7/2 Pudge AMPS 258 +3 242 +5 229 +8 233 +10 249 PMPS NO SHOT (HELP)

kitten68

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...167-9-266-pmps-297-5-210.291701/#post-3190541
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...167-9-266-pmps-297-5-210.291701/#post-3190541
........he's feeling sick tonite. got everything prepared for shot time and went to get him and he didn't want to eat. UH OH..... then had some light vomiting.. bit of hair and mostly bile/spit. felt had to consult vet. said it'd be fine/no big deal to not give shot tonite. so no shot given... can't have shot without eating.vet also just reminds me of his possible liver issues.

gave him a generic of his flea treatment. am really afraid this is it.. as can't think of what else different. maybe having a reaction/side effects. the only thing changed is that. :( the name brand has gotten so expensive.. now i regret not getting it. just cause we're dealing w all this.. but it's what we could manage. guess we'll be going right back to the name brand somehow. i didn't think it'd hurt to try. everything is expensive. he seemed to take medicine ok yesterday. vet said maybe that it, will just have to see. back to name brand it is, so know it won't be that..

im worried and a bit discouraged. how does forum deal w vomiting? how do things work when shots get skipped?... what to do if don't feel like eating? haven't skipped shots yet on Lantus. see for some its fine, works out fine tho.. idk. understand it messes w depot.. should i be worried about low numbers, depot flushing? do i understand depot right? am worried about too high numbers.. if able to eat throughout tonite and able to keep down, shot in AM?..

ugh terrible. guys we're tired. :( especially me. this has all been really painful. idk what to think. i just feel bad about everything.

@Wendy&Neko @Diane Tyler's Mom @Shell @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @tiffmaxee @Alicia & Kit cat @Angela & Cleo
 
Last edited:
what do i do if he doesn't wanna eat at all tonite? not eating also makes him sick.. what a predicament. :(
how often should i test?
 
can't have shot without eating
Not true. Even cats who are going to have an operation with anaesthesia and who are not allowed to eat can have at least a half dose. Insulin does a lot more in the body than just combat the carbs in food. Save that knowledge away should this happen again.

Vomiting never changed whether I gave insulin. I still did. Remember that Lantus doesn't onset (start to lower the numbers) until 2-3 hours after the shot. You have that time to try to get food in. Sometimes a 1/2 to one hour break is enough to settle the tummy and get them eating again. I almost never had a problem with Neko not wanting to eat, until her kidney disease got worse and she got small cell lymphoma. As long as I could syringe a bit of food in, she got her shot. Sometimes it was higher % LC than normal. At that time she was on Levemir and didn't onset until around +5, so I had lots of time to get her sorted.

Any chance you could try a bit of food on a spoon - maybe a different flavour. Or something like a bit of Churu, just so some food gets in. Often getting just a bit of food in the tummy, "primes the pump" so to speak. It settles the tummy and makes them want more.

how often should i test?
Test again now. If he's still going up from +10 - which I expect, you don't need to test again as you didn't give insulin. You can get a before bed test if you are curious. Since you skipped tonight, you can give Pudge's next shot at any time frame you like next. A skip is an ideal time to adjust shot times should you need to. If he's high tonight, try to get a ketones test in if you can. Not eating + not enough insulin + infection or system inflammation is a bad combination.
 
Not true. Even cats who are going to have an operation with anaesthesia and who are not allowed to eat can have at least a half dose. Insulin does a lot more in the body than just combat the carbs in food. Save that knowledge away should this happen again.

Vomiting never changed whether I gave insulin. I still did. Remember that Lantus doesn't onset (start to lower the numbers) until 2-3 hours after the shot. You have that time to try to get food in. Sometimes a 1/2 to one hour break is enough to settle the tummy and get them eating again. I almost never had a problem with Neko not wanting to eat, until her kidney disease got worse and she got small cell lymphoma. As long as I could syringe a bit of food in, she got her shot. Sometimes it was higher % LC than normal. At that time she was on Levemir and didn't onset until around +5, so I had lots of time to get her sorted.

Any chance you could try a bit of food on a spoon - maybe a different flavour. Or something like a bit of Churu, just so some food gets in. Often getting just a bit of food in the tummy, "primes the pump" so to speak. It settles the tummy and makes them want more.


Test again now. If he's still going up from +10 - which I expect, you don't need to test again as you didn't give insulin. You can get a before bed test if you are curious. Since you skipped tonight, you can give Pudge's next shot at any time frame you like next. A skip is an ideal time to adjust shot times should you need to. If he's high tonight, try to get a ketones test in if you can. Not eating + not enough insulin + infection or system inflammation is a bad combination.
you know.. i have to be honest, all this just feels bad to hear half the time.. like im screwing up. all of the time. and frankly things are so tight i dont have much to offer him outside of what i have at home rn.

i wasnt aware of any of this. its always said its important o eat first. and my thing is being nervous of what if he doesnt eat within the 2 or 3 hrs and had the shot. and the said to skip. here says to consider your vet also….

anyway, he came out to me and asked for some food. he got a bit. didnt give a full meal to see if he’d keep it down. got treats too. so far is doing ok. he walked to his bowl and eater but didnt drink/eat anymore just now.

will give shot now at our normal time. i dont have anything to test for ketones. i cant help any of that tbh rn. hopefully its fine. we have no support. this is so stressful and sad. doing best and its not enough.
 
you know.. i have to be honest, all this just feels bad to hear half the time.. like im screwing up. all of the time. and frankly things are so tight i dont have much to offer him outside of what i have at home rn.

i wasnt aware of any of this. its always said its important o eat first. and my thing is being nervous of what if he doesnt eat within the 2 or 3 hrs and had the shot. and the said to skip. here says to consider your vet also….

anyway, he came out to me and asked for some food. he got a bit. didnt give a full meal to see if he’d keep it down. got treats too. so far is doing ok. he walked to his bowl and eater but didnt drink/eat anymore just now.

will give shot now at our normal time. i dont have anything to test for ketones. i cant help any of that tbh rn. hopefully its fine. we have no support. this is so stressful and sad. doing best and its not enough.
Don’t be down on yourself . You are doing the very best you can . It’s all so confusing and I totally understand where u are coming from. I’m rooting for you and Pudge
 
:bighug: thank you so very much for that…… been a frightening challenging ride this past year and sometimes juggling so much and so much confusion at times.. and indecision.. not a fun time. thank you, same here! :cat: ..

he did so well last night.. eating.. and today much better. looks like maybe hairball. and hes been 158 for a number of hours now. :)

i will be shooting this number if its still that.. think thats ok. want to maintain numbers.

@Wendy&Neko @Nancyco* @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Last edited:
Don’t be down on yourself . You are doing the very best you can . It’s all so confusing and I totally understand where u are coming from. I’m rooting for you and Pudge
i see you use some supplements from pet well being!!? :) i got some milk thistle from them i wanna start him on :woot:..
 
Back
Top