Tatiwen
Member Since 2020
Hi Community,
After a disappointing visit to the vet on Monday where he told me to continue only a shoot per day, yesterday I asked for advice in this community.
Originally Luna was only receiving one injection a day of 0.76U. Base on the consultation I did in this community, the suggestion was to start with 0.5U twice a day.
Last night 7:30 pm (PMPS), it was her first second shoot of the day. Before the shoot, her BG was 198. I injected 0.5U and fed her.
As usual at 4:30 AM today I got up to feed all the cats, including Luna. At this time I did not do the BG test because it was so early, but she ate her food with a great appetite and I did not observe any signs of hypo on her, she acted as usual. Since we started this journey with diabetes and due to her neuropathy, I serve her food in her bed.
This morning, 7:20 am (AMPS), before her morning shoot her BG was 139 so I decided not to give the injection. I offered him food as usual, but this time she didn't want to eat. I guess she was still satisfied with her 4:30 am meal.
At this point, I don't know what to do. Should I re-measure her BG and if it is above 200 apply insulin or in any case just monitor her BG and only apply insulin when the next cycle comes at 7:30 pm today?
For general information, she was diagnosed 3 weeks ago, the first week she was eating Glucose Support from Hill´s as per vet recommendation. Starting on week 2 I began to feed her wet food, but still giving her the dry food as her first meal of the day. But with all the research I did in this community I move to only wet food since last Saturday. She is eating a combination of Nature´s Logic Chicken, Instinct Rabbit, and Friskies canned food.
You can see how her number has behaved since she started with insulin.
I will appreciate your suggestion on what should I do.
Thanks,
Tati and Luna
After a disappointing visit to the vet on Monday where he told me to continue only a shoot per day, yesterday I asked for advice in this community.
Originally Luna was only receiving one injection a day of 0.76U. Base on the consultation I did in this community, the suggestion was to start with 0.5U twice a day.
Last night 7:30 pm (PMPS), it was her first second shoot of the day. Before the shoot, her BG was 198. I injected 0.5U and fed her.
As usual at 4:30 AM today I got up to feed all the cats, including Luna. At this time I did not do the BG test because it was so early, but she ate her food with a great appetite and I did not observe any signs of hypo on her, she acted as usual. Since we started this journey with diabetes and due to her neuropathy, I serve her food in her bed.
This morning, 7:20 am (AMPS), before her morning shoot her BG was 139 so I decided not to give the injection. I offered him food as usual, but this time she didn't want to eat. I guess she was still satisfied with her 4:30 am meal.
At this point, I don't know what to do. Should I re-measure her BG and if it is above 200 apply insulin or in any case just monitor her BG and only apply insulin when the next cycle comes at 7:30 pm today?
For general information, she was diagnosed 3 weeks ago, the first week she was eating Glucose Support from Hill´s as per vet recommendation. Starting on week 2 I began to feed her wet food, but still giving her the dry food as her first meal of the day. But with all the research I did in this community I move to only wet food since last Saturday. She is eating a combination of Nature´s Logic Chicken, Instinct Rabbit, and Friskies canned food.
You can see how her number has behaved since she started with insulin.
I will appreciate your suggestion on what should I do.
Thanks,
Tati and Luna
Last edited: