7/19 Pearl PMPS 115, +3.25 92 Pred day, reduce tomorrow

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning all!

I'm on my way to work but wanted to ask for some opinions. Today will be cycles 13 and 14. Usually I reduce the next day (given that Pearl is always in normal numbers).

However, recently she is starting to bump up into the low 100s at about +3. This is new for her. So I am thinking of NOT reducing tomorrow and either (1) staying with this dose longer? or (2) inching her up by 1/8 unit? Her NADIRs are pretty high green on this dose (not typical for her either), and I don't like the peppering of low blue - not like her.

As usual, please ignore the PRED cycles, since she clears them very quickly.

What do you think? Thank you so much for your input, all! Tagging some people below as well.

@Wendy&Neko @Tina Marie and Jan @Christie & Maverick @tiffmaxee

7/17 post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-17-pearl-amps-89-4-89.249966/#post-2819442
 
Good morning Margaret,
To me, all the BGs look quite similar through your decreases. I don't have the confidence to say her numbers aren't good enough to decrease again. There are a few more blues scattered during the .25 dose than with the .5 dose, so I don't know! I feel like you do - unsure!! If it were me, I think I would hold this dose a bit longer. Sure would like those greens to be closer to 60s and 70s more often - which would bring the tiny increase into question.
Need to see more answers:)
 
Love to read that she is playing with the laser dot again!

I would reduce. There are some kitties that will start to throw inverted curves on small doses, as a sign of too much insulin. Overall, she is pretty flat.:D
 
I love her way of earning reductions too.
Thanks for the input @tiffmaxee and @Tina Marie and Jan and @Wendy&Neko !

You know what is so crazy....there have been very few times only when Pearl has earned her reduction the traditional way of dropping under 50...and almost every single time that happened, it was on Cycle 13 or 14, no joke, so I was always hemming and hawing about whether to prepare to drop her dose and she then would go on her own. I love that she earns reductions by being in "normal" numbers, it takes away some of the FD stress for me, especially during the night time.

Love to read that she is playing with the laser dot again!

I would reduce. There are some kitties that will start to throw inverted curves on small doses, as a sign of too much insulin. Overall, she is pretty flat.:D

Thank you for this, Wendy. Yes, there have been several instances in the past where Pearl would also start doing that inverted curve when it was time to drop. She hasn't done it in quite some time, but I'm glad the numbers seemed to still indicate to reduce.

So the verdict is in, and tomorrow we will reduce! Appreciate all the help today ladies thanks so much!
 
@Wendy&Neko I reduced Pearl to 0.125U today (yes I am adding this question to yesterday's post). Something I forgot to ask you yesterday on the thread above - if the inverted patterns persist as she gets used to this dose, what do I do? Should I just move to a drop dose immediately? Or try her off insulin completely? I am nervous if these inverted patterns continue, I don't want to do more harm than good on the dose. Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Back
Top