7/2, Tango, AMPS 92, +2 67, +3 59, +4.5 63, +6 61, +9 71, PMPS 80, +42, +2.5 53, +3.5 50, +4 66

+2 67 Kinda a big drop from AMPS. Gave mc - 1 tbl FF Gravy lovers. Will test in 30.

We're supposed to go out for awhile in an hour. We'd be gone a couple hours.

Think he'd be okay?
 
+3 59 - Dropped a few after mc. Gave HC

I'm thinking maybe should've gone done to 2.25 last night.

Anybody around?
 
Today's cycle is influenced by the higher 2.75 depot. Nonetheless another great :D:D cycle.
Can you update the SS with the numbers when you get the chance?

:oops: SS updated. Thanks

Trying some lc this round. Want to see how much bs drops as I'm sure it will.
 
Today's cycles is mostly 2.75 units depot talking, as Angela said. He didn't actually earn a reduction down to 2.5 units, much less 2.25 units, as he's a long term diabetic. But let's see how he does on this dose when the larger depot is gone (4-6 cycles).
 
Continue to feed hc until he stabilizes? Does that mean if he was at 53 at 12:30 and he stays above 50 until 2:30, we can stop giving him hc and testing every 20-30?
He needs to stay up without HC for 2 hours. That means, if you fed HC at 12:30 and he stays over 50 till 2:30 without more HC, then you are okay.

I looked back at his previous round with insulin last year and he did the same thing. Once he broken into blues and greens, he came down in dosing pretty quickly.
 
Yes, please give LC. You are at +3.5? +4?

Right now it's +4 1/4. Going to give lc.

And, yes, he is coming down faster than last time around and his numbers are lower. He really didn't dip into the 60s and there was only 2 50s. Mostly in the 70s - 90s. These last few days have been crazy with all the 60s, 50s and 40s. And all the testing. Seriously thought about switching to SLGS
 
Some cats suddenly decide to flip the switch to regulation and want to be at a much lower dose. Both for the safety of the cat and the sanity of the CG - we sometimes take larger reductions and occasional skips. This not per protocol.

You could try going down to 2.25U tomorrow morning - even though the reduction is not earned.

ETA: note for any lurkers, this suggestion is only for Lori and Tango.
 
Last edited:
Sometimes cats suddenly decide to flip the switch to regulation and that they want to be at a much lower dose. In such cases, we use larger reductions and the occasional skips - both for the safety of the cat and the sanity of the CG!

You could try going down to 2.25U tomorrow morning - even though the reduction is not earned.

Yeah, he's flipped his switch. Crossing paws he's going to cruise now.

I think going down to 2.25 is a good idea. I keep thinking that without the hc food he would've dropped below 40. Don't know if that's the way to look at it but seems logical to me.

Thanks for hanging with us. As always, it is very much appreciated. Going to get another test in a few then take a breather.

Have a great day!
 
I keep thinking that without the hc food he would've dropped below 40. Don't know if that's the way to look at it but seems logical to me.
We don't go by what could have happened and we often encourage CGs to use higher carbs to keep a cat at a good dose. However, like I said, in some cases it is pretty clear that a cat is heading much lower in dosing and in those cases it's better to listen to the cat!
 
Title line is full:

+5 69 Fed more lc. This was at 3:00am - put lc in feeder for 5:00am
+7 78
Usually when I first get up in the morning, he meows a little and either wants to go outside or hop on the counter sink for water. This morning he was just lying there looking at me. Of course, I panicked thinking his BS really dropped. Surprise... a healthy 78:D I think he was just tired from all the testing yesterday and early this morning.
 
Back
Top