7/2 Gilbert's AMPS=403, +8.5=358, PMPS=355 Ketones negative

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christy & Gilbert

Member Since 2013
Gilbert's #s are continuing to be high. Finally got a urine sample today & tested negative for ketones :-D My only concern w/ his test is the leukocytes...I believe normal is light tan & purple to dark purple is high. His color was pink which was not a color option on the chart. Anyone know what pink means?
 
Re: 7/2 Gilbert's AMPS=403, +8.5=358, PMPS=355 Ketones negat

What kind of strips are you using? The ones I'm familiar with test only for ketones and urinary glucose.

Looking at Gilbert's numbers, it looks like it might be time to increase his dose. How about increasing to 3.0u?

Did you give a shot this morning? There's no dose marked in the AM dose column.
 
Re: 7/2 Gilbert's AMPS=403, +8.5=358, PMPS=355 Ketones negat

Siemens test strips from vet. I have not been shopping in a while. Our nearest Wal-Mart is an hr away. They test for 10 different things. I was for sure happy to see negative ketones :smile: Plan on increasing him tomorrow & yes shot this morning...just missed posting it, but fixed it ;-) I am finally going shopping tomorrow. Do you think the ketone only strips are better?
 
Re: 7/2 Gilbert's AMPS=403, +8.5=358, PMPS=355 Ketones negat

I think the strips you have are fine. I just don't know what the interpretation of the other tests means. Leukoyctes in the urine may be indicative of a urinary tract infection. You might want to check with your vet.

FWIW, have you thought about ordering online? I get my cat food, litter, strips, syringes, lancets, etc. delivered.
 
Re: 7/2 Gilbert's AMPS=403, +8.5=358, PMPS=355 Ketones negat

I don't think he has a UTI because he is still having very large pees & drinks lots of water, but I will check w/ the vet. One of my females Baley gets UTIs...had 1 just a wk ago...poor thing couldn't hardly dribble a drop & was trying so hard & using the couch as a potty box :sad: She had to get a antibiotic shot & was on pills for 7 days, but is like new now :-D I do order online quite often, but can get almost everything I need locally except for test strips & I usually just stock heavy when I make it to Wal-Mart. Thanks!
 
Re: 7/2 Gilbert's AMPS=403, +8.5=358, PMPS=355 Ketones negat

I told you I was going to up Gilbert to 3 this morning, but he was 216 (I think...my log book is downstairs) & I am headed out of town today so left him @ 2.75. I will test him before I leave.
 
Re: 7/2 Gilbert's AMPS=403, +8.5=358, PMPS=355 Ketones negat

Hey Wendy...things are going pretty good for Gilbert @ the moment & not so good for me. Found out a couple of days ago I may need a hysterectomy ;-) which could be a good thing considering how terrible I have been feeling. I was so happy for Gilbert's ketone test to be negative :-D He was 113 around shot time this evening...so waited about 30 minutes & @ 138 shot 1.5 instead of 3...I'm a chicken :smile: He was @ 208 around 9:30. It seems like his #s vary a lot, but I am always happy when I see them in the 100s, which has only been twice in the last wk. He is filling back in around his backbone area which makes me happy as well. I see that your kitties may not be feeling so well right now...hope they get to feeling better!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top