7/19 Sammy AMPS=52 PMPS=65 need advice on meter switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

TokyoKitty

Member Since 2013
Sammy's condo

Hi all,

Sammy's been gliding over those green, rolling hills going on 4 days now. Lately she's been flying closer to the ground and dipping into some low valleys towards the end of her cycle, which makes Mom a little nervous, so she gives her a few bites of HC/LC mid cycle to keep her numbers up.

I finally got the Relion Confirm meter and tried it out today. Used the same blood drop for both the Relion and the Freestyle that I've been using. Seems my Relion results are ~13% lower at mid ranges and ~14-22% lower at low ranges (see numbers below). Since the Freestyle tends to be high, and I've heard the Relion tends to report a little low, the truth must be somewhere in the middle.

I'm switching to the Relion today, so her curve will shift down starting this cycle, which makes comparisons to previous cycles a challenge. According to these results, if I had been testing with the Relion, Sammy has already dipped below 50 several times in the last 2 cycles :o I'm really not comfortable having her curve be so low; highs in the mid-90s and lows in the low 50s doesn't leave much wiggle room.

I shaved her dose a bit this morning to try to keep her numbers from drifting too low again. If she's heading towards another dip below 50 today / tonight, should I still try to hold this dose hoping she'll stabilize soon? (this is the 3rd cycle on new dose) Or continue to shave the dose? Or reduce more?

7/19 Recap: (Freestyle Lite / Relion Confirm)
PMPS +11 = 60/49
AMPS = 66/52 (rising)
shot skinny 0.5
+1 = 92/79
+2 = 109/95
 
Re: 7/19 Sammy AMPS=52 PMPS=65 need advice on meter switch

Well, Sammy's AM cycle went perfectly! Really surprised me; expected lower greens with the Relion meter. Maybe the shaved dose helped? Her curve is still pretty low though... Shot skinny dose for PM.

7/19 Updated recap (relion numbers)
AMPS = 52 (rising)
shot skinny 0.5
+1 = 79
+2 = 95
+7 = 88
+9 = 84
+11 = 67
PMPS = 65
shot skinny 0.5
 
I would be careful about making reductions that are too close together. Given that Sammy is on a mission, it may not make a difference. However, for many cats, reductions that don't allow the dose to stabilize may not hold.

FWIW, I don't know if I would have switched meters. I don't think Sammy is going to be needing a meter for that much longer but I can appreciate that cost for the Relion strips is far less than for the Freestyle.
 
Hi Sienne,

Thanks for the feedback. I'll see how Sammy does tonight, and try to hold the 0.5 dose for at least a few more days.

The Freestyle strips are costing me $1.50 a piece, and I'm running through them at a pretty fast clip. Plus I have to order them at the local pharmacy in boxes of 24 and wait a few days for them to arrive. Just had DH send me the relion plus 400 strips from the States. But I see what you mean about the switch. Sure makes it harder to see the real impact of the dose changes. I do feel a little safer with the relion though, now that I know the Freestyle was reading high.

It would be amazing if Sammy could go OTJ. If only! (anti-jinx)

I'm so grateful for FDMB: the advice, the information, and all the warm encouragement and support from the members. I couldn't do this without you.
 
Hi guys .. no meter advice from me, but I would have to say those numbers are looking puuurfect! Fingers crossed they keep on coming! Have a great weekend guys!
 
On 7/12, you switched to the low carb diet. What a difference that made in Sammy's BG numbers! Fantastic!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Sometimes, when a cat is "on a mission", sliding quickly down that dosing scale, it's hard to hold a dose for the 6 cycles. Let's see what Sammy does.

We really want Sammy to go down the dosing scale from 0.5U to 0.25u to 0.1U, but with sufficient time at each increment of the scale. That helps to give the pancreas a bit more support and time to do more healing and produce more of it's own insulin.

Keeping our fingers crossed that Sammy has good numbers today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top