7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155 PMPS 142

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478

Look at as a good thing, you know Napoleon's liver will step in if one day he dropped and you were not home.
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478

Nice LIVER! wow! Look at that strong response. ( :roll: I am trying flattery here....we do need to let Mr. Liver know that he has been needed with all those hormones that it has been releasing.) HAS being the operative word here...but shhhhhh.... :lol:
We will witness Mr. Pancreas starting to take back its rightful duties and it will be WAR between them until it is settled.
What a great day for Napoleon yesterday....there will be more to come! Nice job! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478

Thank you Pat. I've learned to relax a little with these highs and know his body is doing it's thing. He is getting there, He will get there, He is on his way :-D
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319

Ran home for lunch to take BG.
He was 319 at +5.
He ate lunch and was running around playing - bouncing off my walls (literally).
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319

Napoleon is a good student beginning in Liver Training School!! You are both doing great!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

He's going lower as the day goes on - if he is lower at PMPS what should I shoot?

Thanks!
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

142 at PMPS -decided to wait 30 - 45 minutes and test after feeding him. If he is high I'll shoot.
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

You shot a green a few days ago on a slightly higher dose. If you have strips and HC at home, this number is fine to shoot. A 155 and a 142 are pretty much the same number.

As an FYI, if you are stalling the shot, do not feed. You end up seeing the food spike vs. knowing whether numbers are rising.
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

Crap! I fed him an waited 30 minutes. He is 130 now - still dropping... not sure what to do. Didn't shoot anything yet.
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

I have to go somewhere around 7 - is it a bad idea to skip the shot if he is still dropping in another 20 minutes?
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

Nevermind... cancelled so I will be here tonight.
When will it be safe to know if I should shoot and when is it too late?
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

What about shooting a reduced dose? You could shoot 2.0 or 2.5. Would you be comfortable with a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose vs. stalling for who knows how long?
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

Would it be completely stupid of me to see how far he drops on his own without shooting tonight? Would that be a dumb move?
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

I would suggest you think about it. You will deplete Napoleon's shed and will be attempting to regain the ground over the weekend. I also think you will see a red by AMPS. It's your decision but it's not what I would do with Gabby.
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

That makes sense Sienne. I am going to give him a BCS of 1u - I will be comfortable with that.
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

I agree with Sienne, but Napoleon is your cat and it's your decision.
If you are going to be home and are equipped with gravy and strips... why not shoot? You know that you are in control of the BG with the gravy. You are not shooting and running away.
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

Thanks Sienne and Helene.

I gave him 1u. He's not even spiking like he does after he eats, so I am comfortable with that. Hope I made the right decision.
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

Well 1U is better than none... still draws from the shed though... so get a +1. Cannot forget about the shed! Consider today an experiment if you wish.

For future reference, here are a few rules (and I apologize if you know them already).

* Order of events (for most cats... exception for the extreme pukers or those with not appetite) -> Test, shoot, feed
* No food 2 hours before shot time.
* At shot time, choices are (in most cases, again some exceptions apply): shoot full dose on time; shot reduce dose on time; delay 15 mins (again with no food), test again and decide what to shoot. Delayed and reduced shots are like double-dipping.... not allowed (Ok, I'm kidding a little here)

When I was going to be home, and I had strip and gravy on hand... I was almost unstoppable. I told myself that I had to get data when I was home so I could be confident when I wasn't home. I was chicken manure and I shot, fed and got a +0.5 hr, and a +1 and so on....

Look around at other SSs... you'll see that you are not alone.
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

Thank you Helene - this is great information.
I am definitely a wuss with these lower numbers - especially coming from PZI which I know is a completely different animal.

Good idea, tonight will be my experiment - to see how he does. If the heavens are smiling upon us and he happens to respond to the 1u and have a low preshot tomorrow would that most likely mean I should decrease the dose? Sorry for so many questions and I sooo appreciate your help. We just aren't used to an insulin working so well for us! :lol:
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

Oh... my friend... I see PZI cobwebs in this brain... where is my swiffer!
Lantus is not based on pre-shot number my friend! Can't based your dose on PS!!!! (disclaimer, unless it's in the 50s then there is some discussion room)
Chances are Napoleon will be high tomorrow.... combination of less insulin in the shed, delayed shot and less insulin given.
Remember this... The shot you monkey with today will monkey with you tomorrow!
Does that help?
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

This makes a lot of sense.
My brain most likely needs some swiffering then. I have one - will it work? :-D
 
Re: 7/2 Napoleon AMPS - 478 +5 319 +7 1/2 266 +11 155- dose ?

Dose reductions are only earned if there is a test of below 50 for a cat within one year of diagnosis or below 40 for all others. Take a look at the dosing protocols. Remember, Lantus reductions are not based on pre-shot numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top