7/19 PLEASE ADVISE ! amps 563

Status
Not open for further replies.
That is unexpected. You have been getting 200-300s and it seems logical to increase the dose by a little. Any chance last night was a fur shot or that she got into some food she shouldn't have overnight? Any chance of an infection like a UTI?

You could shoot a little more this am, like 1.25. Will you be around today to test?
 
Let me first tell you, I am no dosing expert!!

But, it appears to me you have room to increase. You have no low or scary test midclyle--so a little more insulin should not be a problem. I think the 1 unit is not enough. I would increase slowly, maybe 1.2 today. I see no danger in this, but if you could test mid cycle to get some data it would be great!

Just my thoughts..but, I really do think you need more insulin.
 
callie can't get into food , I have them on a feeding scheg I feed ff and its in the cuboard below the sink, and she was tested last week for uti (neg) on that

she was doing so good I thought and then this , but she did wake me up this morning and want food but I made her wait !
 
Don't get discouraged. You are giving a tiny amount of insulin and have room to move up. It is easy to get upset about one number, particularly when it is high. But it is just one number, not a trend. Let's see what today brings.
 
thank you Kim and Sue for responding I will increase the dose a bit , I thought that to but wanted some feedback :YMHUG:
I work from home today so I can test to see whats going on !
 
In an attempt to make you feel better---I have been at this for 5 months and this morning my cat, Kitty's bg was 507!! It was 579 two days ago and the next cycle it was mid 300s----it just happens sometimes! Look at the the whole cat....if she feels good and is showing no unusaul symptoms, just shoot your dose and relax!

Truly, I think you need a little more insulin from looking at you SS.

Have a GOOD Day!
 
If the 563 was bounced induced--some of your drop probably cleared on its own contributing to the "big" drop.

Kitty dropped from 507 to 205 in 4 hours today--- a big drop, it is comparable to what you are seeing. Just keep a check on her--it is a great way to get data for future decisions. I was VERY hard headed (ask Sue!) and didn't test much mid cycle early on---I was going to figure out this dance and regulate Kitty on preshots......WRONG! I can't tell you how much I wish I had tested more early in the dance. Test your cycle today, it will help you later.

Don't be surprised if she is high again tonight--she could bounce off of this drop. Just keep your test readings posted--it will help with dosing decisions tonight if necessary. If it appears your high readings are bounced induced, you might need to drop your dose back a little.

You are doing Great!
 
I would never have called you hard headed. :mrgreen: We all knew you are trying to balance work, a diabetic kitty and travel. I just am a nag......my children think I am very skilled at it.....So, when in doubt, I urge people to test. It can't hurt, right?
 
callies + 6=264 I get called a nag to Sue and sometimes other lol ! but only then when I am prevoked ;-) I wish I had more smarts on dosing, I'm diabitic myself but I take pills ! if mine is low or high I can do something about it I have to watch callie and BOY DO I ! Kim and Sue I read your posts all the time and just hope I can some day understand it all like you do :YMHUG: thanks so much from callie and I for all your help cat_pet_icon I think you are o:-)
 
Sue never called me "hard headed" -- but, she had every right too!

Looks like Callie is doing good--she got a little more drop after +3--try to get a +8 if you can.
 
That's a fast jump up. Did she eat anything between +6 and +8? It could be a bounce from the high amps to the lower mid cycle number. HMMMMM. Let's see what ideas Joanna and Robin have tonight.
 
Yes an increase, but only an avg of 20 points per hour. If she would continue at that pace, you would be looking at a 380 preshot. Just hope she holds at this rate or surfs out. You might want to get a +10---it might help pin it down more.

You are doing great.
 
I went and looked at your SS--you had +9s higher than this on the 9th and 10th and ended up okay, so don't get too nervous yet!
 
I try to keep them on a feeding scheg I feed at 7:45 am 1:00 pm and 7:30 pm plus she get treats when I test and if she is to hungry in between I give her a small table spoon of food and she gets 1/2 can of ff when I feed her.
 
Well, that was a nice surf. I am sure you would have liked to see her surf along with a lower number, but not bad. Are you thinking one unit?
 
If you were satisfied with your numbers on 1 unit prior to the 563 this morning, then I probably would go back to 1 unit.

You had a 50 percent drop today on 1.2--if that happened tonight you would be mid blues--somewhere you haven't been a lot and that could create some rebound. Also, you had a really good cycle early on when you shot .75 into a 320 (same as 316!)--so, I might would be hesitant to shoot 1.2 for the first time on a pm cycle into a low 300 preshot--it is much easier to test during the am cycles and I think I would want to test the cycle.

You can always go back up in the morning if necessary--you know 1.2 will bring a 560 down to 300 preshots.
 
Ok, I'll stick my neck out here, again, I've been thinking your dose is a little to high since the beginning. The thing that has been haunting me is that blue # the night before you started insulin. I know that you had a yellow PS the morning you started insulin and you started at .5u which is good but I've always wondered if the food change was bringing down her bg's and maybe was still bringing them down and now the dose is too high.

I would lower your dose and see if that helps bring down her bg's.
 
If you read this tomorrow morning and no one is on and you are confused about what advice to take----Please listen to Robin! She is much more experienced at this and I would follow her advice!

Hope you have a good amps!
 
Good morning :smile:

I didn't see the last two post until after I shot callie with 1unit :( her 7/20 ps =395 ,last night I shot 1 unit.

Robyn do you think I should shoot less tonight ?? you know it never made since to me and I talk to Carol about this to and told her that I just didn't understand because yes callies numbers were coming down before the insulin and then I start giving it to her and her numbers rise ?? she was so aggressive again this morning not to me but her sister omg callie would not stop attacking her they were hissing and biting angry(2)_cat :( I have hardley left my house since this all started I'm going a little crazy I think ! I had 2 jobs , one would take me away from home I went inactive on that one so I could be home :smile: I don't usually dance unless I have a few to drink and I have'nt had a drink since feb, lol !
 
I have no advice on the dose but I would listen to what Robin says. I haven't read the whole thread but wanted to comment on Callie & her sister. How old are they? I have litter mates, Thumper & her sister Callie :smile: so they have always been together. Over the years they have become mortal enemys! I have no idea why it happend, it had nothing to do with her diabetes, it happened long before that. Also, please take some sort of time out for yourself. I know it's hard but you really need to. Don't let this sugar dance take you away from a night out once in awhile. Callie will be fine, just ask Denise!! :lol: Denise, if you read this...sorry I couldn't help myself! :lol:
 
they are 7 years old , I got them from my kids after my other fur baby passed , my kids got them from a pet store they were locked in a cage together there for 8 months which is how old they were when I got them. Callie has always been bigger than tesse and motherly like towards her so sometimes I call callie mama lol ! but I've never seen callie as mean as she has been 2 times now ???

Barb it would sure help if my dh would test and give shots, he said he would in the begining but when I try to get him to do it he won't :(
 
Yes, I think I would lower her dose back down to .5unit and see if her bg's come down some.

So many kitties here lately have been doing so well at doses lower than .5u I think we sould see if Callie is one of them.

If not then you can start raising her up again.
 
Since your PMPS was down it will be interesting to see what the lower dose tells us. It will probably tell us something right away.

I'm looking forward to your updates.
 
7/21 on .05 units

+8 =272

pmps =296

I went to the vet today to get callie needles ( by myself ) she asked me how callie was doing I told her about callies high amps yesterday (563) and told her I went back to .05 units , she didn't like it she told me she wants callie back on 1 unit and I was supose to call her next week ! I gave callie .05 units at pm shot ;-)
 
You can always raise it back up if you need to. But your preshot numbers are lower so things are looking fine.

If you weren't hometesting, then the advice would be valid. You wouldn't just lower a dose. But you know her numbers, you can keep track of how they are looking and adjust accordingly.

You are doing great - you and Callie both!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top