7/19 Rocky AMBG +21 150/PMPS 166 +2 132+4 105 +6 125 +8 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121999&p=1269165#p1269165

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 170 +1 205 +4 72 + 5 64 + 7 77
PMPS 116 +2 94 +3.5 54 + 5 54 +7 66 + 8 73

Rocky has dropped 20 points from his PMPS +8 of 73 overnight. I'll wait one hour (7:30am PST) and see how far his BG goes up. (I've fed him). At that time, if his BG is still in the 50-60s, I'll probably give him a reducie to a "skinny" 1.50u instead of 1.50u. If he's still too low to shoot in one hour, or has dropped even lower, I'll probably skip his AM shot today.

7:30AM PST UPDATE:

It's now one hour past his scheduled shot time, (and after he was fed). His BG is 63. I'm going to skip his AM shot this morning.

Also, I realized that I have already been giving Rocky a "skinny" 1.50u. If I do decide to reduce his dose tonight, (it will depend on what his BG is at his PM shot time in about 5 hours at 6:30PM PST), I would give him a fat 1.25u.
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +12 51 +13 63 +15 83 +19 125

Hi Laura,

I do not really like to skip Rocky's shots, especially while at the same time I have been reducing his insulin dose. I went through this same thing with him before and then I had to take him all the way back up to 2.25 units to get him back into low numbers. And it took MONTHS to get him into consistent low numbers, again. I don't want Rocky to have to repeat that.

Unless his BG drops before his shot time tonight, I will probably keep him at the 1.50u for some time to see what happens, how he uses this amount of insulin. Of course if he drops into the 20s I would be reducing his dose ASAP.

Your Chichi looks so much my like Cinder.. Cinder is a Nebulung and is the most intelligent and affectionate cat that has ever owned me. cat_pet_icon She was a rescue. Cinder ran to me, and gently crawled up my leg when I was loading a feral cat trap with KFC chicken. I saw her first eating bits of dirt in the middle of the road. She was malnourished and very pregnant. I didn't know what her temperament would be.

I did put her up for adoption after she was spayed and vetted but she didn't get adopted right away, so she came back to my house for a cage break. (Actually, there was a young guy at Petco that wanted to adopt her very badly but he needed to move to a new place to do so and wasn't ready to do so yet.) She was so insulted that I would put her up for adoption, (how DARE I not know that she was meant for me?), and really let me know it! It took her about one week before she forgave me and ever since then I think I WAS crazy for putting her up for adoption! :lol:
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +12 51 +13 63 +15 83 +19 125

I can't figure out why you stalled and why you skipped??? Remember....shoot low to stay low. Now Rocky is losing his potential for overlap and carryover and going up when he could have had a lovely, flat cycle.

For future reference :-D . if we stall but decide to shoot, we don't also shoot a BCS as it's giving them a double whammy on the depot (stalling acts as a reduction + shooting a reduced dose is like a reduction). Also remember if we stall, we don't feed unless they are in the 40s and then we (1) don't feed and retest in 15 mins and (2) if they are still in the 40s, feed one tsp LC and retest in 30.
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +12 51 +13 63 +15 83 +18 125

Hi Marje, I skipped Rocky's shot this morning because when he was at 54 last night, I knew that his BG was headed lower. I had to feed him three more times to keep him above 50 last night. I didn't feel his BG was high enough this morning to give him a shot. I didn't want to be tied to him all day long and then be forced to feed him little bits of MC and HC for many hours, just to keep him above 50. I've never found the right amount of food, or carbs, to give him the correct balance that he needs that will keep him from bouncing. I hate pink numbers and I hate bounces.

I also did not want to move his shot time forward by any more than one hour.

Rocky might be in the 300s by his PM shot time, but I don't think it's going to take him a long time to recover from it. I think his BG is on his way up right now because I have fed him right after each of those blood glucose readings today. I won't be feeding him any more food until his PM shot time tonight, so now I just wait and see what happens. :-D
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +12 51 +13 63 +15 83 +18 125

Hi Tina ~O) ~O) ~O)

Personally I think it was a good decision to skip this morning. It was evident that last night took some work, and unless one is around all day long to monitor, shooting that aggressively this morning is dangerous. one simply does not know for sure what they will do. SS's can guide us, the the upcoming BG's are not cast in stone. Shooting a 50 requires alot of initial testing, and depending upon Rocky's nadir, you could be at it all day. It can be so difficult to properly manage falling and rising numbers with food, carbs quantity. One can get good at it, but that too takes alot of trial and error. Rocky may bounce for sure, then again he may not. If he does, I think he will recover quickly from it.

Kudos to you, and good luck Rocky - you surf well today.
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +12 51 +13 63 +15 83 +18 125

It's wonderful to see Rocky in such nice, healthy numbers! I know how much you have been through with him, Tina, and it must do your heart good to see this progress. Good luck with whatever dose you decide on.
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +12 51 +13 63 +15 83 +18 125 +21 150

Thank you everyone for your encouragement and advise! Rocky hasn't eaten since AMBG +18. It looks to me like his BG is now going up a little over 8 points per hour, right now. It means I could possibly have another number around 170 at his PM shot time tonight, if things stay the same. In that case, I will go ahead and shoot the same 1.50u, again, rather than give him a reducie.

One of the other reasons I didn't want to give him his shot this morning is because I wanted to see if his BG would continue go up, or manage to come down any on it's own with last night's dose of insulin.

Last night his BG started to go lower at PMPS +3.5, and then it wanted to go even lower through PMPS +5. However, I fed him 3x and it helped him to surf it. I believe it's possible that we might wash, rinse, repeat that same cycle tonight, and that would be A.OK. with me! :thumbup :mrgreen:

Frankly, I don't think it's time to lower Rocky's dose again just yet. I will need to go back and look at my notes, but I believe he's only been on this 1.50u dose for about 3 cycles so far. I want to see if his pancreas will start putting out more of it's own insulin. I'll know if he begins to have a lot of numbers in the 40s on this dose, instead of just this one "touch down." ;-)
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +12 51 +13 63 +15 83 +18 125 +21 150

one thing about skipping a shot - you can shoot early at any point after +12. for example, you could've shot at +18 and then either shot 12 hrs after that (likely inconvenient hour of the night) or waited 18 hrs (or less) for the next shot - that can be a little better tactic than waiting an entire extra cycle. The carryover and overlap that marje mentioned are the keys to keeping a cat's BGs flat on Lantus. waiting an entire extra cycle to shoot can wipe that out and as you said, take some time to get the cat back on track.

I just now looked at his spreadsheet to see what he's done in the recent past when he starts to rise, but the most recent is july 1st. i did a double take when i saw 2.0u in the dose column after reading your comments about 1.5u. when you get a chance it's going to be hugely helpful to have it updated. if you don't have time to add in all those numbers, at least the past 3-4 days are essential if you're wanting advice.

nice to see you back! it's good to see rocky in decent numbers too.
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +21 150/PMPS 166 - gave "skinny" 1.50u

Hi Julie, (and all else!),

I really want to fill in the gaps in Rocky's computer SS but it has been extremely difficult to pin me to the computer lately. I've got kittens coming out the woodwork in every corner of the city, as well as a household full of 30 cats, at least 1/2 of which are waiting for space to go up for adoption.

I also realize that I have confused a lot of people with Rocky's insulin dosing information. Regardless of what I am calling it, the shot has been consistent! I will describe his latest dose reducie like this: "Picture this, if you can-- the syringe plunger is right in-between the 1.25u line and the 1.50u unit line. The top of the plunger is touching the bottom of the 1.25u line and the bottom of the plunger is touching the 1.50u line. As it is not actually enveloping the 1.25u line, I am calling this dose a "skinny" 1.50u. I need to go back and look at my notes to see how many cycles he has had this dose. I am comfortable with giving him this amount of insulin, for now. He is not going too high with it, and it is easy to keep him from going too low on it.

I'm off to feed my feral colonies and will be back at PMPS +2 for Rocky's second feeding and another test at 8:30PM PST. See anyone who is online at that time a bit later! :-D
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +21 150/PMPS 166 - gave "skinny" 1.50u

as long as you know what the dose looks like, can replicate it for the next shot, can increase or reduce it - that's all that matters.
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +21 150/PMPS 166 +2 132+4 105

Tina, I've been only reducing Max if he gets three below 50. A few days ago he dropped unexpectedly to 39 so I had no choice but to reduce. He's been high since but tonight hit 53 again. So it might work to hold the dose longer as long as you can keep him over 40 without too much work for you too.
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +21 150/PMPS 166 +2 132+4 105 +6 125

Hi Elise, yes I agree with you about the low numbers. I am also not reducing Rocky's dose right away. In fact, I am a little bit disappointed tonight that he did not keep going lower. It's the first time in a few days that this has happened. It probably means that I shouldn't reduce his dose any more, at least for right now. However, I do need to keep in mind that I didn't give him his AM shot this morning.

What is this thing called "cell advance" that you are giving to Max? I've never heard of it before. How does it work to help hm?
 
Re: 7/19 Rocky AMBG +21 150/PMPS 166 +2 132+4 105 +6 125

Cell Advance 440 is antioxidants. It was suggested by a vet that I try this for Max since he has chronic pancreatitis and his diabetes is difficult to get tightly controlled. I've only been using it for a short time. It comes in big capsules and he probably should be getting l 1/2 a day. When I mixed 1/2 in his baby food he at it but a whole one must taste too much so I have to figure out how to get enough into him to see if it works. I bought if from Only Natural Pet but other places sell it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top