7/20, Binie, lab work - how to go on?

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-19-binie-amps-255-3-202.292305/

Good afternoon,

in the morning Binie was eating better again and I gave her the increased dose of 1.5 IU. As she was not really eating much during the day, I hope there will be no problem with the evening shot. Like last night, it is really flat again. High yellow numbers and low pink numbers.

I spent my day trying to figure out what the labwork means but I am not sure, if I got it right. I filled it in the ss the best I could, because I found not for all cases a calculatur to convert the different measurments. So I used in some cases just the explanation "in range" or "out of range".

As far as I understood there are three different problems to manage now besides the diabetes (sorry for the long text):

1. Her thyroid is not well adjustet yet. Binie developed hypothyroidism after a iodine-treatment last year in may. The T4 is going up again, which seems to be good. But in the same time the TSH is also going up, which seems to be not good. My vet wants to wait a bit and decide after another bloodwork, if we adjust the dose of the levothyroxin. I am not sure if it is good to wait. I will send her bloodwork to the clinic, where she did the iodine treatment and also I will write in this thyroid management group, Wendy recommended.

2. Her kidneys seem to loose their function. The kreatinin is higher than before, the BUN is out of range and also the IDEXX SDMA. That can explanin the vomiting, I saw during the last three weeks. Also her increased water intake and the weight loss, which I tought of as a good thing. As far as I understood, her kidney problems can be related to the hypothyroidism. I wonder if that is reversable once Binies thyroid hormons are adjusted well? What would be a good next step? I think looking at the urine will make sense?

3. Her Leucocytes are way too high. I understood that this means, that there is an inflammation somewhere. My vet wants to rule out a pyelonephritis. I should bring urine on monday. I understood that even if it is negative, she wants to give antibiotics because there must be some inflammation in the body. Unfortunately there is only one antibiotic Binie can take, which is Efex. This would be the third course this year. I am scared that she develops resistances but I guess, there is nothing else we can do in this situation?

One good thing is, that her fPLI was low. So she might not have had a pancreatitis in may, when she was so sick. We didn't measure folat and B12, as she is taking supplements at the moment. So it should be o.k.

I also have to make a decision about giving steroids against her allergical reaction in the skin because of the self-dessolving threads. So far it does not seem to get better. I am scared, that steroids will throw us back in the diabetes management. What can I expect? I guess the bg will shoot up for a short while but after some time we will be back on track?

If I judge how Binie behaves, I think she doesn't feel too sick. She is sleeping a lot but if she is awake she likes to go out and seems relaxed. She is also lying in a relaxed position, so I don't think there is any pain. Her quality of life is my top priority in choosing the treatment options. That may also mean, that sometimes I treat rather the symptoms than turning her upside down with more examinations.

I would be so grateful about any adivce, how I can handle this situation, things to look at or to talk about with the vet. Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
My vet will never give antibiotics without a diagnosis. I would need to bring them in for him to get a sterile sample and then have it sent to the lab. I would wonder if all this is related to her hypothyroidism not being controlled. That can hide ckd. The urinalysis done at the office would help as you would see if the urine is being concentrated or not. My last bloodwork showed that the SDMA was not possible without a urinalysis but my cats had all normal tests so it was not done. They did not have issues. My cat with skin allergies always has high eosinophils when her allergies are present. I find it confusing that Binie has normal eosinophils. With the test so low I tend to doubt pancreatitis is present right now. That does not mean she didn’t have it in the past. It needs to be active to have a positive reading.
 
My vet will never give antibiotics without a diagnosis. I would need to bring them in for him to get a sterile sample and then have it sent to the lab. I would wonder if all this is related to her hypothyroidism not being controlled. That can hide ckd. The urinalysis done at the office would help as you would see if the urine is being concentrated or not. My last bloodwork showed that the SDMA was not possible without a urinalysis but my cats had all normal tests so it was not done. They did not have issues. My cat with skin allergies always has high eosinophils when her allergies are present. I find it confusing that Binie has normal eosinophils. With the test so low I tend to doubt pancreatitis is present right now. That does not mean she didn’t have it in the past. It needs to be active to have a positive reading.

Thank you so much Elise! Very interesting point about the eosinophils! I will ask the vet about it. At the end they only guessed that Binie is licking her wound because of an allergic reaction. But maybe there is something else going on and maybe this is related to her being sick in may after the surgery. The question is just how to find out... :( Hopy you have a nice weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-19-binie-amps-255-3-202.292305/

Good afternoon,

in the morning Binie was eating better again and I gave her the increased dose of 1.5 IU. As she was not really eating much during the day, I hope there will be no problem with the evening shot. Like last night, it is really flat again. High yellow numbers and low pink numbers.

I spent my day trying to figure out what the labwork means but I am not sure, if I got it right. I filled it in the ss the best I could, because I found not for all cases a calculatur to convert the different measurments. So I used in some cases just the explanation "in range" or "out of range".

As far as I understood there are three different problems to manage now besides the diabetes (sorry for the long text):

1. Her thyroid is not well adjustet yet. Binie developed hypothyroidism after a iodine-treatment last year in may. The T4 is going up again, which seems to be good. But in the same time the TSH is also going up, which seems to be not good. My vet wants to wait a bit and decide after another bloodwork, if we adjust the dose of the levothyroxin. I am not sure if it is good to wait. I will send her bloodwork to the clinic, where she did the iodine treatment and also I will write in this thyroid management group, Wendy recommended.

2. Her kidneys seem to loose their function. The kreatinin is higher than before, the BUN is out of range and also the IDEXX SDMA. That can explanin the vomiting, I saw during the last three weeks. Also her increased water intake and the weight loss, which I tought of as a good thing. As far as I understood, her kidney problems can be related to the hypothyroidism. I wonder if that is reversable once Binies thyroid hormons are adjusted well? What would be a good next step? I think looking at the urine will make sense?

3. Her Leucocytes are way too high. I understood that this means, that there is an inflammation somewhere. My vet wants to rule out a pyelonephritis. I should bring urine on monday. I understood that even if it is negative, she wants to give antibiotics because there must be some inflammation in the body. Unfortunately there is only one antibiotic Binie can take, which is Efex. This would be the third course this year. I am scared that she develops resistances but I guess, there is nothing else we can do in this situation?

One good thing is, that her fPLI was low. So she might not have had a pancreatitis in may, when she was so sick. We didn't measure folat and B12, as she is taking supplements at the moment. So it should be o.k.

I also have to make a decision about giving steroids against her allergical reaction in the skin because of the self-dessolving threads. So far it does not seem to get better. I am scared, that steroids will throw us back in the diabetes management. What can I expect? I guess the bg will shoot up for a short while but after some time we will be back on track?

If I judge how Binie behaves, I think she doesn't feel too sick. She is sleeping a lot but if she is awake she likes to go out and seems relaxed. She is also lying in a relaxed position, so I don't think there is any pain. Her quality of life is my top priority in choosing the treatment options. That may also mean, that sometimes I treat rather the symptoms than turning her upside down with more examinations.

I would be so grateful about any adivce, how I can handle this situation, things to look at or to talk about with the vet. Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Hi Heike, I’m so sorry to read your updates. It’s so complicated. It seems like that vet needs to address the thyroid situation as that affects the kidneys, as Elise mentioned.
I’m hoping you get some more expert eyes on a Binie’s situation you may get some good suggestions. I’m glad you’ve tagged Wendy and Sienne also.
Have you looked at this feline thyroid Group for information and advice?
FelineThyroidManagement@
groups.io


They are very knowledgeable. Maybe it’s the same group Wendy suggested to you?

I know you said Binie sleeps a lot. So does Ivy. I just assume it’s an age related thing. Maybe I’m wrong though.
I’m sending you lots of positive energy as you are working so diligently to get more answers for your sweet girl. You’re such a thorough advocate for her.
I hope you have a peaceful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:



 
Hi Heike :)
I'm sorry your sweet Binie deals with all that. I feel your concern and sympathise with how nerve wrecking it can be to try and figure out the best way to navigate the different conditions.
Sending you lots of love and pawsitive vibes :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, I’m so sorry to read your updates. It’s so complicated. It seems like that vet needs to address the thyroid situation as that affects the kidneys, as Elise mentioned.
I’m hoping you get some more expert eyes on a Binie’s situation you may get some good suggestions. I’m glad you’ve tagged Wendy and Sienne also.
Have you looked at this feline thyroid Group for information and advice?
FelineThyroidManagement@
groups.io


They are very knowledgeable. Maybe it’s the same group Wendy suggested to you?

I know you said Binie sleeps a lot. So does Ivy. I just assume it’s an age related thing. Maybe I’m wrong though.
I’m sending you lots of positive energy as you are working so diligently to get more answers for your sweet girl. You’re such a thorough advocate for her.
I hope you have a peaceful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci, thank you so much for feeling with us! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Yes, taking care of the thyroid issue is my top priority now. Tomorrow I will send all the data to the clinic where she had the iodine treatment and I am sure they will give adivce. And I will ask for help in that group you mentioned. When Ivy was diagnosed I wrote in one thread that Binie also had thyroid issues and Wendy suggested I take a look at that group. So far I was not active because after the last control in january it looked like we are on the right track and the diabetes diagnose took my attention to 100 %.

Good to hear that Ivy sleeps a lot as well. Sometimes I don't know what is age related and what is a sign of bad health. I have to admit that these new developments have been really a shock, as I thought the last weeks, that she is on the road of recovery. At the moment she is on the terrasse and I feel she is really content with what she has and she is not suffering anyhow. That really motivates me to search for ways to keep that quality for her as long as possible.

I wish you a peaceful night too! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike :)
I'm sorry your sweet Binie deals with all that. I feel your concern and sympathise with how nerve wrecking it can be to try and figure out the best way to navigate the different conditions.
Sending you lots of love and pawsitive vibes :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci, thank you so much for your support! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Yes, it is really nerve wrecking. The diabetes would have been enough to deal with for me. I try to take it step by step now. And I am super grateful not to be alone in this, but have people like you and this forum for support! Hope your boys are fine! I read about your swim today, hope you enjoyed it, it was really hot today! Hope you have a good night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Heike I’m so sorry you are having these new worries pop up. It is so complicated with these kitties.
I don’t have any input on these subjects but I hope someone comes on soon that can help. I know they will!
I do know Tiger also sleeps a lot and he always has…lazy Tom cat!
Please keep us updated. Sending hugs to you and sweet Binie!
 
Your vet is right to try rule out pyelonephritis or kidney infection. It will take a longer course of antibiotics than a urinary tract infection. If there is a kidney infection, it can influence kidney bloodwork and those values should improve if the kidney infection is treated. Similarly, thyroid issues can have an impact.

It's helpful to us if on the Labs tab you highlight the values that are out of range. Her potassium is quite high, does the vet have an explanation for that?
 
Oh Heike I’m so sorry you are having these new worries pop up. It is so complicated with these kitties.
I don’t have any input on these subjects but I hope someone comes on soon that can help. I know they will!
I do know Tiger also sleeps a lot and he always has…lazy Tom cat!
Please keep us updated. Sending hugs to you and sweet Binie!

Thank you so much Deb! Seems to be the weekend of worries, isn't it? I hope Tiger is better and the situation came more calm for you as well! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Your vet is right to try rule out pyelonephritis or kidney infection. It will take a longer course of antibiotics than a urinary tract infection. If there is a kidney infection, it can influence kidney bloodwork and those values should improve if the kidney infection is treated. Similarly, thyroid issues can have an impact.

It's helpful to us if on the Labs tab you highlight the values that are out of range. Her potassium is quite high, does the vet have an explanation for that?

Thank you so much Wendy! I now highlighted everything which is out of range. Sorry, I didn't think about this before. It is helpful for me as well. Thank you also for your confirmation that we are on the right track with what we are doing next. I made a stupid mistake with the potassium number and corrected it. :banghead: Thank god it is in range..... Hope you have a beautiful sunday!
 
Back
Top