7/2 SHEBA AMPS 311 +3.5 218; +4.5 153; +5.5 77;+ 7 92; +8 115;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Last condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-30-sheba-amps-479-3-5-329-7-329.140220/

AMPS 311
Still bouncing or whatever it is she is doing. This is the 6th cycle. If it is a bounce it is taking longer than it has been to resolve. So disappointing.
She was quiet when I got up this morning. Didn't come to greet me but got up when I got out the food. She is eating.
So if she doesn't go down to green this cycle, I would like to increase. Is that OK?
Any thoughts or ideas would be welcome. Thanks
 
The way I decided if I needed to leave more time for a bounce to resolve, was to look at that last low number - the +5/97 on 6/29, and count forward 3 days. That would be the middle of today's am cycle. That's really the longest it "ought" to take. It looks like Sheba has recently been clearing her bounces in as little as 2 days, so 3 days is generous. I agree that it would be ok to increase her dose tonight if you didn't see the bounce clear and have her get back into green today.
 
The way I decided if I needed to leave more time for a bounce to resolve, was to look at that last low number - the +5/97 on 6/29, and count forward 3 days. That would be the middle of today's am cycle. That's really the longest it "ought" to take. It looks like Sheba has recently been clearing her bounces in as little as 2 days, so 3 days is generous. I agree that it would be ok to increase her dose tonight if you didn't see the bounce clear and have her get back into green today.
Thanks Julie for that explanation as to how you do it. That is good to know.
Maybe she is taking longer to come off the bounce because she has been sick?????? is that possible? I still don't think she is 100%. She is eating fine and is generally OK but just little things like not getting up to meet me in the morning etc and bowels still not quite back to normal every time.
+4 is 218 so maybe she heard the threat of a dosecrease.
 
I don't think being sick would influence how long a bounce might last, however if there is any infection or inflammation, that alone could increase her blood sugar. So it might "look" like it's a bounce when it's just plain higher blood sugar.
 
I don't think being sick would influence how long a bounce might last, however if there is any infection or inflammation, that alone could increase her blood sugar. So it might "look" like it's a bounce when it's just plain higher blood sugar.
OK. So I will just have to wait and see what she has in store for me. Thanks
 
+4.5 153
So looks like she is coming off the bounce fast. I have just given her a tiny, tiny drop honey to slow the drop. I don't want to stop the momentum really, just slow it down a tad to stop another bounce.
 
I am sure the full moon has something to do with our kitties and their crazy numbers. Glad to see Sheba coming down, Hopefully she will settle into the good numbers and not drop too much or bounce back too high. Come on Sheba...make momma proud!
 
I'm glad to see Sheba is clearing the bounce. I think it was a good idea to slow her down. I used to give Max mc for that.
 
+5.5 77 another drop honey.:D

During the last couple of hours Sheba has been in and out of the LB trying to wee. In the past she has done this (3 or 4 occasions) and it usually passes after a few hours. I have mentioned it to the vet before and he said just to give her fluids. He said it is not a blockage (I have had that in a male cat).

This morning I cleaned her rear end following a loosish poop and it was after this that it started. Don't know if I irritated something or not.
She does a tiny tiny bit of urine sometimes. I managed to catch one and tested it and it showed ph of 7.5 (normally 6 for her) and a tiny bit of non haem blood. She has passed urine normally this morning so her bladder is not full, I am pretty sure. She is also still on antibiotics from the pancreatitis.
Not sure why she has a high ph...it is normally 6 and don't know why she is showing non haem blood. A week ago her U/A was normal
More stress....I hate it when she is unwell or not right.
Most concerned about the non haem blood. She has had the high ph a couple of times and it reverts to 6 next day.
 
My first thought was blockage race to the vet, when I saw the subject line so I'm glad you're confident it's not that. Try not to stress, we are the biggest bunch of helicopter mothers so we notice everything. I think in this situation try to pretend like you're a 'normal' bean, who would not have had the testing equipment available and would not know about the blood, for the rest of today and see how she tests tomorrow. It could be just one of those things.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

My only experience with in and out of LBs is cystitis with my civie. He would do dime sized pees. It can be painful. I wonder if some bupe or tamgesic would help. Fluids would help him too.
 
My first thought was blockage race to the vet, when I saw the subject line so I'm glad you're confident it's not that. Try not to stress, we are the biggest bunch of helicopter mothers so we notice everything. I think in this situation try to pretend like you're a 'normal' bean, who would not have had the testing equipment available and would not know about the blood, for the rest of today and see how she tests tomorrow. It could be just one of those things.

Oh Serryn....I had a much needed laugh when I read your post! :joyful: Yes I think we are all helicopter mothers.
I just managed to catch a bigger sample of her pee and tested it and it was all normal!! so I am thinking that maybe the colours ran into each other and clouded the result with the other one. Well....I am going to go with that theory for now!
God!.....I hate being a helicopter mother.
To make matters worse, poor Sheba has to go past 2 barking droolers to get to the little box (minding daughter's dogs). I brought the LB up into the lounge so she could get to it easily....she used it a couple of times then went down to her normal place and tried to go where it usually is. I raced up to get the LB but she did a tiny bit on the mat before I could get the LB back there.....so I have left it down there. She obviously feels more comfortable there. Still trying to go and doing tiny bits.
 
hope she's not flirting with uti.... fd kitties get all the problems.....

paws crossed it's all better tomorrow.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

My only experience with in and out of LBs is cystitis with my civie. He would do dime sized pees. It can be painful. I wonder if some bupe or tamgesic would help. Fluids would help him too.
Thanks for looking in Rhiannon and Wendy
Sheba has just finished her A/B this morning for the pancreatitis so she shouldn't have a UTI....... it was clavubactin which they give for UTIs
The second U/A test I just took was normal...... No nitrites showing in either test, so hopefully things will settle down,
I am giving her extra fluids.....chicken broth. If she is no better tonight I will give her some temgesic.
She has just taken herself up to her usually afternoon spot in the bedroom and it is quite a distance from the LB, so maybe she is loosing the urgency.......I hope so.
 
I was going to suggest a UTI as well. If there is one it might not be sensitive to the antibiotic she has been taking. I'm glad she seems to be feeling better and even more glad there isn't a blockage. I went through one with Max and nearly lost him.
 
Sure hope Sheba settles down for you soon Bron! I know you've been worried sick over her and seems like lately it's been one thing after another!

Send her off to the Full Moon Party....maybe a little partying will do the trick ;)
 
I was going to suggest a UTI as well. If there is one it might not be sensitive to the antibiotic she has been taking. I'm glad she seems to be feeling better and even more glad there isn't a blockage. I went through one with Max and nearly lost him.
Hi Elise
My vet said it is very unusual for female cats to get blockages as they are have wider urethras for the urine to come down and they tend not to get blocked.. She has had the same thing before except I haven't tested her urine before (and found a problem). She is still upstairs and hasn't come down to the LB for a while, so I am hoping it is resolving itself.
I have had 2 male cats who have got blockages. It can be an expensive exercise to get them treated at the emergency vet at the weekend!
 
Sure hope Sheba settles down for you soon Bron! I know you've been worried sick over her and seems like lately it's been one thing after another!

Send her off to the Full Moon Party....maybe a little partying will do the trick ;)
Good idea........I hope they have a spare LB there for her exclusive use!:eek::joyful:
We have had a really good run for many months with her....and now it seems to be one thing after another........and I hate being a helicopter mother, I really do. Why can't I be one of those people who doesn't seem to worry if their cat/dog eats, sleeps pees etc.
 
Elise beat me to the punch. Different bacteria respond to different ABs. Sorry if I should already know this, but do you ever give her sub-q fluids? If not, it might not be a bad idea.

Yes, there are absolutely helicopter moms on this board. Most, if not all of us, are. Otherwise we wouldn't be here. We love our kitties that much.

Sending lots of vines.
 
Elise beat me to the punch. Different bacteria respond to different ABs. Sorry if I should already know this, but do you ever give her sub-q fluids? If not, it might not be a bad idea.

Yes, there are absolutely helicopter moms on this board. Most, if not all of us, are. Otherwise we wouldn't be here. We love our kitties that much.

Sending lots of vines.
Hi Tricia........no Sheba doesn't have any sub Q fluids at this point. Unless she is sick with something like pancreatitis, she can manage well with drinking all the fluids she needs. It is only when she is sick, we need the sub Q fluids. I am not sure how I am going to get on once she needs them either.....as far as I know there is only one person with a cat who gives sub Q fluids (who goes to my vet practice). I haven't had a CRD kitty before, but as far as I know, I don't think they do sub Q fluids at home as readily as you all do in the US. ....I could be wrong...but I remember about a year ago when Sheba was getting sick a lot and needed the fluids several times, I asked about doing them at home and he said no. We don't have access to as many of the drugs you do OTC either. AUS......Great place to live....but expensive to have sick animals.

Sheba hasn't tried to use the LB for an hour.......so hopefully it is settling down ....whatever it was.
 
Interesting. Lactated Ringers isn't really a drug. I don't know why a vet would discourage you from giving fluids if the kitty needed them. I hope Sheba doesn't need them.
 
Healing prayers for Sheba and hugs for you Bron. Helicopter parents is a term we all understand on this board it seems. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Healing prayers for Sheba and hugs for you Bron. Helicopter parents is a term we all understand on this board it seems. :bighug:
Thanks @Voula ,
I Meant to answer you hours ago but got caught up with things.
Sheba has gone back to going to the toilet properly again. She has done this on a couple of other occasions before as well. I have no idea why it happens...the first time it really worried me. This time I was worried about the haem blood in the urine test, but the following test I managed to get when she did another little wee later was completely clear........so I am going to ignore the whole thing unless it happens again. I am giving her extra fluids.
Now she has bounced from the fast drop this morning!
Tomorrow I have my hair appt I cancelled last week. Hopefully I can make it this time. I need something to cheer me up a bit!
 
Thanks @Voula ,
I Meant to answer you hours ago but got caught up with things.
Sheba has gone back to going to the toilet properly again. She has done this on a couple of other occasions before as well. I have no idea why it happens...the first time it really worried me. This time I was worried about the haem blood in the urine test, but the following test I managed to get when she did another little wee later was completely clear........so I am going to ignore the whole thing unless it happens again. I am giving her extra fluids.
Now she has bounced from the fast drop this morning!
Tomorrow I have my hair appt I cancelled last week. Hopefully I can make it this time. I need something to cheer me up a bit!
Bron that is good that Sheba is going to the toilet properly again. You must be relieved. Extra fluids are good. I hope you make it to the hairdresser tomorrow and that Sheba's glucose levels are at good and safe levels too. I hope Sheba's bouncing glucose levels clear soon.
 
Hi Bron, sorry I've missed all the drama today with Sheba's LB problems, although she seems to have sorted things out for herself by your last post. My civie Tiggy had much the same problem a few weeks back and the vet gave her a big fluid injection plus some ABs and that seemed to have solved the problem but it's always a worry when they wont eat, pee, poo - the list is endless and we all hover around getting wound up and stressed, you are not alone on that count. Hope you feel more relieved and calm now, big hugs to you both :bighug: Hope tomorrow is a quieter day and you manage to get to the hairdresser.
 
Add me to the list of those who hope Sheba is back to using the LB and there is no underlying problem--vines and prayers being sent if this is not the case! There's quite a contingent of us on these forums Bron, you are never alone! :smuggrin::smuggrin:
index.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top