7/2 Skooter AMPS 225 +5.5 387 PMPS 289 +.5 258 +1 259 +1.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
I couldn't get the rest of his numbers on the subject line so here they are for PM:


PMPS 289
+.5 = 258
+1 = 259
+1.5 = 218
+2 = 235
+2.5 = 190
+3.75 = 253

This is my first time posting on this forum, I have only been posting in the Main forum, so I hope I get all the information in here that is needed :)

Skooter had a B12 injection today, though I don't think it is the Methyl one that is recommended (I wasn't aware of the differences until I got home). Since his diagnosis, he has been pretty laid back and not his normal self. He used to sleep with me every night and around the time he got diagnosed he stopped because he couldn't get up on the bed. They tested him for ketones in May and he had none, but his BG was pretty high. We started out with 1U and each week we increased by 1U and currently staying at 5U. I got some "cat stairs" to make it easier for him to get to the bed and at first he didn't use it....Now he is using it :) I, am course very paranoid, so it is still really difficult for me to evaluate his mood and how he is acting as I am overacting to every thing he does.

He also has IBD and takes medication for that and as long as he gets that, we are fine. I know that dry food is a no-no, but the IBD dry food is literally the only food that doesn't make him throw up consistently, so sticking with it. Right now he is a bit upset with me due to all the testing that I have been doing on him tonight.

I am still pretty overwhelmed with everything and there seems to be something to add each day. I currently am not testing for ketones at home. I am sure that makes me a horrible cat mom, but I am still trying to get used to the home testing and everything. I am hoping to gain some more knowledge on this forum and figure out the best dose for Skooter.

At Chris' advice, I will be attempting to get a PM +5, +8, +11 as long as my alarm wakes me up :)

Please let me know if I am missing some information that should be in here....

Thanks!
 
Re: 7/2 Skooter AMPS 225 +5.5 387 PMPS 289 +.5 258 +1 259 +1

Here's the link to her last post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=121156

All you do is copy what you see in the address bar, then there are several "tabs" along the top of these messages..B, i, u , Quote, Code, etc.....all the way over to a tab that says URL

You click that, and then "paste" the link you copied earlier...it will go between the Your link here [url] Welcome to L...g in there....it will get better, we promise!
 
Re: 7/2 Skooter AMPS 225 +5.5 387 PMPS 289 +.5 258 +1 259 +1

Hi Rachel and I'll add my welcome to Lantus Land. There are lots of starred sticky notes at the top of this forum with lots of good information. I still find myself reading them over again once in a while. Feel free to ask questions - we love to help here.

A word about testing, although we love to see the data you got tonight, you probably could have eased off on the testing. When a cat is in the 200's, he's likely not going to be in dangerous territory by +2. It is good to get the odd +1 test because then you get an idea how much of a rise they get from eating dinner. The +2 test for Lantus is a good indicator of how the cycle will shape up. If the +2 BG number is similar to the preshot, then it's likely going to be a normal cycle. If it's lower, then it's likely an active cycle and you'll likely need to get more tests later in the cycle.

Our of curiosity, what is the IBD medication that Skooter gets? We have several cats here who also have IBD that are eating wet food.

We can all relate to how you are feeling with the recent diagnosis. Did you ever read the letter from your cat?
 
Re: 7/2 Skooter AMPS 225 +5.5 387 PMPS 289 +.5 258 +1 259 +1

I do think we might want to consider starting over with him since he went up in whole unit increments once/week to get to where he is now.

Let some of us do some thinking on what might be a better dose to start back on and then you hold that dose until the numbers tell us what to do next.

What's Skooter weigh? Is he underweight?

We're more than happy to help you any way we can!
 
Re: 7/2 Skooter AMPS 225 +5.5 387 PMPS 289 +.5 258 +1 259 +1

Hi Molly. I'm glad you came over to LL. The people on the main forum don't post as often as we do here and there are a lot more people to help you. My Max also stopped getting on my bed much since his diagnosis and he hasn't had keytones. I thought perhaps neuropathy but my vet said not and now I am thinking perhaps it's from arthritis. He gets onto my bed using his cat condo as a stepping stool and that is how he used to get on his tall condo which he never gets on any more. What are you feeding Skooter? Is his IBD under control?
 
Re: 7/2 Skooter AMPS 225 +5.5 387 PMPS 289 +.5 258 +1 259 +1

One small correction....my name is actually Molly, not Rachel. ....

I added these to his spreq, but here they are:
+5 = 314
+8 = 424

Should I be concern about the 424 @ +8? He had a whole day almost all in the 200s....I noticed that at +5 for both AM and PM he hit numbers within the 300 threshold. ...

Yes, I know I was a bit over zealous with testing but I panicked when he pretty much threw up everything he ate like 10 minutes after he ate..

Hopefully I get all the questions asked answered

1. He is on Royal Canin HP
2. IBD medication is .5 ml of budesonide (he gets this at 21:45 each night)
3. Skoots is sitting at 12 pounds 8 ounces which is a little less than he has been in the past, but within his weight range
4. His IBD is well under control....I have been sick myself and slept through my alarm Tues night, which is why I think he threw up tonight (or Wednesday I guess now)

We are also thinking it might be arthritis. My baby is 17, so I guess he isn't a baby anymore lol

My sister got us some stairs to put by the bed....at first he would not use them, but now he does :)


I sure hope I answered all the questions...I want to make sure I am doing the best for my baby...I would love to be able to learn a lot so I can pay it forward and help others the way everyone here has helped me...right now I not sure that will ever happen...

I typed this from my phone so please forgive my spelling errors :-)
 
Re: 7/2 Skooter AMPS 225 +5.5 387 PMPS 289 +.5 258 +1 259 +1

Forgot to add..
IBD is well under control when he gets his meds each night....

In the past I have tried other dry foods (before his diabetes dx) and he would thros up any other food we tried, even when he wason prednisone. ..we changed from the prednisone to the budesonide when he was dxd with diabetes
 
Re: 7/2 Skooter AMPS 225 +5.5 387 PMPS 289 +.5 258 +1 259 +1

His +11 is 451.....

Unless I "hear" (read otherwise), I will assume to stay with the 5U until y'all have had some time to review his spreadsheet and determine what to go down to....

Thanks again for taking time out of your lives to help a newbie such as myself!
 
Re: 7/2 Skooter AMPS 225 +5.5 387 PMPS 289 +.5 258 +1 259 +1

yes, go ahead with the 5 units for now

Do you have any test results from earlier? Like tests done at the vet? Anything that can add data into your spreadsheet will help.

Hopefully some of the people who deal with IBD will be around today to offer some other ideas for feeding. While it's possible the only thing he can eat successfully is the dry, most of the time, we're usually pretty good at finding lower carb options that can be tolerated if you're willing to give them a try.

When you do today's condo, it might help to put something like "IBD advice needed" into your subject line along with your numbers (when you start running out of room, you just have to delete the least useful information like older test results

Sorry for the name blooper too!
 
Re: 7/2 Skooter AMPS 225 +5.5 387 PMPS 289 +.5 258 +1 259 +1

Hi Molly. The prednioslone likely resulted in the diabetes as it has for many cats. The switch is meds will help but I've heard it still can cause a rise in BG as well. I think if a cat is prone to diabetes these drugs can cause the rise. I've had a couple of cats on pred and many on the IBD and pancreatitis lists are on them without the issue. It's good that it is controlling the IBD. Did you need to switch food with the diagnosis or is this the one Skooter was on since IBD? I'm not familiar with the it. My Max will be 17 soon too. I hope you got some sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top