7/2 Whitey PMPS 74 - what should I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ryanms3030

Member Since 2013
I just tested him at 75 and then retested in the other ear and got 74. This is pre shot, pre meal. He dipped this low a few night ago in the 4-5+ range but he has generally been in the 200s. I really don't understand Lantus and how all these dips and spikes are possible when I have been very consistant with 1 unit 2x day exactly 12 hours apart and feeding the same food at the same time (right after his shot).

But anyway, how should I handle his evening shot?
 
Since you didn't a mid cycle test today, we don't know if Whitey is rising or dropping. Would your schedule accommodate you waiting 20-30 minutes, without feeding, and then test again? If he's rising and you will be able to monitor tonight, have plenty of strips and HC, you are good to go.

Some cats like to nadir late
 
I just tested again 20 minutes later and he's 80 so looks like rising a little. I will be home for another 10 hours and probably wide awake for another 3-4 hours and I have about 250 test strips on hand and some gravy lovers fancy feast and corn syrup in case of emergencies. Should I just shoot the full 1 unit? I am holding off on feeding until after shot
 
Ryan -

You're doing everything right. In part, some of the highs are due to bounces off of the lows. The other piece of the puzzle is that Whitey is a cat. It's his job t keep you guessing and apparently, he's doing an excellent job.

I agree with Wendy. I think stalling to see if numbers are on the rise makes sense. You don't yet hae the data to shoot this low.
 
If you can wait another 20 min., I'd continue to stall. The difference between a 74 and 80 is minimal. Let's see if this is a surf or Whitey is starting to rise.
 
Looks like he's rising. It's probably good to get a +1 and a +2 to see how the cycle is going to shape up.
 
92 is a safe number to shoot if you are able to monitor tonight. If you're not comfortable you can wait another 20, but you schedule has to be able to accommodate it.
 
I shot (1 hour late), fed and just tested +1 and he's 134 now.

This is the first time I've knowingly shot him below 100 and I still get nervous about shooting below 200.
 
This is a great opportunity to gather data for next time. That +1 could be a food spike or he could be on his way up.

I still get nervous below 100 but for some reason I was fine at 104 this week. Go figure. I just need more practice to see what the cycle looks like when it starts low. We all have a comfort zone and the idea is to slowly move it down. Sometimes our cats have other ideas. :roll:
 
You can move him back to his normal shot time by shooting 25 mins early each cycle u til he's on his correct shot time or shoot 30 mins early once a day starting tomorrow night.

If he's over 300 by +11, I'd shoot an hour early and you are back on time!
 
+2 159. Thanks for sticking with me. That will be my last test before bed but I'll wake up and check on him during the night
 
Just to recap...

If you shot an hour late, your AM shot is 12 hours from your PM shot. In order to move the shot time back to your original time, you can move the time 15 min. early every shot until you're back on schedule (Marje's post had a typo -- it's not 25 min at each shot time). Alternatively, you can move the shot 30 min. early once a day.

Whatever the BG reading was when you shot, that was your PMPS. It sounds like when you shot, Whitey's numbers were at 134 so that was your PMPS. The 74 would be your +12.
 
Thanks. 134 was +1 last night, 92 was PMPS. I updated the spreadsheet to reflect that. I got some tests throughout the night. I had to leave early for work so my fiance is going to shoot him +12. I left a pre-filled syringe. She has shot a few time and I showed her how to test last night so hopefully she can do a preshot but if not I'll be home on my lunch break around +2 (benefits of living 1 mile from work). I tested him +9 before leaving for work and he was 269
 
For future reference, pre-filling syringes is not recommended. There's a link in the sticky on how to handle your Lantus that goes into detail.
 
My fiance did his shot +12 today and then accidentally fed some high carb gravy food to him. I just got home for lunch and he's 46 +3.5 hours since his shot. I have to leave to go back to work in 45 minutes and he'll be alone for 4 hours. Should I do anything other then test again in 20 mins?
 
just retested 20 mins later and he's at 52 so hopefully rising. Unfortunately I have no more high carb in the house and no time to get any but I'll leave regular food out
 
Do you have some karo, honey or syrup you can mix with the low carb food to make high carb? Add a couple drops to a tsp of food.
 
I just gave him some karo and food and he ate a little. Tested again and he's at 47 now. I have to leave and go back to work

I rubbed a small drop of karo on his gums to be safe (which he did not like at all). The food is out so hopefully he'll eat if he feels the need. He seemed to be acting normal. He got down to about 40 a few weeks back around +6 one day without any problems
 
That 46 you got on 7/3 this morning +4 earns Whitey an automatic dose reduction of 0.25U. So next dose should be 0.75u instead of 1U.

HC food usually brings the numbers up. So it's possible that Whitey was lower than that 46.
 
Thanks. I will give .75 tonight. He was already up to 351 30 mins ago but I'm sure his levels are not accurate because he had HC then I gave him some karo as well
 
A housekeeping suggestion...

This thread is dated 7/2. I was having difficulty figuring out if you'd gotten the help you were looking for.

If you look at the subject lines on the Board, we typically open one condo (aka a thread) per cat per day. We also link the previous day's thread to the current one. That way, when we're looking at the dates, it's easy to sort out if the information is current.
 
Since Whitey bounced up over 300, you may want to 'shoot through the bounce' and give the same 1U dose you have been giving, then reduce to the 0.75U in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top