7/2 Miss Kitty PMPS 212

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday:
[http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46712]

This was before eating. Gave her 1/4 can of Cowboy Cookout and her little bit of tuna for the test then her .75 units of insulin.

Don't understand why she is up and down. Her numbers were so good before I went on my vacation staying in the 100s without any insulin. I thought maybe this time...
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172

At +3, acutally about +3.5, she had no more food except for a bit of tuna enough to keep her busy so I could do the test.
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276

Good morning!

I'm not an expert on dosing or reading spreadsheets so I'd be interested to see those with more experience weigh in.

I did take a look at your SS and got a little confused by it. It seems that Miss Kitty's dosage has been moving around too much and hasn't had a chance for Lantus to do its job. I also can't tell what happened between 5/7-5/27 and 5/29-6/16.

Lantus likes consistency and the protocol recommends holding the dose for 3-5 days to see how their nadirs do before making any adjustments. Nadirs are the low point in their cycle, usually around +5 through +7 and adjustments are usually made in .25u-.5u at a time.

This is the part where I'm not 100% sure on but I think the Miss Kitty used her storage shed when she was given 0.0u on 6/17 through 6/22. It seems that the insulin is doing double duty where it's first trying to fill back that storage shed. When that's done, it can then do its normal job. Here's a link with more info on the storage shed

Before adjusting Miss Kitty's insulin, I recommend getting spot checks to see what her nadir is and ask for guidance from the experts by putting "dosing help needed" in your subject line.

Hopefully we can get her back to blues and greens in no time!
Bonnie
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172

Hi Bonnie

Thanks for your comments. I just read about the storage shed the other day here, I never knew about that before. I just found this board a week or so ago, so I have some missing timeframes because I had not been checking her BG everyday just when the vet would say to do a curve. Now I'm trying to follow the program here as best as I can as nothing much is happening with my vet, whenever I call there with a question, my particular doctor is never there, etc. There is so much more info on this board than I get from the vet.

Anyway, I have a long weekend this weekend and I plan on checking her often over these three days, her poor ears. I work full-time and also do some part-time work at home, so it's a little hard, but I want to try and do what I can to get her more under control and maybe even in remission.

Can anyone tell me how or point me to some directions on how to add your cat's profile to your posts and maybe even a picture? I see everyone has pictures of their cats, might as well add mine too.
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172

Ah, I see! Yes, my vet did that too.

"Test once a week and call me with the result."
"Eat Prescriptions d/m dry." (the cat, not me) :-D
"Call me if there's any problem."

I couldn't get ahold of him either. And knowing what I know now, I disappointed he put Junior in such a precarious position.

Just do the best you can and know that the more data you have the more it'll help the experts interpret what's going on to guide you in dosage. I don't know...to me, the fact she went blue makes me optimistic!

Don't understand why she is up and down.
First thing I'd do is flag them down by putting something like "need help understanding numbers" or any specific question you have. I'm far from being an expert and it would help flag someone down.

Can anyone tell me how or point me to some directions on how to add your cat's profile to your posts and maybe even a picture?

Underneath the FDMB logo, click on User Control Panel.

You'll see 6 tabs. Click on Profile.

You'll see 4 options. Click on Edit Signature to add your signature, links to spreadsheet and profile. It looks like you've done it for your spreadsheet? If you roll over the URL button (in between "Img" and "Normal") above, a little box will appear telling you how to insert a URL to whatever word you're using so that the entire URL doesn't show up. So if I wanted to insert CNN, I'd put the followed by CNN and then bracket slash url bracket. Sorry I have to spell it out like that. It thinks I'm trying to insert a URl and won't let me show you better. Hope it makes sense but roll over the URL and it should make more sense!

Click on Edit Avatar to upload a picture of Miss Kitty. If the size is too big, you can resize it for free at picnik.com.

Holler if you need more help!
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172

Oh, thanks. I will try to get her profile done and a pic of her sometime this weekend.
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172

i think the short answer is what bonnie said - that you're getting wonky numbers because of the inconsistencies in insulin - but even if you were giving the same amount there is still a "flow" to the numbers. I'm not sure what your ideal dose would be, though, and would want some input on that.

but then when you get a suggestion for a dose, you need to stick with it every 12 hours for a minimum of 3 days to see how miss kitty's body responds to it.

here's the post with info that you need: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

do you know about neosporin with pain relief ointment? if you put it on heavily about 20 minutes before you're going to test, then wipe it off (leaving the hair a tiny bit greasy) when you're ready to test, it will numb her ear some. when i've had a lot of testing in one day, i've slathered it on when i was headed for bed. also, make sure you apply pressure after poking until the bleeding stops, even if it's just a few seconds. otherwise they bruise and it's a zillion times worse to poke then.
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172

I didn't know about the Neosporin. I have some here in the house, but is this a different one with pain relief? I've been putting vaseline on her ear before I poke it. It never seems to bother her when I poke her ear, but with all this extra testing I am doing, it might. Speaking of testing, it is time for another one.
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172 +6 138

Ah, now we're getting somewhere, she's at 138!! Spoonful of tuna to eat while poking.
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172 +6 138

yes, neosporin with pain relief has a numbing agent in it. i thought the ointment worked much better than the cream, because it acts to bead up the blood like the vaseline does.

the cats were wrestling and one of them left a long bunch of scratches on my foot - it was really bugging me and i put on the neosporin with pain relief - voila, all better.

nice +6 - awesome!
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172 +6 138

I'll have to look for some of that Neosporin and yes, she is looking better today. Just checked at +9, she is at 168, had a spoonful of tuna for the test.

Just a spponful of tuna helps the insulin go down, the insulin go down, the insulin go down, just a spoonful of tuna helps the insulin go down, in the most delightful way. He he.
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172 +6 138

april925 said:
I'll have to look for some of that Neosporin and yes, she is looking better today. Just checked at +9, she is at 168, had a spoonful of tuna for the test.

Just a spponful of tuna helps the insulin go down, the insulin go down, the insulin go down, just a spoonful of tuna helps the insulin go down, in the most delightful way. He he.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

You've got a good sense of humor.

Perhaps a tunatini will help as well.

tunatini-1.gif
 
Re: 7/2 Miss Kitty AMPS 276 +3 172 +6 138 +9 168

Oh yeah, we will definitely have some of those tunatinis when she gets well. My other one is tuna-lin... My husband calls me Dr. Feel Good when he sees me coming with the needle.
 
At 212 for p.m. pre-shot. She had a little over 1/4 can of Cowboy Cookout at 4:30 p.m. and a spoonful of tuna with her test at 5:15 p.m. Will give .75 units in about 10 minutes.
 
I believe you mean "Mary Pokins" songs... :lol: :lol:

if you ever have a moment...you might take a glance at Binks' SS.

he dithered around in goofy numbers, etc. until that magical day that we hit the right dose...and with some back and forth, up and down,
suddenly began tripping the light fantastic down the dosing ladder.

I was a complete newcomer to the feline diabetes world...but with the kindly guidance from FDMB folks...learned a little about the show.
of course, every kitty is unique, and as human partners we're just along for the ride...but seeing where other cats had been and how various ones respond was a real eye-opener for me.

you're doing great!

celi & the Brat Prince
 
at +3 hours she is at 261, hmmm, a bit higher. I don't think I will be able to check any more tonight. We'll see what happens tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top