7/2 Morgaine AMPS217 first dose incr .25,+4 177,+8 186

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday's condo

I went ahead and gave Morgaine a .25 dose increase this AM. She has been increasing the PD/PU and her numbers remained relatively flat. I will test a little more often today and sooner to be sure she is safe. My goal is to get her down under her renal threshold so she isn't spilling glucose. Otherwise we are dong well. She is allowing me to do what is needed and the ear pokes are going more smoothly. Both ears are beginning to bleed more easily.

About the .25 increase: That is a little difficult to really judge where that imaginary line is. I did go over the 1/2 u mark and somewhere between the 1 u mark but dang that is a judgement call. I have looked at the photos as well. Hopefully there will be a difference.
 
Re: 7/2 Morgaine AMPS217 first dose incr .25

boy i know what you mean on those .25 measurements! it's hard to tell, isn't it. i think if you're consistent, that's the main thing.

just make sure you get lots of tests in with the increase. i see you do a lot - good job!

have a super saturday!
 
Re: 7/2 Morgaine AMPS217 first dose incr .25,+4 177

+4 test 177. Morgaine is holding at same level thus far. I am assuming it will take some time for a small increase to make a difference. I feed her at PSAM, +4,+8 and PSPM, and +4 and a snack at +8. She eats 1.5 oz per meal and each meal is 40 cal.
 
Re: 7/2 Morgaine AMPS217 first dose incr .25,+4 177

Good luck with the dosecrease - I hope it brings things down over all. Very nice +4!

I know on measuring that .25. it is hard. as long as you are consistent in how you measure it, whether or not it is a true .25, or .3, or.... you're good to go. when my guy was on a fat quarter unit - omg! I struggled with that one, but did aim to measure it the same each dose. Good luck!

I am glad to that the pokies are going better. YAY!
 
hi rosalie! you want this information, i suspect: New Dose Wonkiness

for some reason, whenever you increase a dose you can end up with higher numbers for a few days. It's called New Dose Wonkiness - you hold your new dose through it til it settles down. so don't be too surprised if Morgaine goes up for a couple of days. hang on to your hat and resist the urge to change the dose! it's a wild ride!
 
julie1220 said:
hi rosalie! you want this information, i suspect: New Dose Wonkiness

for some reason, whenever you increase a dose you can end up with higher numbers for a few days. It's called New Dose Wonkiness - you hold your new dose through it til it settles down. so don't be too surprised if Morgaine goes up for a couple of days. hang on to your hat and resist the urge to change the dose! it's a wild ride!
Thanks Julie. I did read about this but there was so much to read, it is always nice to be reminded as I take each step. I do get that I am now needing to hold this dose for several days and see how she settles into it.
 
i should clarify, that's hold the dose unless morgaine goes too low. that always changes the overall plan.

after reading a zillion pages at the beginning, i still needed them pointed out to me as they were relevant, so i hope it helps you too.

have a nice evening!
 
Most definitely helps me. Believe me when I tell you that between doing it all for myself and now doing all of this for my girl, I need all the reminders and help I can get. Hypos can be nasty and I have scared myself with my own at times so I do not ever take them lightly. My hypo kit is loaded with everything I was advised to get from the folks here. I even bought high carb treats and have some feeding syringes as well as the rectum bulb or whatever it is called. Hopefully, with careful checking, I will not need to go there but I am ready and if, for some reason, she went below 100 at this point, I think I would cut back to the .50 dose dependiong on where we were in the cycle. Though different for me, I think the principles are the same like not ever shooting insulin without knowing the PS BG and not shooting a low number with a normal dose if it is time for a shot etc.

Her PM preshot was 166. Since my cycles are later than most of you, I have not done a check since then but we are due soon. I am a very late riser and a night owl so you will see me posting well into the wee hours on the condo of the previous day since my day begins at 11 AM or so.

Thanks again for all of the advice, reminders and support. I hope I will be able to reciprocate by helping others here when I am more experienced.
 
Hi, Rosalie,

Just wanted to say hi and welcome! You are doing a great job. Sounds like you are ready. I hope Morgaine responds nicely to this increase.
 
Hi Rosalie, Everything looking good. When you increase, the "shed" has to increase too, so for the time it takes to fill the shed to the new dose amount, most of that .25 increase will go into the shed and not into working on Morgaine's numbers. This is another factor to consider (in addition to New Dose Wonkiness).
You are doing great, and those are good numbers.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks for the welcome and thanks for the encouragement. Just an FYI, this is yesterday's condo. Today's is
here
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top