7/20 Cassie AMPS 76 +1.5 161 +5 194 PMPS 354 +2 327

Abby and Cassie

Member Since 2020
Previous post

Hi guys, AMPS of 76, only a few doses in on 1.75 units. Do you think she went lower last night? Her PMPS was 250 and +2 was 318 so I went to bed thinking it would be okay. I don't want to skip a shot so I'm willing to shoot green and test. My question is do I shoot 1.5 or 1.75? SLGS dictates anything under 90 calls for a reduction dose, so I'm guessing 1.5 again. :(
 
I went with shooting 1.5 because I can't change my schedule too much for tonight, though I may have gotten a FS so I guess we will see. Worst time ever to get a FS.
 
I swore I saw the needle in her skin, so I'm thinking maybe the insulin I smelled/the wetness could've been from the excess insulin that was near the base of the needle on the syringe. We will see what her numbers say!
 
Last edited:
Are you following SLGS or TR guidelines? Just asking because your signature says SLGS and you shot an AMPS of 76. That's more like TR dosing guidelines.
At any rate you seem prepared to test and treat with higher carbs if necessary. You might want to get a +1 to see if Cassie's dropping too fast. That way you can steer the numbers with food.
 
Are you following SLGS or TR guidelines? Just asking because your signature says SLGS and you shot an AMPS of 76. That's more like TR dosing guidelines.
At any rate you seem prepared to test and treat with higher carbs if necessary. You might want to get a +1 to see if Cassie's dropping too fast. That way you can steer the numbers with food.

I confuse myself about that too..I was just browsing the TR thread and thinking of changing my signature to that, since I'm definitely closer to following that style. I mostly just hate skipping shots because it feels like I erase a lot of progress and it shoots her up sooooo high by the next time for insulin dose. I'll get her 1.5 now! I didn't even think about getting something earlier than +2, I'm glad you mentioned it.
 
I'll get her 1.5 now! I didn't even think about getting something earlier than +2, I'm glad you mentioned it.
If it's not too much on him or you, and I know you hate hearing this.... the more you test the better the overall picture is until you get used to Cassie's cycles. But, than once you get used to his cycles, that can change too. The beauty of the sugar dance:rolleyes: You can also test prior to AMPS at +10/+11 to see if Cassie's #s are increasing/decreasing by AMPS. Can give you an idea of how the cycle will unfold.

Hopefully that 161 won't go any higher and maybe you got some insulin in. :bighug:
 
If it's not too much on him or you, and I know you hate hearing this.... the more you test the better the overall picture is until you get used to Cassie's cycles. But, than once you get used to his cycles, that can change too. The beauty of the sugar dance:rolleyes: You can also test prior to AMPS at +10/+11 to see if Cassie's #s are increasing/decreasing by AMPS. Can give you an idea of how the cycle will unfold.

Hopefully that 161 won't go any higher and maybe you got some insulin in. :bighug:

That's a good idea about testing at +10/11! I'm mostly trying to save my strips as much as possible, just while finances are a little tight. Do you think I could still use TR if I only used 4-5 strips a day?
 
That's a good idea about testing at +10/11! I'm mostly trying to save my strips as much as possible, just while finances are a little tight. Do you think I could still use TR if I only used 4-5 strips a day?
With TR you need at least one mid cycle test so, I think you could get away with about 5 strips daily. I use to test my kitty Moey around an average of 10x daily.
The TR dosing guideline was based on owners testing their kitties 5 times per day. But, the thing with TR is, if you run into low#s(which you eventually will) you have to test frequently....sometimes as often as every 15 minutes(generally 30min, situation dependent). So you burn through test strips. I'm not trying to dissuade you in any way from trying TR. IMO TR is the best dosing method. You just have to be a little more prepared to handle low #s, which involves having plenty of test strips. Hope that helps a little.:)
 
With TR you need at least one mid cycle test so, I think you could get away with about 5 strips daily. I use to test my kitty Moey around an average of 10x daily.
The TR dosing guideline was based on owners testing their kitties 5 times per day. But, the thing with TR is, if you run into low#s(which you eventually will) you have to test frequently....sometimes as often as every 15 minutes(generally 30min, situation dependent). So you burn through test strips. I'm not trying to dissuade you in any way from trying TR. IMO TR is the best dosing method. You just have to be a little more prepared to handle low #s, which involves having plenty of test strips. Hope that helps a little.:)

I have a special stash saved that's JUST for hypo scares, so as long as she isn't going hypo every day and I could on average use about 5 strips with my backups for hypo scares... I think she'd get better numbers too with TR since 1.5 didn't seem to be a good number. The only problem with TR is I don't function well on little sleep, so that's my biggest worry is having to stay up all night. With SLGS I feel a bit more comfortable getting a +2 before bed and usually don't have to get up too much in the night. :coffee::coffee::coffee::confused:
 
Back
Top