7/2 Jenks AMPS 91 +4 49 +8 185 PMPS 128 +5 104 +9 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
7/1

Jenks had a pretty active early cycle today. When I got up to check him, he was at or just below 50. I gave him some low carb food, but I also added some karo syrup to the juice in the can because I wasn't sure I'd be able to wake up again in an hour or two to follow up with him. I was so sleepy I don't even remember how much I added. Judging by the +8, it was way too much. I goofed and really blew up his numbers. Sorry Jenks. I should've just let him eat the LC and surf. A 49 isn't THAT low, but I was worried about not being able to get up again in an hour or two if he continued down in spite of just the LC food.

I'm not really sure what to do tonight. Part of me thinks we're still under the influence of the 12U depot and we need time for the new 11U dose to show us what it can do. The other part of me wonders if we should drop to 10U to give us a little breathing room. Not really sure if there's an obvious answer though.

Tail situation is still mostly unchanged. I've been doing some reading and many of the issues in these tail injuries are nerve related because of the anatomy. I'm wondering if starting him on methyl-B12 again might help....
 
Don't be hard on yourself. You were just trying to keep Jenks safe and you haven't gotten much sleep lately. I'm not sure about the dose. Wouldn't the reduced dose yesterday morning have drained the depot? Sending more prayers for Jenks' tail.
 
Healing vines and prayers for the poor little guys tail:bighug::bighug::bighug: the 49 last night didn't that earn a reduction?
 
The midday hump is gone. We're back in the low 100s. If I take back-to-back whole unit reductions, the potential exists for the remaining 12U depot to dry up a bit and the numbers to get out ahead of us. I think I'm going to stick with 11U for another night and see what happens.

@carfurby - At this point, I think the depot is big enough that it would take more than a single reduced 2/3rd dose to adequately drain it. In the past, Jenks has surfed through back-to-back reduced shots without much of a hiccup. To really drain it would probably call for a skipped shot or a couple lean, half doses. But I don't want to ruin his cycle or good numbers either.

@DebG - We just took a whole unit reduction last night. I think we're seeing lingering depot action. Sometimes Jenks needs a series of quick reductions when he does this sort of thing, but I'm trying to slow that down so we don't miss the right dose for him. We'll see how the night goes. If it's another active cycle, we may have no other choice but to do another reduction for the AM. Nobody would be more excited than me to see him dip back under 10U.
 
Last edited:
In tail news, I just saw the very tip of the tail moving back and forth when I was getting him ready for his shot. To me, that seems like good news. When he was walking around, it also appears like he's carrying it just a little higher today.
That barn kitty that I gave as an example took quite a while to get his tail back in action - several weeks at least.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top