7/2 Lucy PMPS=160;+2=175;+5=198

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's

Recap

7/1 AMPS=112, +2=122, +5=113; +8=113
7/1 PMPS=214; +2=167; +4=146

7/2 AMPS=203; +2=221
7/2 PMPS=160; +2=175; +5=198

Lucy is still not feeling well, and her AMPS today is much higher than her usual again.
Her appetite isn't so good, but I was able to feed her the first breakfast.

How hot do you think is too hot for kitties?
As she get older, she has become much less tolerant to hot/cold temperature, and yesterday was too hot for her, on top of the expired V-B12.
Yesterday, the temperature of inside the apartment went up to 28C.
I think summer in Vancouver used to be cooler so most older apartment buildings do not have an air conditioning system.
I wanted to buy a portable air conditioner, but my windows open like the below pic, so I can't install the venting unit.
Lucy didn't like the feel of breeze from a fan, so I got rid of it, but I'm going to try a fan again this summer.
It's supposed to be hot again today. Poor Lucy.....
I think summer in Vancouver is getting hotter than before.
 

Attachments

  • window.jpg
    window.jpg
    5.7 KB · Views: 610
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

I'm sorry Lucy still isn't feeling well. Have you talked to your vetty yet about the B12? I don't blame you for being furious....how incredibly irresponsible for them to put a sticker over the expiration date.

Some kitties definitely seem more sensitive to heat than others. Josie's Ripley feels yucky when she gets overheated, too. And, we had another senior member last summer, Daphne, who also had a hard time with the heat. Like Lucy, Daphne had long fur, which I'm sure just compounds the sensitivity. My guys love the heat...they all retire to the hottest part of the house after eating, then lay there as flat as can be, even though there are much cooler options. Even my GA senior, Mario, who was 17 when he crossed last December, was still doing this last summer. It didn't seem to phase him. At the same time, fans totally freaked him out. I'm not well versed in this stuff...but I very vaguely recall that there MIGHT be some sort of portable AC unit that doesn't have to be in a window...I think. Maybe try a Google search on that idea.

Please feel better, little one!
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

Hi Mariko, sending healing vines for Lucy. I saw advertised here at Home Depot some really nice portable air conditioners for apartments. I hope you can Google and find something similar for your home. There are lots of apartments/condos here that don't have A/C as our summers never used to be so hot. Hope you can get the B12 today.
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

If you can't find a portable AC unit, putting ice cubes in the kitties' water can help. If Lucy hasn't figured it out, you might reacquaint her with tile floors. Tile is usually cooler than wood or carpet.
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

Thank you, Amy, for checking on Lucy and thinking of her.
I posted the vet's response yesterday, but you probably missed it, so I'll copy it here.

She said expired vial doesn't mean it's harmful, but it may not be as effective.
She thinks it's more likely that she has developed an allergy to one of the ingredients in it.
I told her I'd buy a new bottle, and try one more time and see how she does with UN-expired vial.
If it's helping her, I don't want her to miss out on the opportunity to feel better by assuming she is allergic to it.
If she gets sick again after injecting UN-expired vial next month, then I'll stop.

I'm going to call the pharmacist today to ask what he thinks.

I looked and looked for an air conditioning system that doesn't require a window or a hole on the wall for ventilation, and the only thing available is "evaporative cooler".
It sort of cools the air by spreading cool mists.
So far, I found only one Rona carries this system in Vancouver.
It says that this type of system is effective only in the area where climate is dry.
I don't think Vancouver is particularly dry, and that's probably why most store here don't carry it whereas it is widely available in US.
I'm thinking about giving it a try, but how this unit cools the air concerns me about mold, which will create another problem since Lucy's and my lungs aren't so great - I have allergy, and Lucy's lungs are a bit wheezier than normal.

Ginger is a bit like your kitties.
She doesn't mind the heat, and seems to enjoy the sun even when hot.
She is a curious cat, and that's another reason I didn't want to use a fan.
I don't want her paws or tail get caught, so I have to find a fan that is safe, maybe a tower kind......
I thought Dyson's wingless fan was perfect, but it costs $500 :o and does just what a normal fan does, minus wings....

I'm really interested to see how other people deal with their heat-sensitive kitties.....
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

Thank you, Ann, for the vines.
Thank you, Sienne.
I'll try the ice cubes. Lucy was flat on the hardwood floor yesterday, but I'll see if I can find some tiles that I can just put on the hardwood floor. Maybe I can buy a few tiles, and just put them on the wood floor to make a tiled area....
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

I'd try a box and some inexpensive tile. Most cat's can't resist a box!! I wonder if you were able to spray clay tile with some water if the evaporation would help to cool Lucy off. You may want to talk to someone at a tile store.
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

check this out,I'm getting one it has temp cage to set,thin to put in window with screens
Bionaire Thin Window Fan, 3 speeds, Digital LED Control Panel, NEW
found on ebay they have 2 different types one has remote control but they are just window fan
they can pull air out or you can set the temp for the right temp you what. They aren't very expensive.
Lucky lays in front of the tower fan or the tile floors he doesn't like hot he's like mom.
I'm glad it's cloudy here today.. good Luck
Linda
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203;+2=221 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

Thank you, Sienne.
Tiles in a box is a great idea.
I'll definitely try that.

Thank you, Linda.
I'll check the product you mentioned after work!

The compounding pharmacist couldn't tell me anything about expired V-B12, so I ended up calling the company who makes it - Univet Pharmaceuticals Ltd.
She said that their vial still has at least 6 months of shelf life after the expiration date, but it becomes just not as strong, according to their test.
She said it wouldn't be harmful.
But my vial was expired in October 2012, which is 8 months ago.
I guess they tested only upto 6 months after the expiration date.
I am so stupid for not looking for the expiration date. I'm so mad at myself.

Lucy is still not feeling well, but ate the whole breakfast.
Her +2 is still higher then her normal number..... :cry: :cry: :cry:
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203;+2=221 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

Hi Mariko,

How unprofessional of your vet's office to cover the expir. date!! I would be MAD too.

I think the tile is a great idea - that is where my guys stretch out when they are hot. And tile in a box sounds even better for a kitty!
Hope Lucy starts feeling better soon.
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203;+2=221 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

I like the clay tile in a box idea. I may have to try that.
I can tell when it's too warm for Shadow when she will only lay on the floor.

I live in a climate for evaporative cooling. ( and we use them)
I went and looked up Vancouver's humidity and it says you are moderately dry in the summer and rainy the rest of the year so it might work for you on dry days. The drier the air,
the better.

I have the same windows that you have and we have bought plexi-glass in the past to cut the ventilation hole for the portable air conditioner so that it has something to attach to
but doesn't let the hot air ( exhaust ) back in the house. That works very well.... you just need to find somewhere that sells it in larger sizes to cover your entire window opening.
You will have to clean your screen when you dismantle it for the fall season.
Most of the portable air conditioners have a vent system that resembles your dryer.
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203;+2=221 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

This thread just goes to show that, like humans, every cat is different. We get temperatures of up to 47 degrees here in summer, without air conditioning. 28 degrees seems mild to me. :-D

Too hot is too hot though, regardless of the temperature. I hope you work something out for Lucy. I love the clay tiles in a box idea.
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203;+2=221 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

It's a teeny bit cooler out there today. I hope Lucy finds some relief from the heat and those numbers.

When I worked in a local shelter, we used a couple of tower fans and open windows in the summer and just getting the air moving seemed to help the cats. Have you looked at Home Depot or Canadian Tire for portable air conditioners? Walmart also has some, but for on line sales only. There are some sales on now.
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy AMPS=203;+2=221 // HOW HOT IS TOO HOT?

Sorry to hear the heat is affecting Lucy. I hope you can figure something out to help keep her cooler.
 
Re: 7/2 Lucy PMPS=160 // THANK YOU!

Thank you, everyone, for your well wishes as well as sharing your ideas.
I am happy to let you know that Lucy is feeling better this evening.
She ate her dinner much better than breakfast. I am so relieved.
As Wendy said, today is just a little cooler than yesterday, and that is helping Lucy.
She is flat on the hardwood floor, so no doubt she is hot, but she is more alert and appetite is better.

As for cooling the apartment, I am going to do from low-tech to high-tech.
Thinking over and over about what's the best option was delaying actually doing something about it, so I just ordered 2 tower fans.
I ordered Ozeri brand because the review said it's quiet but moves a lot of air, and also it is safe for kids who like to stick their fingers into things.
I thought less noise might make it easier for the cats to get used to it.
Also if a child's finger doesn't get in, I think Ginger's paws and tail will be safe. Ginger is a bit like a naughty child.
I paid extra for an express delivery, so hopefully I will receive them soon.
I'll try the fans and Sienne's ceramic tiles in a box idea first.
If the cats don't get used to the fans, I'll move onto the next plan.

@ Linda - Thank you for your suggestion. I found that the Canadian Walmart also sell the same window fans.
I may buy one unit for the spare bedroom where Lucy likes to hang out. Living room windows and bedroom windows are Ginger's favorite place to hang out, peek outside, so I'll have to reserve those windows for Ginger, but I think it'll be good for the spare room (Lucy's room).

@ Rhiannon - Thank you for sharing your experience. I had never heard of an evaporative cooler before, so I was glad to hear it works from someone who actually uses it. I will consider this unit after the fans fail.
You see, Vancouver's today's humidity is 48%. it's far from dry. But this unit is inexpensive, so I think it's worth a try.
I thought about the plexi-glass & A/C before, but I couldn't see how I could cut a hole for the hose even if I manage to find a large enough material. Also I couldn't think of a way to mount the plex-glass to the window in a way it's easy to put it on/off.
I didn't want to have the window blocked the whole summer because Vancouver summer is not hot everyday.
On days that's not too hot, it's nicer to let the breeze in rather than A/C with windows closed.....
But if fans/evaporative cooler thing fail, I will ask how to do it at Home Depot, or just hire a handy man.

@ Wendy - Yes, today is cooler and Lucy is feeling better for that. My apartment gets quite hot in the evening time and stays hot till midnight on hot days, so she is still uncomfortable, but not as bad as yesterday.
I did look into portable A/C, but they too need a hole to put a hose out for ventilation. It comes with the window mounting parts (don't know what they're called), but the problem is how my windows open (see pic in the first post).
I'm going to try what you did at the shelter, 2 tower fans and open windows.

@ BJM - Thank you for the chilled bowl idea. I'll first try ice cubes and see if Lucy even likes chilled water before I buy the bowl - it's expensive :o Thank you for the idea.

Again, thank you everybody for your ideas!!!!!
 
Oh no!
I thought this cycle would be better since she is doing better than yesterday.
Her numbers have been higher since she got sick yesterday....
She was doing fine on this dose on Sunday.....

I'm worried now....
Maybe give her another day to get back on track, and consider dose adjustment????
 
I can't give dose advice but hopefully she'll start liking this dose tomorrow.

Good luck on the heat issues! I hope Lucy cools down soon. I have to have the AC on here like 3/4 of the year due to how far south I am. And the humidity sucks. :)
 
Maybe between the heat and her not feeling well earlier it will take a day or so for her numbers to bounce back....fingers crossed for better numbers today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top