? 7/2 Mikey AMPS 130 + 3 44 PMPS 441

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-1-mikey-pmps-368-3-258.140336/#post-1447700

Argh! Mikey! Technically speaking, this is the 4th time Mikey has been in the 40's on this dose. They've been so spread out, that I didn't even notice. My gut says not to reduce. Obviously, I'm not increasing tonight. I already shot .38 tonight, is it ok to hold the dose tomorrow? @julie & punkin (ga) @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby @Wendy&Neko

Dear Mikey's Liver,
Take a valium.
Mommy

China, dat bes a great idea you has. We just need to be sure we stay clear in case we scare that silly bunny so bad she pees!
 
I've often wondered if the 3 times under 50 would apply when spread out. The one time it happened to Max I didn't reduce. I will be interested to see what others say.
 
Although this is Mikey's 4th time under 40, the first was probably under the influence of the depot. That still means he's done the suggested 3 times under 50. I think I would reduce. I notice that last time you only did a shave reduction and not the full reduction. Looking back at some of the posts in the Where Can I Find post, there is a good one with input from Jill, where she says:

these are givens:

--- practicing TR is an aggressive approach in treating feline diabetes

--- opting to shave the dose (modified version) instead of taking a full reduction of 0.25 unit is being more aggressive than following the "normal" TR guidelines for a reduction

--- opting to hold the dose until kitty proves they're ready for a reduction by dropping below 50 three times (Rand/Roomp) is being more aggressive than following the "normal" TR guidelines for a reduction

--- opting to only reduce after a "long term" diabetic drops below 40 (modified version) is being more aggressive than following the "normal" TR guidelines for a reduction


when you combine any two or three of the options listed above the risk of becoming over dose is there because one is not reducing as much as has been deemed safe. in other words, when you deviate from the norm you have to be aware of the responsibility of monitoring carefully as well as the real possibility that you may see an unexpected drop... seemingly coming out of nowhere.

please exercise caution when deviating from the protocol. when you combine any of those methods above... you're taking a little bit from two or three different reduction methods by combining them into one plan for your cat.
 
I would also recommend you reduce. If you reduce and he goes nowhere, then you can take him back up. I understand it's difficult to reduce when they start looking a little better but I have missed a reduction or two and really wished I hadn't. Better to be safe and have to go back up.
 
After staring at Mikey's spreadsheet for a good while, I finally decided to look back at his condo for 5/31 in an attempt to figure out why on earth we didn't take the full reduction. Marje had suggested not taking the full reduction, because that dose hadn't worked. She also suggested a continuous glucose monitor for Mikey that could transmit data to me at work. Now I just need her to invent it. :) I think she was probably right about that reduction at that time for Mikey in particular. He really is an odd duck. However, it sounds like the time for that .38 dose has passed, at least for now. A full reduction would be .13. There is no way I can measure that, but Don is pretty sure he can, and he'll be home for the next three days. Should we plan on reducing to that?

One other thing Marje suggested is switching to Lev. That's not off the table, but I'm not convinced that I can pull off a Lev schedule once I go back to school. Also, there is a financial component to the decision, as we have had a boatload of unexpected car expenses.

PLEASE NOTE: If you are new, never, ever, ever copy the dosing we use on Mikey for your cat. Mikey is a big time odd duck, who we have a good amount of data on. Please post a condo for your cat and get advice that is specific to him/her.
 
Mary, I am finding using calipers is so much better for measuring the small doses especially. If you are not using calipers I highly recommend it.

I am not very good at suggesting doses, but I don't think you will want to drop to .13 unit. Maybe down to .25 or maybe even .30 or even .28, honestly I don't really know. Just maybe not a full .25 unit reduction though.
 
So you think it's ok to not take the full reduction, @Sienne and Gabby ? He doesn't look ready for .1 to me either, but I do want him to be safe.

Tina, we've tried calipers, but even with a magnifying glass, I can't see well enough to measure with them in such small amounts. I've needed reading glasses since I was six. Don can eyeball tiny amounts accurately, because of his guitarmaking experience.
 
Since you already shot tonight, let me think about it and study his SS. I've got to give Gracie her shot, etc shortly so I'll be back in a while. Hang in there!
 
I think the 0.25u dose is a good idea. If you take a full reduction of 0.25u to 0.1u, then it's a pretty large decrease, percentage wise. And we know how Mikey does with larger reductions. pfffffftttttt. So, if it were me, I'd try 0.25u but keep an eye out on that depot from the 0.38u dose.
 
Tina, we've tried calipers, but even with a magnifying glass, I can't see well enough to measure with them in such small amounts.

Steve gave me a magnifying head thing and I use that and it does help. But the first couple of times I asked him to check for me because he tends to be a little more precise than I am, he is an extreme perfectionist, and in a case like this that is a good thing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top