7/2 AMPS 148 +3 134 +6 91 +9 79 - time for increase?

Skyynett

Member Since 2022
6/29 https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6-2-5-78-4-5-98-pmps-107.265215/#post-2969876

Hi all - happy long weekend. Checking in with my perpetual question - time for another increase? I was really surprised with today's AMPS - she has not been this high in the am since 6/11. My partner gave Nellie her shot last night and swears that it all got in, i.e. no fur shot last night. Other possibility is she unexpectedly dropped lower last night than usual? but if that were the case and she were bouncing, she usually bounces for a couple of cycles (and I wouldnt want to increase if that were the case). Just thinking out loud here!

I know a lot of folks might be out and about if in the US so may not get an answer soon so I will keep holding on to 4U until I hear back.

:smuggrin:
 
It could be the uri and antibiotic raising the bg. Are the symptoms going away? If she doesn’t come down tonight I think you can see what an increase does tomorrow. She’s been looking good at night.
 
She seems to be doing a bit better - eye discharge is decreasing slightly, no weird sounds when she's breathing and hasn't had an episode where she stops eating, both of which were semi-frequent before the antibiotics. The eye discharge will unfortunately be a lifelong thing, according to the ophthalmologist I took her to about five years ago when she was first diagnosed with chlamydia. But she's never been treated with oral antibiotics before, only topicals.

I've been wondering if she's had the URI for a good long time but i didn't know given how the chlamydia confuses things :(.... the only reason she was diagnosed with it was because she went in for a dental and the vet noticed a lot of phlegm in her throat. Going to check in with the vet to see if we can do another round of bloodwork to see if the antibiotics helped things. They said when she was diagnosed with the URI that we could check blood in six months to see if she's improved, but I'd rather be sure that the antibiotics are working and if they aren't, seeing about finding out how we can best treat her.

Side note, she's only on 20mg of doxycycline a day. A lot of the resources I've been seeing online recommended 40mg/day for her weight. Vet said she'd had success treating URIs with that dose and that she does it this way to prevent esophageal strictures. I guess I'll wait to see how her bloodwork comes back before wondering if she's been underdosed...
 
Back
Top