7/19 Raven AMPS 120 (half dose after skipped meal)

SophieFRA

Member Since 2023
Hi all,

This morning, Raven‘s BG was very low (120 AMPS shot). I realized that his feeder still had one portion of food in a compartment, which leads me to believe that Raven didn‘t have his 4am snack due to s hickup with the feeder and had his last meal at 1 am. So for his standards he is essentially fasted. I gave him some food given the specific circumstances. But numbers didn‘t come up much within next 30 mins, so I decided to give him a half dose. I realize this will put things out of whack but figured better safe than sorry.

Any suggestions if this happens again? @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom

He also threw up some hair again. This is getting more frequent. He threw up another hairball a few days ago. Is this cause for concern for IBD? @Margaret (and Pearl)

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...85-3-130-5-96-6-70-8-115-9-112-10-160.276568/
 
Next time you get a lower than expected number, do not feed and post here for help if you don't know what to do. 120 is a very nice shootable preshot, and you have the data to do so. You've shot full dose in the 140's before, this isn't that much lower. Within meter variance practically. When you are home to monitor, which it looks like you were today, I'd encourage you to shoot full dose and see what happens. Just make sure you have high carb food around, just in case you need to steer the numbers.

Lantus does a great job of keeping lower numbers low and flat when you shoot lower preshots. I loved shooting lower numbers because it meant Neko wasn't going to drop as much.

As for hairballs, it is getting to shedding season. Are you combing Raven regularly? How often is he vomiting now? I find shedding season increases the vomits, so I have to be more vigilant with the comb.
 
Thanks for your advice. Yes I chickened out. But I‘ll try to be braver next time. That‘s great to know about Lantus working well on low numbers.

I‘ve been trying to bruh him once a week. He has a very short coat and doesn‘t shed very much. But he does get dandruff from brushing. I might need to get a softer brush for him.
 
Back
Top