7/19 tibbs a little better

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
hi everyone. i posted this on the relaxed lantus board but i wanted to be sure that everyone here also saw that tibbs is doing better because of your help.
thank you

hi . thanks to all your great advice i was able to give
tibbsy his .5 shot last night and his first morning .5 shot today.he was at 371 this morning so i could finally shoot. your advice of going to .5 was perfect and allowed me to get 2 shots in. i hope his numbers stay where i can do the 2x per day dosing. he is also eating more! i will try to get that spreadsheet going so all of you can check my numbers.
thanks so much
nadine
 
That's terrific. Stick with the dose at least 3 days to see how it stabilizes; a week if you're going to follow the Staart Low, Go Slow protocol.
 
Re: 720 low amps again

Hi
tibbsy's amps was 107 this morning so i was not able to give him his .5 again.
He did eat a little less today so i am assuming that maybe that is why he is
low again. I am not experience enough to dose him when he is this low . i am
worried that he will go too low. We'll see how he does for his pmps tonight.
He is still not himself. I am sure it will take quite a while before i see my old
guy back to normal.
Thank you so much
Nadine
 
Many folks eyeball measure 0.25 units. Others use calipers. Another option is to line up a ruler with fine markings to the syringe and use that as a reference..

Fat and skinny doses: a dose where you measure just a hair over or a hair under the line.

Drop method of dosing:
Practice by filling the syringe to the first non-zero mark using an easily visible liquid, such as coffee. Carefully squeeze out equal sized drops - you may find twisting the plunger helps - and repeat until you can get the same number of equal sized drops each time. Now, when you dose the insulin, you can disharge drops (into the sink) from the dose based on your cat's response.
 
i will def try that. i wonder why there isn't a syringe that makes it easier to get those micro doses. that's a great idea about using coffee to practice. being new at this, i can't believe how such a small dose does anything. i can hardly see his little .5 dose. i'm going to try the drop practice right now. thanks
 
The only place you'll find syringes that measure such tiny doses is in a lab. And they're usually made of glass and require autoclaving.
 
jul 20 tibbs pmps 433

thanks for the syringe info. i guess it's not a practical solution then.
so again tibbsy's pmps went high.
107 this morning. no insulin given and tonight he was 433.
i gave him his .5 dose (a bit on the skinny side). hopefully he won't go down so low that i can't shoot in the morning.
i was thinking if he was down in the low hundreds again, i would have to skip again but if he was around the 150 range, i might try .25? what do you all think.
as usual, thanks so much.
nadine
 
You definitely want a dose you can do twice a day, so see if you can eyebal the 0.25 unit dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top