Heike & BInie
Member Since 2024
Last post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-19-binie-amps-255-3-202.292305/
Good afternoon,
in the morning Binie was eating better again and I gave her the increased dose of 1.5 IU. As she was not really eating much during the day, I hope there will be no problem with the evening shot. Like last night, it is really flat again. High yellow numbers and low pink numbers.
I spent my day trying to figure out what the labwork means but I am not sure, if I got it right. I filled it in the ss the best I could, because I found not for all cases a calculatur to convert the different measurments. So I used in some cases just the explanation "in range" or "out of range".
As far as I understood there are three different problems to manage now besides the diabetes (sorry for the long text):
1. Her thyroid is not well adjustet yet. Binie developed hypothyroidism after a iodine-treatment last year in may. The T4 is going up again, which seems to be good. But in the same time the TSH is also going up, which seems to be not good. My vet wants to wait a bit and decide after another bloodwork, if we adjust the dose of the levothyroxin. I am not sure if it is good to wait. I will send her bloodwork to the clinic, where she did the iodine treatment and also I will write in this thyroid management group, Wendy recommended.
2. Her kidneys seem to loose their function. The kreatinin is higher than before, the BUN is out of range and also the IDEXX SDMA. That can explanin the vomiting, I saw during the last three weeks. Also her increased water intake and the weight loss, which I tought of as a good thing. As far as I understood, her kidney problems can be related to the hypothyroidism. I wonder if that is reversable once Binies thyroid hormons are adjusted well? What would be a good next step? I think looking at the urine will make sense?
3. Her Leucocytes are way too high. I understood that this means, that there is an inflammation somewhere. My vet wants to rule out a pyelonephritis. I should bring urine on monday. I understood that even if it is negative, she wants to give antibiotics because there must be some inflammation in the body. Unfortunately there is only one antibiotic Binie can take, which is Efex. This would be the third course this year. I am scared that she develops resistances but I guess, there is nothing else we can do in this situation?
One good thing is, that her fPLI was low. So she might not have had a pancreatitis in may, when she was so sick. We didn't measure folat and B12, as she is taking supplements at the moment. So it should be o.k.
I also have to make a decision about giving steroids against her allergical reaction in the skin because of the self-dessolving threads. So far it does not seem to get better. I am scared, that steroids will throw us back in the diabetes management. What can I expect? I guess the bg will shoot up for a short while but after some time we will be back on track?
If I judge how Binie behaves, I think she doesn't feel too sick. She is sleeping a lot but if she is awake she likes to go out and seems relaxed. She is also lying in a relaxed position, so I don't think there is any pain. Her quality of life is my top priority in choosing the treatment options. That may also mean, that sometimes I treat rather the symptoms than turning her upside down with more examinations.
I would be so grateful about any adivce, how I can handle this situation, things to look at or to talk about with the vet. Thank you!


@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Good afternoon,
in the morning Binie was eating better again and I gave her the increased dose of 1.5 IU. As she was not really eating much during the day, I hope there will be no problem with the evening shot. Like last night, it is really flat again. High yellow numbers and low pink numbers.
I spent my day trying to figure out what the labwork means but I am not sure, if I got it right. I filled it in the ss the best I could, because I found not for all cases a calculatur to convert the different measurments. So I used in some cases just the explanation "in range" or "out of range".
As far as I understood there are three different problems to manage now besides the diabetes (sorry for the long text):
1. Her thyroid is not well adjustet yet. Binie developed hypothyroidism after a iodine-treatment last year in may. The T4 is going up again, which seems to be good. But in the same time the TSH is also going up, which seems to be not good. My vet wants to wait a bit and decide after another bloodwork, if we adjust the dose of the levothyroxin. I am not sure if it is good to wait. I will send her bloodwork to the clinic, where she did the iodine treatment and also I will write in this thyroid management group, Wendy recommended.
2. Her kidneys seem to loose their function. The kreatinin is higher than before, the BUN is out of range and also the IDEXX SDMA. That can explanin the vomiting, I saw during the last three weeks. Also her increased water intake and the weight loss, which I tought of as a good thing. As far as I understood, her kidney problems can be related to the hypothyroidism. I wonder if that is reversable once Binies thyroid hormons are adjusted well? What would be a good next step? I think looking at the urine will make sense?
3. Her Leucocytes are way too high. I understood that this means, that there is an inflammation somewhere. My vet wants to rule out a pyelonephritis. I should bring urine on monday. I understood that even if it is negative, she wants to give antibiotics because there must be some inflammation in the body. Unfortunately there is only one antibiotic Binie can take, which is Efex. This would be the third course this year. I am scared that she develops resistances but I guess, there is nothing else we can do in this situation?
One good thing is, that her fPLI was low. So she might not have had a pancreatitis in may, when she was so sick. We didn't measure folat and B12, as she is taking supplements at the moment. So it should be o.k.
I also have to make a decision about giving steroids against her allergical reaction in the skin because of the self-dessolving threads. So far it does not seem to get better. I am scared, that steroids will throw us back in the diabetes management. What can I expect? I guess the bg will shoot up for a short while but after some time we will be back on track?
If I judge how Binie behaves, I think she doesn't feel too sick. She is sleeping a lot but if she is awake she likes to go out and seems relaxed. She is also lying in a relaxed position, so I don't think there is any pain. Her quality of life is my top priority in choosing the treatment options. That may also mean, that sometimes I treat rather the symptoms than turning her upside down with more examinations.
I would be so grateful about any adivce, how I can handle this situation, things to look at or to talk about with the vet. Thank you!



@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Thank god it is in range..... Hope you have a beautiful sunday!