7/2 Taz, PMPS-175, +3-71, +3.5-67, +3.75-68, +4-78 (first lime green)

It takes 20-30 minutes for the carbs to go from the plate to the blood stream, ECID. So 15 minutes is too soon. I would have gone with HC for a low this early, which you can do if he’s not above 68 at next test.
 
Taz earned a reduction.
Following TR and Tax is newely diagnosed 1-2-2022
It says
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
I'll tag some members I don't want to give you the wrong info if you were planning to reduce
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Taz is very carb sensitive, and didn't go below 65 (our AT2 booklet says 65-200 is normal range for the monitor before it considers him low/high glucose), so that's why I gave MC first. If he would have had a bigger drop, or been under 65, I would have given the HC right away. I did give him 1/2tsp MC at his +3.5 and +3.75, and he's currently on the rise, but I'll be sure to check him again before assuming we're in the clear. I think he's been nadiring closer to +3.5 than +3 lately.
 
I don't know if the reduction will stick. His blue numbers still seem too high?
 
Last edited:
Take the reduction. He earned it. The worst that happens is it fails and then you go back up. The only way to find out is to try it. Reductions are taken based upon how low a dose takes him and not anything else.
 
Back
Top