, though.
I am going to think about making the switch...I am not sure what the opinion is on which is better/more likely to get them into remission? Or if it doesn't so much matter as what a person's schedule allows.

Darwin hasn't had dry food in some time now, and I believe he is going to stay with me on the canned now that he's taken to it. I am testing quite a bit more than 4x daily already, so I feel I can handle TR. The only days I will worry are the ones when my girlfriend and I both work (we work together) - we work 11 hour shifts. We can ALWAYS come home one way or another during the day, so between the two of us, we should be able to swing it safely.

More than anything; I probably just need to be more patient with the numbers, lol.
 
+9=247. I feel like this time; it was the right call to give a reduced dose this morning as I'm assuming he's bouncing a bit after last night?

Also, I gave his shot late this morning, at 7:50am (instead of 7:00am), so I can give at 19:30 (7:30pm) tonight, and can give at 7:15am tomorrow...if his BG allows?
 
Hi. I have some time now to write back. TR gives you a better chance at remission because you increase every 3 days instead of 7 days with SLGS if you aren't seeing greens and with TR, you try and stay in the greens above 50 and under 100 with a human meter as that gives the pancreas more healing time versus with SLGS, you are mostly in the blues with some greens. But what's most important is the caregiver's ability to keep their cat safe.

FD forces people to be patient! ;)
 
+9=247. I feel like this time; it was the right call to give a reduced dose this morning as I'm assuming he's bouncing a bit after last night?

Also, I gave his shot late this morning, at 7:50am (instead of 7:00am), so I can give at 19:30 (7:30pm) tonight, and can give at 7:15am tomorrow...if his BG allows?
Yes, he's bouncing now. When you gave him his shot late this morning, that acted like a decrease as well. Watch to be sure he's safe tonight if you are moving his shot back 15 minutes tonight.
 
Yes, he's bouncing now. When you gave him his shot late this morning, that acted like a decrease as well. Watch to be sure he's safe tonight if you are moving his shot back 15 minutes tonight.
Great, that's the plan! I will check a +2-3, and then a +5-6...depending on what those look like, that should be adequate, right? (Obviously more if dropping too quickly/too low)

Hi. I have some time now to write back. TR gives you a better chance at remission because you increase every 3 days instead of 7 days with SLGS if you aren't seeing greens and with TR, you try and stay in the greens above 50 and under 100 with a human meter as that gives the pancreas more healing time versus with SLGS, you are mostly in the blues with some greens. But what's most important is the caregiver's ability to keep their cat safe.
Okay, that clarifies the two a bit better. I really didn't think Darwin would ever touch canned food, but now that he is chowing it; TR could be an option for us!

FD forces people to be patient! ;)
That's no joke!! I could use a lesson in that anyway ;)

Thank you for ALL your advice and knowledge today. You are helping not just myself and Darwin, but this new knowledge of home testing is going to become a new thing I get to teach clients at my vet clinic!
 
You're welcome! Rex had me do a crash course in FD. I like to try and help others like everyone helped me.

If the numbers are still going up at +2 and +3, you can give him a poke break the rest of the night.

If you decide you want to do TR, you will need to note that in your signature and on the SS. Advice changes a bit depending on the protocol you're doing. :)
 
+2=330 - looks like Darwin will have a safe and restful night (and mom, too!)

Darwin 2017.jpg He says goodnight, and thank you for all the support! :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top